We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never stay here”
Review of Hylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hylands Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I do not know how this place can remain open, it is dirty from top to bottom, and all the other diabolical details outlined by others previously. There can be no good reason why any normal person should be subjected to sleeping in such a hole, do not give these people your money.

Room Tip: go anywhere but here
Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank 679bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Hylands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I've stayed at the Hylands several times in the past, without reviewing it. It struck me as excellent value, if shabby and need of an update. Positives - location: 5 mins walk from the station, 20 mins from the city centre, free parking, price (try to match their prices anywhere else in the city centre!) Negatives - the superficial appearance.

This time, I decided to do a thorough review of my experience.

Price - I was too late to book a single room, so had a double. £32 per night. Reception - pleasant and efficient. Corridors up to my room - slightly shabby, but in order; to my room, carpets were spotless. Room: bedding & towels clean and fresh; bed comfortable; plenty of hot water, though shower diverter took some time to adjust; sanitation, in order; storage, plenty, clean; kettle & drinks OK, but no saucers. I did a close inspection, and could only find two cracked tiles in the bath surround, and no litter bin in the bedroom (though there was in the bathroom) and no saucers.

So, all in all, excellent value, and good standards; some earlier posts were almost gross, and the posters need to get real. Ideal at least for a single night in location and value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffronsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for work with 4 others. We had a triple #38. From walking through the front doors on reception i knew i'd made a balls up. Reception man was gutted i'd got the rooms at a cheap price. So much that he tried charging me more and then tried to say we was booked in for 1 night only. The walk to the rooms was ruined by all the poor Decor, and stained, ripped and missing carpets. The room was even worse, all torn wallpaper, marks on walls, sink looked like it was from the bottom of canal, toilet never seen bleach, lino ripped and missing, shower curtain was an old window curtain, shower head was leaking and kept falling off, 3rd bed was just thrown in, carpet was stained beyond belief, window was un lockable, all ceilings stained and decor from the 60s.
Were a Decorating firm and i was tempted to leave a card or do a swap in were we paint a room for a nights accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Can't believe hotel is open. A total joke.
Broken shower.
Filthy carpets.
Broken mirror etc etc
We had three rooms. All were flea pits.
Paid for breakfast. Four tubs of cereal and a toaster.
No bread, no milk and coffee/tea pots from the day before.
No help off staff. No refund.
Place needs to be closed down.
R hopkins and company.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This should be closed down.....a last minute necessity stay due to a change of plans.I am still trying to get the cloying smell out of our clothes and luggage.My wife commented she would have felt safer(and cleaner )sleeping on the park bench opposite.Be warned....sleep in your car or as a last resort commit a minor offence and sleep as a guest of her Majesty's finest.It would be an improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wearytraveller377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

£28 for a double room for a night and you get what you pay for: musty smelling room with the rad missing from the wall. Not complaining really. just saying! Reception & bar area is very pleasant though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't smell!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I guess this is one of 'you get what you pay for', the price was comparatively cheap, however there was nothing that would be in good condition in that room. 1)bathroom walls and edges were mouldy and dirty 2) bath was all chippy and dirty again, obviously I did not have courage to have a bath 3) no hair-dryer or iron 4)there was no main light, only ones next to bed 5)half of sockets did not work 6) no heating 7) weird smell 8)could hear neighbour watching tv 9)mattress was so uncomfy I could not fall asleep for half a night. I would recommend for whoever considering to stay there-just don't. For owners-please refurbish it, it is really THAT filthy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aggielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
389 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Hotel

Address: 153 Warwick Road, Coventry CV3 6AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hylands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing