We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Hill Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Smashing Weekend”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just had a Smashing weekend with Naional Holidays at the Coventry Hill Hotel in Coventry.
I certainly didn't go there to take Photo's of Peeling Wallpaper.
Meals were nice not elaborate but nice. Staff were very pleasant and well mannered.
It wasn't the Ritz but, as a previous reviewer said you get what you pay for. It Did What It Says on the Tin.
A special thanks to Terry who provided the entertainment. With limited resources he gave us a good couple of nights.
Many thanks

Room Tip: They are all Basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 402RobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    192
    313
    211
    397
See reviews for
177
379
83
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed over on the evening of 01/11. Despite some of the negative comments we had seen, we were pleasantly surprised! Room was clean, well kept, excellent nights sleep, bed very comfortable. No traffic noise, no in-hotel noise which we have experienced before in other hotels. Power shower - clean towels, as was bathroom. We did not use the resturant or bar, so can not comment on that.
Yes the hotel is a bit dated - and has seen a lot of use over the years, that's apparent, but you get what you pay for & if you want to pay for fancy surroundings it's not for you. If you are on a short stay this is ideal, go for it !

There are many hotels on the A45 where this is situated, we have also stayed at the Quality Hotel along the road. The room here was just as good, for a third of the price!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantosPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night coach break with David Urquhart Travel and the hotel we stayed in, was the the Coventry Hill Hotel , which is situated just a 10 minute drive from Coventry , about a 25 minute drive from the NEC exhibition centre and an ideal base to explore Stratford on Avon or the Cotswolds.
The hotel its self is a little dated , but still offers very good clean accomodation , good parking ,large bedrooms , possibly the largest room we have stopped in , for a hotel with such good prices , all rooms at this hotel , offer an en suite bathroom with a bath and a shower , television ,comfortable seating , plenty of clothes space and tea/coffee making facilities.
The reception is very well organised and our keys had already been placed in an envelope ready to pickup on our arrival, meaning no standing in a queue , there are three lifts , so not much waiting time , even though there where six coaches in the hotel at the same time.
If you take the breakfast and evening meal option ,you will be allocated a time for morning and evening. The breakfast is self service with a very good choice and the evening meal, is waiter service for the starters , with the main course being self service from the carvery , with choice of meats ,fish , a vegetarian option and various sweets . The combination of waiter and the carvery service means there are virtually no queues at the evening meal times .
We are fussy eaters, but all the food we had been well cooked , and I must mention , the creamed potatoes, they were as good as my wife’s .We compliment the hotel on producing quality meals from their very reasonable charges.
There is a lounge with a bar that not only sells drinks at pub prices , but has an happy hour on certain drinks from 7pm to 9pm, which allows for all guests on which ever meal sitting , to enjoy some really cheap drinks and after everyone has finished eating the dining room is cleaned up and becomes the entertainment lounge , with a combination of a little bingo , quizzes , music and if you just want a quite drink there is another lounge , full of comfortable settees and chairs.
The only criticism we could make, would be that the bar closes at 11pm which is a early,11.30 would be better , but you can get extra drinks before the bar shuts , the only problem with this ,is the drinks go flat and get warm , but taking everything into consideration , it’s excellent value for the money , we would stay there again.

Marvin H
Sheffield

Room Tip: If you find your not happy with your room, tell reception and they will be more than happy to offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Hotel is tired looking, and food is a little "mass produced" but it is clean and all the staff very helpful and friendly.
However, it is cheap and exceptional value at late deal rate (though certainly not at book price)
It does annoy me people paying "nothing" but assessing as a 5*
For an acceptable night stop-over it is cheap, but value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldunmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Well i think i must have stayed at a different hotel to most of these people . I was extremely worried about staying at this hotel.
just come back from a David Urquhart trip , yes outside is not the best but inside was better, yes bit outdated but bar area and dining room was good, food was good choose of 4 main meals , staff was very good, my bedroom was not the best we had stayed in ,bed was a bit lumpy room spaces, clean bedding and soft white towels, but as some people had said before the heating system was very noisy when it came on at 5.30 in morning and traffic from road could be heard , did tell reception about heating but think it needed a lot of work to put it right. was only 2 coach loads of people in so we had plenty of places to have a drink and chat to people. drinks are not 99p as this comes with what kind of packet you have. did not smell any smoke from the 7 floor or any where else. for the amount we paid we had a good trip, only thing i would have like was fried egg for breakfast as it was scrambled and as people on here said it was awful did not try it but everyone else seem to like it. and the comments on here about the smell from old people is a load of nonsense on my coach everyone was smart and clean

Room Tip: bedroom away from the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed here with my husband for the weekend 19/10/2012 to 22/10/2012, we came on a coach holiday, as we approached the hotel it is the most drab uninviting building. On entering our room we found it clean and comfortable, the food was good, although the soup could have been a bit thicker. The service in the dining room was quite good too. The bar prices were not expensive £2 for a glass of wine or pint of beer between 7 and 9 pm.
We have been on quite a few of these coach trips and found this hotel along the same lines as most of the hotels they use, they are always clean and comfortable, and good value for what you pay, if you expect 5* you have to pay 5* prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Very dated but cheap hotel. In need of major upgrade to bring. Staff are ok despite the surroundings. If u can put up with mould then this may be for you. We would not return even though it was very cheap. Breakfast very average chairs falling to bits. Probably best to knock the place down and start again. Most of the staff were pleasant and deserve somewhere better to work

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djwolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
493 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
469 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#19 of 39 in Coventry
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Property: Coventry Hill Hotel
Address: Birmingham Road Rye Hill | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Coventry Hill Hotel is a modern hotel offering a spacious reception area, fantastic restaurant and comfortable rooms. It is situated close to the A45, which connects Coventry and Birmingham and is located just 9 miles from Birmingham Airport. If you are looking for Coventry Hotels close to the airport, this is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing