We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Coventry
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
SOUTH WALES
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned having spent two nights at this hotel for a get together for about 80+ persons. Our room was a decent size and well equipped for a two night stay. The bed was really comfy, and everything in the room worked ok. The hotel was clean and well looked after. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful . The food was very good and always hot and plentiful. We did not do any sightseeing but the hotel is conveniently situated for sightseeing.
On the negative side it is not disabled friendly and one would not choose it for the views. We too paid dear for a bottle of wine but I should think that it is the norm rate for a hotel in the area.
Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATYSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you so much for your kind report on this valuable site.

We really appreciate your kindness and look forward very much to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards

Diane Minnis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    169
    102
    48
    38
See reviews for
70
118
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night whilst we had been visiting Cadbury World. Unfortunately there was no lifts so luggage had to be carried to room. Room was nice and clean but view was of a roof which was full of cigarettes. Dining room was ok but we couldn't sit together as a group which was disappointing. Food was lovely but did have a long wait. They did have entertainment on at night in the bar, sadly I was charged £16 for a very cheap bottle of wine. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend for a weekend but no longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I have to inform you that your Tour Coach Operator is fully aware that the Quality Hotel Coventry doesn't have a lift and your Contract is actually with them. Our staff do their upmost to help guests with luggage but this is not part of our remit.

We always go the extra mile and if you were in a group our F&B Manager would sit you together if at all possible; this is rarely a problem. I am aware that there was a delay in meal service; please accept our apologies.

Our house wine is actually £14.95 a bottle; its an excellent wine from a reputable supplier which we have served for some 18 months and, to date, you are the first person to complain.

May I respectfully also mention we have a strict NO SMOKING policy!! It annoys us greatly that our guests disrespect our rules - thank you for pointing this out to us.

Regards

Diane Minnis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I visited with David Urquhart tours 19th August until 23rd August. From the entrance to the Hotel there a 3 lots of stairs which are quite steep no disabled access is in view. The hotel room is fine but there is no grab rails in the bath/shower. The beds are well used could do with some memory foam (cheaper than a new bed) to make it more comfortable. The room we had was 36 ground floor, big but there are no drawers at all and no wardrobe just a rail coming out of the wall and only 6 hangers which was not quite suffcient. There is a hair dryer under the dressing table but I found it poor for access. There is also a ironing board and iron which would be handy. The food was not bad but they were a bit mean with the vegetable's 2 half potatoes for dinner, until our driver complained that we should be able to help ourselves to the vegetables, after that we were able to help ourselves to the veg. The staff were really good and attentive except for 1 member. It was a shame that she let the team out but other than that they were excellent nothing was a bother for them. Being fair as long as I was on the ground floor I would stay again. (no lift or disabled access to the second floor)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your post on this valuable site. We note all your comments.

Your travel company, David Urquhart, are fully aware of our restrictions regarding disabled access and NO LIFT and we, like you, find it frustrating that guests arrive without such information. The building is art deco and there is flat access from the rear of the Hotel together with a disabled friendly WC.

We hope you do revisit us - (come and say hello to me) - thank you too for mentioning our wonderful staff; they work really hard to achieve such nice comments.

Kindest regards

Diane Minnis
Sales Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here overnight with National Holidays. First sighting of the hotel was behind iron railings from the A45. Not a good first impression! Hotel reception area was light and airy and we were welcomed with a cheery smile. Room nice but did have a lovely view, of the roof! The dining room looked lovely but we we shepherded straight through it to a big plain room at the back, we were a party of 8 but couldn't sit together for meals which was really bad. We were on holiday together after all. Food was ok and they even offered to make chips for my granddaughter even though they were not available as standard to our party. The staff were lovely throughout the stay. In the evening sitting in the lounge was a bit like being in a sitting room at an old folks home. Quite soulless to be honest although the decor and furniture was really nice.

Nothing else near but another couple of hotels. The pretty village of Allesley is around 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel and there is a traditional local pubt The Raginbow and another couple of pubs serving food too, the Harvester and the Tollgate. The village can also be reached by the number 7 bus which stops behind the hotel if walking isn't your thing.

From what I could see, there was no lift. We were on the first floor so no problem but many of our party were getting on a bit so it is just as well we only had overnight bags and not suitcases to drag up the stairs. Sitting out on the terrace would have been really nice but as the hotel is right next to a really busy dual carriageway, it was very noisy so that spoilt it a bit.

Ok for a stopover but, I don't think I would stay there longer.

Room Tip: High room at the front for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this valuable site. Our staff work extremely hard and are all friendly and caring and l and thank you for mentioning this.

I must inform you that the 'railings' you mention were erected by the City Council! They are a safety barrier. They have no bearing on our establishment.

As for a table for 8; this would not have been an issue to us. We always put groups of guests together so I am at a loss to hear your comments.

The big plain room at the back of the Quality Hotel Coventry is the Manor Suite which has just gone through a major refurbishment costing in excess of £20,000!!

Your observation was correct, we do not have a lift within the Hotel. All tour companies, such as the one you travelled on, visit us initially and do a full inventory of what there is on offer. They are all fully aware that there is NO lift and guests should take this into consideration before making their decision to book accommodation here.

Yours sincerely
Diane Minnis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Had to find a room for a Saturday night stay, great value for money hotel, welcome receptionist & clean tidy bedroom. Restaurant closed due to wedding function but had a bar snack, quite acceptable. Didn't have breakfast as didn't serve on the Sunday till 8.

Room Tip: Check if any functions are on and ask for room furthest away from the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Good Morning

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a report on Trip Advisor.

We, as a Team, value your comments and hope to see you again at the Quality Hotel Coventry in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Diane Minnis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed in the quality hotel this weekend as needed a cheap, comfortable overnight stay whilst house hunting.
Booked a twin room at 32 for the night which was very competative compared to the other hotes in the area.
The staff were very helpful upon arrival and the room was not too difficult too find.
The room itself was a good size and well decorated and cleaned. The bathroom again clean, not spotless, but fine.
The room had two beds, one which was ok and the second bed felt like it was moments from collapsing.

As for the food, in the evening we went into the lounge area and ordered bar snacks. Food was ok for the price and was served quickly.

Come the morning we encountered this hotes biggest problem in my eyes. The breakfast....
The food was OK, not great, not terrible. A full English buffet with cereals etc, pretty standard.
All kept warm under lamps meaning you can't pick up a plate without burning your hand, can't pick up the serving utensils without burning yourself., but in turn means all the food is hot.
Staff again were very helpful and friendly.
All in all was this breakfast worth almost £12 per person? Not even nearly.
I absolutely did not feel like I had value from this whatsoever. Disappointing.
Not to mention if you wanted anything special from the kitchen e.g. Boiled egg, scrambled egg you encounter a surcharge pushing breakfast, per person, around the £15 mark.

This breakfast should have been £6-£8pp and then it would have been good value all round

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a cheap, comfortable, friendly, clean place to stay but only if you eat elsewhere to save yourself much, much money.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, away from the road and check there are no wedding going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to know that you met with excellent, friendly staff and lovely clean accommodation here at the Quality Hotel Coventry. We all work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you for your comment on one of the beds in your room. If you had mentioned to Reception that there was a problem with a bed this would have been sorted out immediately- either by moving you into another room or even replacing the bed. We value guests advising us of such issues.

Breakfast is always met with resounding compliments. Yoghurts, cereals, muffins, fresh fruit, toast, tea/coffee, preserves and a full English breakfast cooked to order or on the buffet is vast and plentiful. We could not provide this within the Quality Hotel Coventry at the low rate you mention. As for the hot plates and utensils; napkins are placed on the buffet station for guests' use but we take these comments very positively and will always offer additional assistance to guests should they need it.

We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Regards
Diane Minnis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I'm currently writing this as given up trying to sleep here its now midnight
There is a wedding/disco/nightclub only a few doors away from my room, I might as well go and join the party, music playing loud, doors slamming, people shouting outside.
I don't expect everyone to be quite just because I have arrived but it would have been nice to be warned or even put into a less so close room.
I have a 12 hour drive tomorrow with horses on board with hardly any sleep not good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuttyarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventryquality, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Good Afternoon

I am dismayed at your posting on this valuable site as your rating is incredibly unfair.

Your comments do not relate to the Quality Hotel Coventry or to the excellent staff we have or the quality of the building and furnishings. It relates to people who, I regret, can impact the tone of any establishment; from a guest house to a 5* hotel.

Had you of spoken to the Duty Manager or Night Porter we could have dealt with this unfortunate situation!

Why not give us another try?

Regards
Diane Minnis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coventry hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#19 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#15 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Coventry

Property: Quality Hotel Coventry
Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes’ drive from the National Exhibition Centre, the Quality Hotel Coventry offers free parking and free Wi-Fi access throughout. The M6 and the M42 motorways are within 4 miles of this hotel and Birmingham International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Each of our recently refurbished bedrooms have a private bathroom with a shower is included in each room, which also has tea and coffee making facilities and a telephone. Guests can dine in the spacious and elegantly decorated dining room or enjoy a drink in the informal bar area. Twycross Zoo, Cadbury World and the Belfry Golf Club are all within a 10-minute drive of the Quality Hotel Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Stonebridge Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing