We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Coventry Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this Place last week and liked it. It's real value for Money. It was a short walk from the Railway station. It was easy to walk there, 5-10 minutes . Also to the Town centre. The room was like the one we had in Leicester a couple of years ago so we felt like home. The staff was nice and friendly and we also had breakfast for 7.95 Pounds each, It was a buffet and it tasted good so you could have full English breakfast. It was a nice Place and we do recommend it. It's all what you need. Clean, friendly, nice breakfast and Close to the Town centre and the Railway station. Just what we were looking for. We will probably stay at Ibis more times in the future if the location is right . It was also quiet even though an A-road was outside.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Marie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to ibis Coventry Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very basic but cannot complain for value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful, entrance lobby and bar/food area looked great, unfortunately this didn't carry over to the rooms. Our room was clean but for a "not so old" hotel is showing massive signs of wear and tear. Carpets were slightly frayed around the edges, shower sprayed water out of the wrong places, shower door trim coming off and did not meet properly. But..... bed was oh so comfy and clean and the tea/coffee making facilities were clean and topped up. Overall if I was having a night out in Coventry I would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Coventry Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about improvements required in the bedrooms which we are since addressing.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you are looking for a basic hotel to spend a night , this Ibis will do . It's 10mn walk from the train station (although for a first time, take a black cab - £4.80 fare in the evening - don't pay more than £5). The hotel is very basic but comfortable, large double bed, very clean room and new bathroom with soap and shampoo dispensers, complementary tea and coffee facilities. The TV is a bit dated but old flat screen did the job .
The location is not scenic as it has a bypass road in front but there is no worry about noise - back of hotel is perfectly quiet with plenty of parking space.
The university is just across a circular road , so take a walk 5mn up to underpass and there you are within Coventry central, the University is there , a few metres away is also Coventry Cathedral. There are good signposts everywhere in Coventry, basic signs but well indicated.
The Ibis has also a free map of Coventry at the reception, but I follow a group of students to the underpass and then walked toward the Cathedral , look for the spire ! There is an information centre at te Cathedral and further free map. Everything is walking distance within 10 mn.
I can't complain with the Ibis, check in and check out was very efficient, cleaning staff friendly , left luggage £2 per bag, they do provide a service so I was happy to leave bag there and return after visiting the Cathedral and pick up my bag, went back to the train station on foot . Booking a couple of days before was even cheaper despite travelling on Friday - saved £7.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I guess I’m not used to staying in 2 star hotels, so this may be a slightly unfair review.

Décor and carpet was quite dated, and fairly worn, the room wasn’t hoovered in the 4 nights that I stayed there.
There was a dried out bogey (not mine!) that was glued solid to the sink for my entire stay. Daily cleaning was fairly half-hearted.
The bathroom was entirely plastic, walls, floor, ceiling. There was a single soap dispenser which served as hand soap, shower gel and shampoo. If you’re used to better quality product you will have to bring your own.
The bed was comfortable, and the room was warm, but the walls are paper thin and I was near the reception, so there was a lot of traffic passing the room and a lot of noise throughout the night, every night. However (only!) if you have earplugs, it was a decent night’s sleep.
The restaurant food was ppor and not good value for money. Breakfast was ok, full cooked breakfast and continental available. Restaurant was quite slow (45mins) during peak times, but fast at others, and faster if you order one of the 24hr-available dishes that gets heated up in a microwave.

Every now and then the shower will burn your face off when someone else in the hotel flushes their toilet.

The reception staff were polite and friendly.

In all I suppose it was ok, since it’s one of the cheaper options in Coventry. Coventry itself doesn’t have a vast amount of choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the points that you have raised.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gareee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was in Coventry for a few nights attending meetings at the University. This is a fine hotel. Rooms are good sized and comfortable, if basic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, although not included in the room rate. The free Wifi was very helpful to getting some work done. The hotel is also conveniently located to the University, city centre, and rail station. My only negatives were that my heating unit rattled a bit due to a loose grille and there was no hot water the first morning. Overall, the Ibis is a good basic hotel for a business trip

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Coventry Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the lack of hot water on your first morning, which we have since addressed. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had a weeks training to attend in Coventry & had to drive a van back to Norwich after the week. So travelled to Coventry on the train, IBis was only a 10 min easy walk from the station, 5 minutes walk to my training venue.

All the staff were really friendly. Room was basic but clean and warm. I did like the bathroom cubicles, was perfect for me. Decent shower, good pressure, no messing about for correct temperature.

Milk was sparse on arrival but i just asked reception for more milk and they gave me more than enough for the rest of my stay.

I had the breakfast every morning which was nice, did get a bit bored of a fry up by the end of my stay but felt obliged to eat it as i had already paid for it. A couple of breakfast options and prices would be a good idea.

I only had one meal in the evening which was good. Rest of the time i walked into town and brought a takeaway back to my room as it this was a lot cheaper.

Would stay here again without hessitation if i come to Coventry

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clearseaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,475 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#21 of 39 in Coventry
582 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry Centre

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £40 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Coventry Centre is ideally located in the historic centre of Coventry, a short stroll from the busy shopping districts, 5-7 min walk from train station and 10 minutes by train or 20 by car car from Birmingham NEC. The hotel has 89 en-suite rooms with double showers, air cooling system, free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It has a restaurant open on most weekdays and a snack menu serving warm food 24/7. There is also a bar and private on-site car parking available for additional charge (£5 per vehicle per day). Wireless Internet is available in the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Coventry Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Coventry Centre Hotel Coventry
Accor Coventry Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing