We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel... In the World?”
Review of Hylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hylands Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having stayed at the Hylands about 20 years ago, I thought it would be perfect for a last minute overnight stay. However, this hovel is the worst place I have ever slept in anywhere in the world! Having stayed in Youth hostels and budget hotels the world over, nothing compares with this flea pit. It was absolutely filthy. The window didn't close, the walls are paper thin, the toilet, sink and bath can't have seen any bleach in at least 10 years. The carpet felt like it was crawling & it cannot have been decorated in at least 20 years.

Although it is cheap, you'd be better off at the Formula One or Ibis on Mile Lane!

Avoid at all cost !!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DEJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I went in this hotel one week in September 2013 and I am still shock for that experience. Everything was very very dirty, I had to clean the bathroom and sleep in my sheets. Further there were two big holes in the wall (one of them covered with a portrait). In one week they never cleaned my room. I asked for warm up the room and they brought an electrical radiator that was working just for one day. The personal never solved my problems.. And in conclusion everything was surrounded by a very bad smell.

For me this hotel should be close.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank silvia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is clearly used to house refugees and emergency accommodation for the homeless, the room smelt of tobacco and the previous occupant was clearly a smoker the outside window covered in ash, there was a burn on the base sheet on the bed, bed linnen looked like it came out of grandmas closet and hadn't been seen for 20 years, decor is dated the carpet frayed, wallpaper peeling by the window. The bath was badly stained, filthy and you would have needed a wash elsewhere to feel clean after.
The 3 star sign outside is clearly no longer valid and should be made to be removed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed in numerous budget hotels and it takes loads for me to complain or write negative reviews. I understand it is an older hotel in need of refurbishing and it is budget accommodations (although over 50 pounds). However, there was rubbish and construction debris was littered throughout the corridors. When I walked into my room, I couldn't breathe due to the considerable black mould in the bathroom. The damp mould smell permeated the room. There was also dirt and grime everywhere and stains of various sorts were present on the walls, floors, bedding, etc. Even though the manager refused to refund my payment, I decided I would pay more to stay elsewhere. The conditions of this hotel warrant inspection by environmental health officials. I encourage you to look at the consistency of negative reviews on this page and stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Walk out of reception and find a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was the worst hotel I have ever "stayed at" and I've stayed at some bad ones around the world. This is also my first negative review I have ever posted on Trip advisor as I try and be positive. Where to start - as other reviews have pointed out - I don't mind basic but I just want clean. As for the value for money - I paid 70 pounds for my stay. The room when I walked in wasn't clean. As others have mentioned, there is mold everywhere and the room smells. the bathroom had not been cleaned, the bed bugs, there was hair in the sink (I think someone previously had just shaved in there) the hallway was strewn with garbage, there was garbage left in the room around the sink and on the floor. After pointing all this out to the manager he said he would change my room. However, other rooms were just as bad. He then offered me a discount. I told him I just wanted a refund and he told me know and charged me for both nights even though I told him there was no way I could stay the 2nd night. He was rude, walked off and refused to discuss things with us. I hope Health and Safety shuts down this cesspit. I strongly suggest you not stay here - don't be persuaded by the cheap price - your health isn't worth it and you'll end up paying more getting rid of bed bugs from your clothes or anything you pick up from staying in this awful place. Look at the other reviews and you'll see a strong pattern. I wish I had read them before I booked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank paddyv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while away on business. It was the lowest price hotel in Coventry and I only wanted a bed for the night. You get what you pay for and I wasn't dissapointe. Like other comments there is mould, stains etc but the bed was clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water for a bath (shower was broken). It suited my needs, but wouldn't recomend the place for a romantic or weekend getaway. Perfect for a cheap business traveller

Room Tip: try to get lower floor rooms - no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

No joke this place is horrible and i believe animals cant even stay in this hotel !! this place stink and beds are so uncomfortable like they are hundred years old , blood stains on bedsheets like u r in a brothel not in a hotel. i changed my room cos of the stinking drug and sweat smell but the other room was almost the same .blanket stink and u cant even take them on . shower dont even work proper . staff is flirting specially the receptionist khan . this place is so unhygenic and i am going to complaint quality control department for sure!! and if u get any review in favor of this hotel thats going to be from the hotel people themselves not from any person who stayed there and paid for this brothel !!

Room Tip: The worst hotel or maybe a brothel in the name of hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
539 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Hotel

Address: 153 Warwick Road, Coventry CV3 6AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hylands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing