We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

The Farmhouse Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 582 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Indian, Steakhouse, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Farmhouse Coventry we have two menus. A good-old English menu and a traditionally home cooked Indian menu, so whether it's a premium cut of rib eye steak or a succulent spicy tandoori chicken we've got it all here at The Farmhouse Coventry!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked a table for 4 in advance. Very nice place with a relaxed atmosphere, perfect for the family. Staff offered quality service and ordered one of the chefs specials (lamb grill). Was blown away with the flavours of the meat. Children ordered pasta and thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Dessert chosen was Oreo cookie bash and everyone loved it. Will defo be coming back here when I'm next in the area!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Danish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    325
    128
    77
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great menu, disappointing reality”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've visited the Farmhouse restaurant before, and were really pleased, so when deciding where to go for a special occasion it was an obvious choice.
First impressions were great, good welcome and varied menu. We settled for the ribeye and the tomato pasta along with a childrens meal.
The food arrived and the ribeye, requested medium rare, was well done. The accompanying jack daniels sauce was creamy and tasted of cheese. Our waiter was gracious and accepted our complaint, and another steak was ordered. Sadly after 10 minutes this arrived , overdone again. At this point myself and my daughter had finished eating so the bill was requested. My husband remained unfed.

Upon receiving the bill we were suprised. The steak had been removed, as expected given none had been eaten, but everything else was there at full price.
We raised this as a concern, given we had to find somewhere else for my husband to eat, and our special occasion visit had been wrecked. In fairness the manager was charming and conceded our point and offered a further discount, equivalent to 1/3rd of our bill. Unfortunately by this time our moods were sunken, and we were thoroughly disappointed.

Overall I cannot recommend the farmhouse restaurant for the English dishes. The poorly cooked steak along with lack of apology during the meal left a very bad taste. While the manager made every effort to recify the situation, the experience was disappointing and ultimately the occasion ruined.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We went there on a Saturday night for some food and we had an amazing meal. The intention was to go somewhere outside the city centre as we had grown a bit bored of the limited offers. The outside doesn't do it justice - if i hadn't known about it i wouldn't have stopped. However, i'm really happy we did stop because we had some great food. They do both British and Indian meals but neither of the menus are what you would expect from such a place - they put twists on dishes and make them more exciting, like the chicken tikka masala Yorkshire pudding or the Mumbai steak ( which was cooked to perfection by the way). The service was excellent, if a bit slow - it was a very busy night though and it is understandable. The only reason i marked it down is because we had to wait for 45 minutes to an hour even though we had phoned to book in advance. The meals for 5 people with starters and extras and even some drinks came to under £100, which i think is reasonable. The bonus for me was they let me take half of my meal home (which i struggled to finish). Definitely recommend this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sabina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gutted! ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice place. We have Stayed at the village 3 times now and didn't know about the farmhouse! What a treat! In walking distance of the village too! 8 of us went had a bit of everything, fish n chips was nice, mix Grill was demolished, pasta dish was very nice, lamb shank was good, I had chicken Balti which was lovely, chicken was nice sauce was lovely and just enough portion size. Desserts were very good, chocolate fudge cake was a monster though a tad dry, strawberry cheese was nice though portion size was tiny compared to the fudge cake. Bill with Beers was £160 which was quite reasonable, service was very good had a slight delay for mains but it was busy and the food was worth the wait. Staff polite, friendly and up for a little banter. Next time we're in town will defo come again!

Helpful?
Thank Jimmytreatingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Popped in for a meal having exhausted other local pubs for food.Ordered off the sizzler menu for the fish masala Wow ..wouldn't have been out of place in a top London restaurant sprinkled with colourful spices and peppers sides of rice and salad naan with dips ..excellent.
The place was clean it was busy but service was polite quick and efficient and to top it off prices were reasonable I'll definitely be returning to try more from the substantial menus.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markwatkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing