We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly and cheap!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hylands Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly and cheap!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I hadnt read the reviews posted on here before I stayed and I'm glad I didn't as they would have put me off a pleasant visit.
Firstly when paying £30 for a double room it will quite clearly be a budget hotel!! If you are looking for luxury then this place isn't for you.

Upon checking in we were greeted by a cheerful and helpful staff member. We were given our key card to room 42 and as we had little luggage we found the room ourselves. Upon entry I was happy with the overall facilities available- the bathroom did look a bit shabby but this didn't put me off.

As the festival we planned to attend was cancelled we went for a meal and returned to the hotel early and had drinks at the bar- this was fair value for money as serving sizes of both glasses of red wine were much larger than one would expect.

Whilst at the bar we were asked by a member of staff if we needed anything extra for our room- we did request extra pillows and these were brought up to our room quickly by a polite young man.

The next morning we went down for breakfast, the furniture in the breakfast room were in a good condition but the carpet does need to be updated- I would suggest the owners look to an alternative easy to clean flooring around the food area.

As already stated the room rate was £30 and the value matched the price. If you can overlook the minor niggles some of the other visitors have posted, this hotel is fine for the price

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracky3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    29
    30
    238
See reviews for
48
58
51
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Hotel with rather dated feel located a couple of hundred metres from Coventry railway station. Paid GBP 25 for a large room with slightly 'tired' feel to it. Some niggles but fair value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winkelschleifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I sayed at this hotel regularly about 5 years ago, when it was a clean, fairly tired, but acceptable hotel.
Conditions upon my recent stay challenge adequate description.

The only possible redeeming feature of this hellhole could be that the carpets may undoubtedly be of use for medical research, as it must surely be rare to find such an array of bodily samples in one place !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 359282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I work in coventry and needed to stay overnight and booked what appeared to be a nice hotel from the outside. I was in an executive room and the two seater sofa and chair had many many stains, I'm sure you can immagine what. the shower only had cold water, if I had tried it in the evning I wouldnt have stayed but I was in late so went straight to sleep. I even told them it didnt work and they provided no alternative. The hotel has a hygeine rating of 1 so that meant I didnt even dare try any food. The black out blind didnt reach the bottom of the window and the curtains were just for show so didnt actually close, so I had a very bright line of light through the room all night. As other people have commented there were just heaters rather than heating, but mine was turned on for me whilst I was out which is extremely unsafe as they shouldnt be left attended. The list goes on and on is all I can say.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Had to find somewhere at the last minute for 1 night due to unforeseen circumstances but would definitely not go back under any circumstances. The room was cold, no heating at all; even the extra electric heater did not work. The shower failed to provide any water and that in the hand basin never rose above lukewarm. Some TV channels did not work and one window did not shut properly. The room had not been hoovered beforehand and its decor was grubby; the corridor was smelly with filthy carpets. Breakfast was advertised as continental or English but there was no sign of English so cereals and toast had to do; at least when offering to pay for it I was told it was 'on the house', the only plus point of the stay. The staff were friendly and polite but sadly this did not make up for a hotel which was well below any acceptable standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was looking forward to my stay at the Hylands Hotel, Once I got here I couldn't wait to leave the place. The park bench opposite the hotel would of been comfier than all the matteress piled up together to sleep on.

When I looked at the blanket on the bed, I found someone else's blood, maybe not even washed! Drinking cups were dirty, dirty towels, disabled friendly YOUR KIDDING ME, stairlift installed to go up about 8 steps outta 20 steps to the first floor where the rooms are. Shower had mould in it. This hotel stinks to high heaven, I feel for the ladies that have to use the down stairs toilets, also toilets in the room don't flush great, triple flush anyone!

The boiler in this place must be clean or full of spiders because it never worked the whole time we was here.

The bar, when we arrived we looked at the price list, Oooo I'll have that please, sorry we don't stock this anymore. Barrels needed changing, expensive and if you wanted a pint you might as well put a flake in it and walk around the park opposite licking it till you got to the beer!!!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT COME HERE IS MY TIP! Spend the extra money and go city centre travel lodge?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrighty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is very poor. There is a grubby area immediately adjacent to the entrance where people smoke and it is covered in cigarette butts all over the ground. This is your first impression of the hotel. We paid extra for an executive room for two nights which was large but very jaded, with curtains hanging off the rail in places. The heating in the room did not work properly. The beds had one under sheet laid directly on the mattress, with no mattress cover. The toilet bowl was a nasty brown colour as it hadn't been cleaned properly. I even managed to clean it up a bit with the brush myself! The bed was made after the first night's stay but none of the cups used were washed. The breakfast (although complimentary) was terrible - we were presented with a cooked breakfast on a plate, covered in cling film. It was obviously cooked some time before as it was completely cold. The people running the hotel are pleasant enough but have no idea about standards of cleanliness, etc. It is a terrible place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Hotel

Property: Hylands Hotel
Address: 153 Warwick Road, Coventry CV3 6AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hylands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing