We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Cheap so we got what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Its Cheap so we got what we expected”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Very dated but cheap hotel. In need of major upgrade to bring. Staff are ok despite the surroundings. If u can put up with mould then this may be for you. We would not return even though it was very cheap. Breakfast very average chairs falling to bits. Probably best to knock the place down and start again. Most of the staff were pleasant and deserve somewhere better to work

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djwolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    194
    314
    212
    401
See reviews for
178
383
84
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My friend and I were booked into the hotel for a 4 day trip to the Cotswolds with National Holidays. From the outside the hotel looked grim and the reception area looked outdated, but our twin room on the third floor had matching furniture and a new carpet and immaculate bedding. We enjoyed the meals, there was plenty of choice and the dining area was spacious. The young staff were very busy but helpful.
The only negative comments I can make was that we were awoken early by the noise of the radiators.We had a great break away and would recommend the hotel for value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as there is a busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomkinson47612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here for one night on a coach tour. The bedfroom had been recently decorated so it was clean and well appointed. I was concerned that there were bedrooms for smokers, because I thought that was now illegal, and it did penetrate through the hotel. The dining room was set out like a canteen, no cloths and it was a help yourself buffet. This meant long queues. The evening meal was OK but very basic but breakfast was good. It is situated a long way from anywhere so if you wanted to out you needed a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonsilverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Well i think i must have stayed at a different hotel to most of these people . I was extremely worried about staying at this hotel.
I went on Friday 12/10/12 and stayed for 3 nights.
1 The hotel from the outside does need some work
2 Reception very clean but dated [no smells whatsoever] and the reception staff were ALL extremely pleasant and helpful.
3 We were on the 6th floor and never waited more than a couple of minutes for the lift.
4 We had 2 rooms and they were more than adequate. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of hot water and there was toiletries on display.The towels were white and fluffy and the bedding is spotless.Yes it was dated but spotlessly clean.
5 The dining room is as good as any, modern and clean. The food was good with 4 choices every night.
6 The bar was comfortable and the bar staff were friendly .There was happy hour or two with drink prices at 99p. This was not limited and you could order more than 1 drink at a time.
We were on a coach trip and i can honestly say that we thoroughly enjoy every minute and we would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.I am a firm believer of you get what you pay for and on this occasion we got MORE than we payed for

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAILLIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Very handy for one night stay with parking for 14 nights and good price.And for £5 per adult dropped off at the airport and picked up when you return.Very dated but served its purpose.
And yes we would stay here again when going on holiday.You dont leave your car keys with them so you know your car is going to be in the same place when you get back and not driven around while you are away.Like some parking places.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The exterior of the building is concrete box, which gives a great impression of a multi-story car park with windows. The overpowering smell of perfume and who knows whatever else, smacked me in the face the moment I entered the reception area. The source of the smell seemed to emanate from the quantity of senior coach tours, which apparently frequent this carbuncle.

The greeting from the reception staff was somewhat unenthusiastic, mind who blames them, having such high class opulent surroundings to work in?

Walking round the reception rooms, bar and restaurant is very much like being propelled back in to the 1970’s. The call for bingo in the main hall, doesn’t give you much confidence.

The rooms are pretty disgraceful really. I’ve heard the term shabby-chic, drop the word chic and you have the general descriptive term for this establishment. The rooms are dirty and dated. They have a unique smell to them which did prompt a quick game of “whats that smell?”. The bed was lumpy and “worn”, the bathroom was dirty and the shower was like standing under a peeing dog. Dribbly, slightly warm and not very satisfying (not that I have tried this you understand!). Its never good when it takes the television time to “warm up”.

At one point, I sat on the end of my bed wondering “what I have don’t to deserve this?”.

On the plus side, they give you a complementary post card with a picture of the hotel on the front. I kept mine as evidence that I could tolerate such internment.

Room Tip: My tip for a good room would be:- Sleep in the car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razzthejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coventry hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here on a national travel organised tour for 3 nights. The building does look like a huge white breeze block. The interior dated and in need of a revamp,but once inside the rooms are basic but everything is there you will need , even toiletries and fluffy white towels. It was clean and wouldn't put me off staying again. The food was good and a good choice, including a carvery every night as well as 3 other choices. I am a coeliac and I was catered for which is a huge bonus for me. Nothing was too much trouble, one night I just wanted a basic salad and they made it for me.we met some lovely people here. The bar prices are good as well. Very good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor room as lifts are small and very very very busy due to coach parties, you can wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andcondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
502 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
551 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing