We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I organised a training event in this hotel and would thoroughly recommned it. The hotel staff without exception were so helpful and welcoming and could not do enough to assist. As the course organiser they included me in the team and I very much felt valued. Situated in its own grounds but very close to the M6 and not too far from Coventry railway station [taxi fare approx £13] it is a good location. Free parking on site. The bedrooms were very comfortable and are located in both the main building and a newer annex but this is very close to the original builidng. The food was excellent and without excetion my delegates all complemented the hotel and its standards. We used the Orangery for the main conference and this is a lovely room, overlooking the garden. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return for leisure so I can really benefit from the relaxing atmosphere which pervades throughout.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2010

We trevel to UK every year and always stay at Macdonald hotels, this is our fifth visit to Ansty Hall and again we have found this to be the best in the group.

All the staff are welcoming and very efficient from reception to the dining room and obviously enjoy what they do, which makes for happy guests. Accommodation is of a high standard and cannot be faulted, food and beverage service are the same.

We recommend this hotel for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in beautiful surroundings and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here twice - in order to break our journey from the North of England down to Marlow on the Thames, and then on our return journey.
We were greated by friends and faces we knew from previous trips. The room was gorgeous - we had the same room each stay.
The restaurant serves lovely food and the beds are so comfortable.
Round about the scenery is superb - and we never moved the car until checking out - just walked round the countryside and canal.
A perfect place to stay, and a beautiful house.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The grounds are beautiful. Like an old mansion. Food was great. one negative aspect was if you stay there during the winter and your room is outside the main building. Its old but well kept. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This is a typical chain 4* hotel.
Pd £90 for a double inc b'fast on a Friday night as a special wedding deal. Stayed in 107 in the annex. Room was good size and quiet but since it was on the ground floor, for privacy, it was necessary to dress with curtains closed. TV only had the basic channels.
Suggest a path or even a covered way be constructed between the annex and the main building. At present, access is by walking on the access road to the car-park..loose gravel is not easy on the high heels and if it were raining, the wedding finery would be rather spoilt!
Bar prices were expensive £18 plus for two pints of Creamflow and two single G & T's) and only a limited range of drinks..4 draught beers, Creamflow, Guinness, Carling and Grolsch plus only 2 gins..Hendricks and Bombay Sapphire..
Little to do in the hotel...suggest they put in a swimming pool...it would be appreciated by the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northamptonoldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed for one night on a Saturday and had a very nice and relaxing evening. There was a wedding party also in the hotel which caused the service staff to be a little busy and stresed although they remained friendly throughout. The building has lots of character, as others have said, and the restaurant was of a very high standard which we would recommend to others.

We stayed in a standard room which we found to be very large and contained all of the facilities that you would like. The only complaint is that the TVs have very little reception and no digital channels which did not spoil our visit but could for others.

Overall we thought that the hotel was very good and would recommend it to others - particularly those looking for a hotel which is a short drive from the NEC as we required.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstymanager, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at Ansty Hall.
It was a pleasure to receive your very positive comments regarding the Customer Service you received and the quality of your accommodation.
In response to your issue concerning the TV reception during your stay, there was a fault in the main amplifier which has now been replaced.
Digital channels are now available, however we are pleased to note that this did not detract from your visit.
Regards
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed here for the weekend and had an amazing time! We had a feature room in the main building, which had a massive superking bed and wonderful views over the gardens. My partner and I both slept so well - the bed was the most comfortable we had ever been in! The breakfast was included and was wonderful. We ate in the hotel on both evenings - there is not much else near the hotel and the food is excellent anyway, so we were more than happy! The restaurant gets booked up very quickly, so you will need to book if you want to eat there. I highly recommend the breads with the oil and butter - delicious! The service throughout the stay was top notch, particulay the waitress Karolina, she was lovely! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,143 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
18 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,608 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
6.3 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing