We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Money spent in wrong places” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allesley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allesley Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Money spent in wrong places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked on the basis of getting a refurbished room as I had read the other reviews. I had to ask for a confirmation to be sent which was a little odd. On arrival I said I was expecting this type of room unfortunately this had not been allocated, in addition the room rate was £25 in excess of what was quoted. That said both these problems were immediately rectified - good job the place was not full. The reception areas (which was not easy to find on foot) have obviously been refurbished with over the top chandaliers and new furniture but although my room was refurbished quite nicely in the 'living' area the bathroom was not with mouldy grouting and sealant. Also the heating appeared to be off when I got up which made a shower a little uncomfortable. Breakfast once I found out where it was was fine, nothing special but I only paid £40 B&B so more than adequate, however it appears that the reception staff double up as breakfast staff which means getting reception tasks done rather difficult during breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room, preferably with refurbed bathroom away from the funcyion r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyna320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    83
    39
    51
    228
See reviews for
97
91
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Arrived 5pm to find the room not cleaned. Moved to another room which someone appeared to be occupying. Moved to another room...cleaner went in beforehand! Was allowed in 10mins later to find the stench of smoke unbareable. Moved to the 4th room. On undressing for the shower realised there was no hot water. An hour and a half after arriving at the hotel had still not found a satisfactory room. Had to shower in seperate rooms just to get hot water (one of which did not have a light so was showering in the dark!). In the morning by breakfast was not ready by quarter past 8 when the hotel states it starts at 8am. Juice machine not working. Toasters not plugged in. Shambolic organisation and very short staffed. Unfortunately not a pleasant stay. No refund offered.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advisorhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Website lists all amenities that you would expect, and many cases require. The reality is completely different. Dirty rooms, carpets and walls are unbelievable, no room service, no wifi in rooms, heating is either on full or off, no proper restaurant, only very limited bar snack menu available. Everything about this place is depressing and in need of total refurbishment. I had booked for 5 nights and left after 1 very uncomfortable night.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Have stayed here many times in the past. Excellent value, rooms are equipped with large flat screen tv's, comfortable beds. Recently undergone a refurbishment which has made an improvement all round. Agree with other reviews regarding the small showers but other comments seem a bit harsh. The Allesley is not too difficult to find & is conveniently located for Coventry, Birmingham Airport & NEC, If taxis cannot find the hotel, perhaps the drivers need to do some research !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel has a very very bright and well kept reception but as far as we saw thats where it ends. The room was small the bed was very comfortable and clean but the pillows were very hard almost like sand bags the soft furnishings were stained and the carpets looked tired and in need of a clean, the bathroom was small and the shower was not big enough for a comfortable shower we got the room for £30 and felt cheated at that price the published price was over £50 and is definately not worth that. The staff are polite at the hotel but have a very relaxed way of disapearing leaving people to wait for ages until they reappear

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostlygathering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The rooms was cold no hot water (Only just warm)There was one couple who was in there 80 years .Had no heating for two days.Reception gave them two hot water bottles.If you ever want to stay there.Bring your electric blanket.
The food was good apart from the cook who had no manners!!!

Room Tip: Sleep in the car it is warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Worst experience ever!

Staff was worst customer service ever. Food pathatic (even cheap value frozen food is better).
Cheap quality curtains, towels, etc. Dirty place, rooms, dishes, tables, curtains, bed, etc.

Location is terrible too. No one can find it. Even taxis struggle and many calls to the reception to find the location failed because staff is useless on the other end of the phone.
Useless, Useless, Useless and simply Useless....!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#19 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allesley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allesley Hotel

Property: Allesley Hotel
Address: 83 Birmingham Road, Coventry CV5 9GT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Allesley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Allesley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allesley Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing