We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for a function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great venue for a function”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We hosted a family reunion at Ansty Hall for 13 guests and were all very impressed with every aspect of the stay. It's the staff that make the difference here - from a cheerful welcome at reception to a very smooth and attentive service at dinner. If you're lucky enough to encounter Scott in the bar and Elio in the restaurant, your occasion will be memorable. The drinks are a bit pricey but no more than you might expect in a hotel. We'll just have to save a bit more for next year's reunion!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to a room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotesMagrotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Many thanks for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    385
    159
    60
    29
See reviews for
225
474
20
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a lovely venue for a wedding . From start to the end was perfect , staff, rooms, food very good . Our son and his lovely new wife had a wonderful day. Would highly recommend the Ansty Hall for any occasion

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback and comments, it his always a pleasure to receive and share our guests comments.As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We arrived with friends at this hotel to a great welcome. The staff were very friendly and really could not do more for you. This carried on for the whole 3 night stay. Full marks go to ALL the staff. Nothing too much trouble. Very central for the Midlands.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sir, Madam. Thank you for your kind and great feedback. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to deliver the highest standards of service, quality and customer care and are really pleased that you experienced this through out your stay. The team and I look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely old hall, with a natural traditional feel.
Staff at breakfast and the choice and quality of breakfast superb.
Room good spacious, clean huge bathroom.
Good friendly and helpful staff.
Overall a feeling of quality, but watch those bar prices, don't mind paying a little over the odds but the prices were silly.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank APen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear APen thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to offer you a warm welcome back in the near future and that our bar pricing is not keeping you away, we constantly review our local comepetitor set of 4 star hotels in the area, to ensure that our pricing is not the most expensive in the area, as well as ensuring that of offer is of a superior quality. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed with work and straight away impressed with the look of hotel. Receptionist was lovely very welcoming and efficient. Bedroom was ok, lovely bed and pillows, although heater very noisy at 3am and switching it off at wall switched all lighting off too??!!! Very accommodating about us being late to eat by pre booking food for us, and the food was ok, but exceptionally expensive for very small portions. Steak and chips are about £19 for an 8oz (I guess) Ribeye, about 9 chips, a tomato and some Green trim. Oz cheek nice but no veg to go with it other than a matchstick of parsnip. And about £4 for a peppercorn sauce. And the wine was ludicrously overpriced. £11 for one glass from a bottle I regularly drink at £6 per bottle. Unashamed rip off i'm afraid. Such a shame because the service was so lovely but I wouldn't eat or drink there again due to the unreasonable costs.

























but been non existent, just a couple of matchsticks of parsnips. parsnip st

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Madam, Thank you for your reveiew. I was delighted to read that in general you enjoyed your stay .In terms of the food and bar pricing, we constantly review our local comepetitor set 4 star hotels to ensure that our pricing is not the most expensive in the area as well as ensuring that the choice of wines, food quality and provenance, that we offer are of superior quality. I do, sicerely, hope that this will not deter you from considering revisiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have visited Ansty Hall on many occasions as we have booked this venue for our wedding next April. On every visit we have found the service second to none. The rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated and the grounds are immaculately manicured. It is very rare to find such a hotel with such friendly and caring staff. We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel and very much look forward to celebrating our special day with the Management and staff at Ansty Hall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windermere62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear both, Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback. We are so proud of our standards of service and product that is reflected on the number of guests coming back again and again. We are looking forward to seeing you soon, and as you know, if you need any further assistance please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at Macdonald Ansty Hall for one night while on business in the area and would certainly return again. The hotel is a peaceful retreat set in lovely grounds but only 2 minutes from the M6 near Coventry. I found all staff extremely pleasant, helpful and professional. I had a very enjoyable dinner and the freshly cooked breakfast was the best I have had for some time. The main building has lots of character and my room on the first floor had great views of the gardens to the rear of the hotel and was extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the main building have great views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyjimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you so much for your kind comments. Has you have experienced, we at Macdonald Hotels, are passionate and proud of our people, food quality and presentation,
which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing