We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Cuffley,Hertdordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcome return”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having returned to Brooklands Grange after almost a year I have to say what an improvement.
They are obviously making major refurbishments to the hotel and grounds and now starting to look not so 'tired'. Had a very nice afternoon tea on arrival and would have it again.....All the staff we're excellent... No complaints at all....look forward to the next stay...probably next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderers1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    117
    52
    30
    25
See reviews for
92
114
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not the poshest afternoon tea we've ever had (and we're regular 'tea-ers') but one of the friendliest. Laura was really great and if we'd drunk the huge jug of Pimms she'd made up for us, we'dve had to stay the night! Groupon deal that was well worth the value for money. We were so impressed with the service and the tea that we've decided to go back for our girlie Christmas group meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah02K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 15wks in total while working in Coventry. As much as I can't wait to go home, it's like leaving home!
Place is in the middle of an overhaul and I can't wait to come back and see it finished.
Brooklands Grange is on the up, I hope the price it properly and keep the regular custom which we've witnessed.
They get a lot of repeat business and that it's self speaks volumes.

Myself and the 6 men with me will genuinely miss being there but I will 100% be back, great hotel!

Chef, superb, staff, superb, management, doing well at making it all work with their hard work.

Keep it up folks, see you soon! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for the first time whilst visiting family.
The hotel itself is easy to find, it was apparent upon arrival that the hotel is under going major refurbishment, hence saying it is tired around the edges, i got the impression the management had big plans for the hotel & it'll be brilliant once it's completed.
We had a nice size room with the biggest bed i've ever slept in, it was very comfortable.
Again, the decor was tired as was the bathroom & the shower was a bit rubbish, but the whole hotel & rooms were spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was also good as was the food.
The staff are absolutely great, a special thankyou to the Polish chap doing the night-shift called Chris, he was a good laugh, as well as friendly & would do anything to help us, even at 2am!
All in all a nice hotel that i'm sure will be great once it's finished! We would stay again.
However due to the dated decor i cannot give it 5/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I use this Hotel on a regular basis as a pit stop on my way back home from business trips. The friendly and obliging staff, relaxed atmosphere and value for money means that it is the perfect place to stay when I'm away from home.

The restaurant is one of the best parts of the hotel, though i often ask if i can eat in front of the TV in the bar/lounge! Although i prefer to order from the bar menu, the quality is still excellent with simple touches like freshly prepared hand cut chips and homemade desserts on offer.

As other reviewers have mentioned the decor is a little tired but recent refurbishments have meant that there have been improvements between my last two visits and i look forward to seeing the changes when i next stop in. The garden in particular will be as good as any 'higher end' hotel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Two night stay visiting relations locally. Some refurbishment was going on but didn't spoil our stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Convenient location and good bus service to city centre. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Good value at £66 per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We held our wedding reception here in June, and had such a wonderful day we decided to invite 40 guests back to celebrate my birthday. The menu choices were good, the food excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful. They coped wonderfully with such a large number to cater for. One member of staff even made a couple of trips to the shop for cider and cigarettes for a couple of our guests! The bar stayed open until 3.30am. I recommend the Old Hookey ale. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzalanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,710 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing