We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are seeking pristine - then don't...”
Review of Allesley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allesley Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you are seeking pristine - then don't...”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

If you are seeking pristine - then don't bother! However we enjoyed our stay in this once splendid building - now a little shabby around the edges. Bargain room rates made it easy to overlook the fact that the hotel was past its glory days - that said, the new owners did seem to be starting a refreshment programme. In addition we found the nearby Rainbow - a traditional real ale pub with a boisterous friendly crowd and the best fish and chips I have eaten for a long time

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coverking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beduff1, Manager at Allesley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
We started the hotel refurb on the 6th of September, which will include all public areas, bedrooms and conference areas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    86
    39
    51
    243
See reviews for
106
93
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed here as it was the closest place to an event we were attending. The price is very good and you can't expect five star luxury for a budget price.

I am sure the hotel was the epitomy of luxury in the 80s (even though it does bring back memories of cross roads) and they seem to have kept the decor whilst the rest of the world has moved on. The room was clean, although we passed a bit of dust on the stairs. The bed was softer we liked, but nice and warm. Breakfast was tolerable, but what do you expect for £5 all you can eat.

The Service was very good, when we arrived there was a wedding party in progress, some of which spilled out to the reception area. The receptionist promptly (and politely) told them not to disturb the rest of the hotel, and was charming to us.

Overall, we'll probably stay again, but might want to see what else is in the area first.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beduff1, Manager at Allesley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
The hotel has started the refurb of all public areas and bedrooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

After reading the reviews on this site, we didnt really know what to expect but at £25 a night thought we would give it a go, we stayed here for six nights. The hotel is located on the edge of Coventry. On arrival the car park was untidy with bottles and litter strewn everywhere which didnt go down well on first impressions, the outside of the hotel looks dated, inside though we were pleasently surprised, reception area was clean despite the light smell of cigerette smoke, check in was easy, receptionist was polite and helpful given our card key we found our room which was a little diificult to get into as the door handle was half hanging off, inside the room was clean and tidy, tea and coffee making facilities are provided, the bathroom was very clean, however when having a shower the bathroom floor tends to flood. Towels were changed every day and room was cleaned regularly. Only basic five channel tv is provided, no freeview or sky, No meals served during the day but I can recommend the Rainbow pub next to the hotel where the food is excellent and available from 12 noon. The hotel seems to be used by a lot of contractors, we counted more than twenty vans one night, most of which were there during our stay, Unfortunately these were in and out at all hours between 4.30 am and 11 pm which meant doors banging at all hours. At £25 a night it was good value for the money however for a few pounds extra you can stay at the Brittania Hill Hotel up the road which offers better value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimblewick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beduff1, Manager at Allesley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Happy you enjoyed your stay - The hotel has now staretd its major refurb of all public areas / bedrooms and we aim to be finished by end of November
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

afta reading reviews i was concerned about the stay but have to say was very pleasantly surprised. stayed for one night. staff were very accomodating from the start, receptionists all smiley and helpful, all staff down to the cleaners uptothe managers were very pleasant and willing to be of service. rooms were fine,clean,comfortable and quiet. would recomend and will certainly be staying again.the only disapointing thing was the breakfast, could have more choice of cold selection,but hot breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmanchello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

After reading the other reviews I didn’t know what to expect.

The service was exceptional and the staff was very friendly.
We booked 5 rooms between us – all our rooms were clean tidy and airy.
I think the hotel is good value for you money.

As I was staying with friends and had full use of their relaxing bars and Seasons Restaurant and comfortable communal areas.

Recommended
9/10
****

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie786186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The first room was disgusting, the sheets were grey, the pillows smelt of stale sweat, the room smelt of dog !! the tv didn't work, the bathroom was dirty with hairs in the sink, and when i cleaned my teeth the stench that filled the room from the drains could only be described as a sewerage smell.
I asked to be moved to another room upon my return in the evening, and was then shown to a room near to the bar area..... The curtains were hanging down, there were various nasty stains on the carpet which wasn't even fitted properly . The kettle was dirty, cups coated with dust , also the tray of tea bags and coffee sachets were also dust coated ... the bathroom was a joke in itself... how would you fancy a mouldy, dirty shower head over the bath which was equally dirty, with personal body hairs still in it , some were even stuck behind a sticker on the tiles !!!! the bath panel was split in several places and taped together.
i could write much more , and have taken pictures as evidence.
I had booked into the hotel for one night only thank god, and was so tired i hadn't the energy to ask to be moved yet again,the receptionist a young girl was the only good thing i have to say about this hell hole.

my night was finished off by people in the room nearby partying until 5.30 am.

i have read a review on here that someone had a good stay.... in which room wd that be ?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chelly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coventry hotels

Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This hotel was exceedingly cheap and therefore good value for money, despite being dated and dingy. However, the over-promise under-deliver receptionist was dreadful! I guess you get what you pay for.

I would not stay here again, ever.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMMe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
375 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
473 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allesley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allesley Hotel

Property: Allesley Hotel
Address: 83 Birmingham Road, Coventry CV5 9GT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Allesley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allesley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allesley Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing