We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont know how to priortise customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hi, I am currently staying at Ibis Coventry.
I have booked the place for a month - 28 nights - I am sure that quite a huge business for any hotel. My client gives them regular business as their office is a block away.
Firstly, When I checked in was asked to give a deposit, in spite of the fact that my stay was borne by my client. Some how their records were not updated. I had to swipe my card for 110 pounds, blocking a huge amount. When I requested to reverse, since the client had reconfirmed that they will pay, they still said that they need the security. However, my colleague checked in after a week and no such details were asked from him. My credit card guys did call them to confirm the reversal they said flat NO? I don't know who do they not trust? - I want an immediate reversal of that amount on my card.
Secondly, form the day i have arrived, i have been requesting them that i am not comfortable with a room on the ground floor allocated to me. The only response that i have received "We are fully booked, Can you pls check in a couple of days. I will put a remark for the same".
I have completed 10 days checked 5 times with reception and they still never have a room. I continuously see guests checking in - out with room on the higher floors. Still they never seem to have a room for me.
The best part is, the person manning the reception changes every two hours, so i have to take effort to explain my problem 5 times - still the same answer.
I don't understand how can they ignore one small request from a customer with such a long stay. Do they even care? All they offer me is a free drink? Really? I find their ground floor, very noisy and its closer to the lifts and reception. - hope now someone will ask me what I want.
I have taken this route of lodging an official complaint since they don't pay heed to requests made at the reception.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good room on day one, else you will never be heard again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeepikaSakaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I am really sorry to hear that your current stay is not up to your expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person to hopefully make this right. Please could you contact me at reception when you have a moment.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here last year, and upon returning this year, found that standards have not changed, as there is nothing that warrants changing! My only gripe is that residents have to pay for the parking at the back of the hotel. If you are a resident, surely it should be free? Anyway, all the staff were very polite and friendly. Front of house staff have the dual role of attending the bar, and dealing with checking in and out. There was a problem with some of the guests, in that they cannot read! (The smoke alarm went off at 1AM!). Staff dealt with this very quickly, and apologised the following morning. Found the room card did not work on day of departure, but again this was sorted very quick.
Some have complained of road noise, but did not find this a problem, possibly in the summer this might be an issue due to having windows open. Also, complaints of poor maintenance and decor. Again, found no evidence of this. Why people spend that long "dissing" somewhere where they don't live full time is beyond me!
I will be back to stay here every-time I need to visit Coventry and the surrounding area. It ticks all my boxes for my requirements. Had breakfast, which is buffet style with most things you can think of.

Room Tip: Rooms facing car park might be quieter than road facing ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexGrumpy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

5 minute walk to train station which was perfect for us. Staff friendly. Comfy bed. Can't comment on breakfast as did not have it. Helpful staff at check in. Night staff friendly. Staff at checkout friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After having a nightmare at another hotel, Coventry Central (General Manager Sam) Couldn't have helped me any more.

Very helpful, efficient and empathetic in my struggle to find another hotel. I was welcomed in when I arrived, they were punctual and saved my day!

Rooms were VERY clean and shower is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly_S691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, Holly. I was very happy that I could help you in your time of need! I look forward to welcoming you back to the ibis Coventry Centre in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was placed here by my hosts during a business meeting. Overall the rooms are always the same and have all necessary amenities (TV, bed, internet, ...). Internet was slow, but free. The bed is spacious and comfortable and the shower roomy and with loads of pressure. Breakfast buffet is extensive.

Service was mixed: I was given a room that was not cleaned and one of the ladies at the front desk would not care to look at my reservation "because check in is at noon and now it is 9am." I had to explain twice that an extra night was added to cover this issue. Unnecessary hassle.

Would I stay here again? Not really. The second room I got could use a upholstery washing and the location by the beltway sucks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelmutsCulinaryPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding poor service, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I haven't stayed at the IBIS Coventry Centre for probably at least a year. My previous review noted "good value" from the hotel. This time was different...

The hotel is increasingly old and worn - badly in need of a refurb. Light switches were coming loose from the wall, the curtains were broken, the carpet stained and so on. Sleep quality was still good, thanks to the typical IBIS soundproofing. Check-in was quick and efficient. However....

On returning from an evening enjoying the culinary delights of Coventry, my room card wouldn't work. I went down to Reception who reprogrammed it, to no avail. I went down again to be told that "the lock must have stopped working". OK, I don't really care what the problem is, just open my door, because I'm tired, I want to go to sleep and I've got an 05:30 start in the morning.

30 minutes later, the door was opened for me.

As well as being annoyed that it should take this long, I was also slightly worried about scenarios in which someone might, for example, have briefly left a child asleep in a room whilst popping down to Reception/the Bar or whatever, not expecting that a lock problem would mean them being absent for 30 minutes.

On check-out the person who eventually opened my door for me also checked me out. He remembered me an apologised again, but didn't offer anything else by way of redress. He didn't mention the IBIS 15 Minute Satisfaction Guarantee, which states "ibis invites every guest to immediately report any issue that may arise if the hotel is responsible and the issue takes more than 15 minutes to be resolved, the relative service will be free of charge to the guest."

So I paid £52, which I consider to be very poor value in the circumstances.

Oh, and someone's room service dinner, which was in my corridor at 10:30pm was still there at 5:45am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating these matters.
Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very convenient location for a traveller. It's less than 10 min walk from the railway station that has frequent connections north and south of England. It's 10-20 min by train from Birmingham Airport with very frequent journeys between stations at peak periods. It's also 15-20 min walk to the city centre attractions (cathedral, Lady Godiva statue, Conventry Uni etc), local transport (bus services to nearby towns i.e. Kenilworth, Leamington Spa, Leek Wooton, and Stratford-Upon-Avon; coach services to for day trips out) restaurants, and shops (Primark, TKMaxx, New Look, Topshop). We stayed for several days to look for flats before starting at the University of Warwick, which is a local bus ride away. The food (dinner) we ordered from the restaurant was reasonable and the people were polite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipCAMAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Sam White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
0.8 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
490 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry Centre

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £45 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Coventry Centre is ideally located in the historic centre of Coventry, a short stroll from the busy shopping districts, 5-7 min walk from train station and 10 minutes by train or 20 by car car from Birmingham NEC. The hotel has 89 en-suite rooms with double showers, air cooling system, free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It has a restaurant open on most weekdays and a snack menu serving warm food 24/7. There is also a bar and private on-site car parking available for additional charge (£5 per vehicle per day). Wireless Internet is available in the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Coventry Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Coventry Centre Hotel Coventry
Accor Coventry Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing