We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Surprised 8/10”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Surprised 8/10”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times before, I had moved away from Coventry last year but it was nice to visit the city and stay at the Brooklands. At first I was a little weary about booking the hotel as the last time my wife and I had such a bad experience there. But we booked it and on arrival it looked like improvements had been made to the front of house. Clean and tidy with plenty of Parking. We were greeted by a gentlemen behind the reception, he seemed a little confused when I told him we had a reservation for one night. Once we got the key we headed to the room. Well the rooms haven't been refurbished for many many many many years. We were in room 24, very dark and very basic, Shame really as the room has potential. The carpet was badly worn and dull but looked clean. The Bed was very uncomfortable. There was your normal hotel room tea, coffee, colour tv, hair dryer. (Not very good) Basic clean bathroom and I was surprised there was no mould around the bath. I always rate a hotel on that and the Brooklands scored highly on that point. No mould mines clean air in the room. The hotel has a quiet bar area and sometimes you have to go looking for a member of staff to serve you. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but we did have breakfast. Very very nice indeed. I had a lovely cooked fresh English breakfast with fresh tea and plenty of toast to feed an army. Overall the hotel in my mind has come along way and although it had dropped in standards, the new management seems to be putting things right. Would I stay here again?? YES!! Would I recommend the hotel?? Maybe!! As long as the hotel keeps to the path their on, it should be a great hotel again and I look forward to trying the Brooklands Grange Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunwharf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    122
    54
    32
    26
See reviews for
95
119
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Not 5 five but the staff are !! The hotel is very welcoming and thou not five star great value for the price. The hotel is clean with large rooms. The food is loverly with service being number one . The staff never stop always ready to please. Great value , Great service at a Great price . There will be a 3rd Visit. If passing give it a try I travel a lot and find it hard to find somewhere comfortable and relaxing ,, A 45 very close by for he airport

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Brill friendly atmosphere. Spotless rooms, cleaned daily, restaurant and chef different class. Standard? At the top!

:-)

8 guys staying here working away from home, very accommodating and helpful. Nothing was a problem.

Will be back if within touching distance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We held our wedding reception here and so glad we did! The 3 course meal was excellent and so was the cooked breakfast. Helen who organised everything did a first class job, even arranging for a barrel of Old Hookey behind the bar, which was thoroughly enjoyed. Nothing was too much trouble. The tables were laid out beautifully and ALL of the guests had a great day. A special mention for Paula who did everything she could to make the day go smoothly. Most of the guests spent the night there and were pleased with their rooms. The bridal suite was perfect. We don't have a negative comment to make. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again and are already planning a birthday weekend!

Room Tip: Recommend the bridal suite and Room 37 opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie6311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding reception and stayed over with many friends. Must say for a small independent Hotel it was very well run. I must disagree with the previous review and say our room was very clean and well presented, and we had a very good nights sleep. The wedding dinner was hot and tasty. Staff were a bit thin on the ground but then again we never waited long at the bar. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor towards the end and it was a lot quieter than others over the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oloren1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Lovely clean hotel. Brilliant friendly staff who go out of their way to help. Excellent choice of breakfast which was cooked beautifully. We recently stayed at an expensive hotel and this hotel was much better and much cheaper. Ignore the negative reviews. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sioux T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here whilst on business at the NEC... The hotel you stay in is nothing like their website! My room was dirty, the carpet so grubby I didn't want to take my shoes off!, the bathroom cleanish but with peeling wallpaper, the towels so small and hard they were pointless, the window mouldy and over looking the kitchen.... Also my room was above the bar so very noisy, very late.... Food was not good either, over cooked and tasteless.... My steak was so tough I couldn't cut it.... Oddly however one member of staff was a super little, efficient and friendly pocket rocket.... And the wine very nice..... Eeven though its quite cheap, I would be far happier at a premier inn

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandMmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
493 reviews
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#6 of 39 in Coventry
2,082 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing