We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable within easy reach of Coventry”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. We chose this hotel for its convenient location as we were at the NEC for an exhibition.
It is about 20 min drive away from NEC. Also there is a bus stop outside, which meant we could leave the car and take the bus into Coventry ( 15 mins) and also to Birmingham (55mins).

The hotel was very cheap (via Booking.com) and I feel that was probably because they have recently taken on the hotel and it is being renovated. The latter in no way affected our stay. They are obviously happy to have rooms occupied at this time.

The rooms were large and had plenty of storage - drawers and wardobe - trouser press-flat screen TV -comfortable bed. The ensuite was functional but certainly in need of modernisation.
We asked to change our room to one with a rear garden view and it was done with no problem.

We ate a bar meal one evening and as it was so quiet they layed it up in the dining room for us. The food was excellent and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view. Some rooms at the side overlook old stables and waste from refurbishement. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afartribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of 5th October for two nights. Had a single room which was clean and comfortable with good sized bathroom. Tea making facilities were a bonus and were replenished both days, as were clean towels and toiletries. Staff incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Excellent breakfast was included in the price too!. Added bonus is a good sized car park. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann1960s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed over on Sunday night. The staff were friendly and helpful however descriptions of the hotel on their website failed to reflect a current view. Our room was clean and tidy although rather demure - the view from the window was directly on to building materials and scrub land. The coffee / tea making supplies had not been replenished. The bathroom although functional was basic, the shower resembled a garden hose with a rose attached and the tile grouting around the room was mouldy with wallpaper peeling from the wall. The breakfast was excellent with good and cheery service but again the ambience of the restaurant was somewhat demure and dated. It would appear that renovations are taking place around the hotel - it would be more honest to state the situation and I am sure guests would respect this. We were rather disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildroverwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Warwick uni. Unlike a lot of hotels we were able to have one room for my husband and myself plus our daughter which was great value for money.

All of the staff that we came into contact with were really friendly. When we asked for directions for the uni, the member of staff came back with an AA route planner that he had printed off for us, really going the extra mile.

We had two dinners in the restaurant and found the food to be of excellent quality. We also sampled the high tea and breakfast. They had some really comfy sofa and the staff would often let my husband have the remote control for the tv so he would watch the football - home from home really!

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the bedroom and particularly the bathroom were a bit tired but very clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities which I always see as a plus.

If our daughter does decide to go to Warwick uni then I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here last night with our son prior to depositing him at Warwick University this morning. The rooms were spotless, the bathrooms are still awaiting renovation but were clean and functional, and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good, and all in all we had a lovely last evening together. Once the renovations are finished, it will be fabulous....

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the second floor are away from the road and bar, and therefore more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a little Gem this place is. We arrived and the staff were most welcoming showing us to a beautiful table ready for our afternoon tea. The presentation was lovely smoked salmon, beef and mustard, finger sandwiches with two beautifully warmed scones, clotted cream and jam.fresh strawberries, home made shortbread, baileys cheesecake and a square of Madeira cake with tea or coffee refills. And that was £7.50 per person. A must to visit as you can't get better service and food in a relaxing environment. Well done as I have been to a lot of afternoon teas in London,Surrey Berkshire and Hampshire, and yours exceeded them. I'm going to come for a Sunday roast next. Thank you all and looking forward to my return. My mother who I brought will be back on Saturday with her friends as she loved it :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had an excellent stay at Brooklands Grange. The room was large with plenty of space even with four big holdalls and a wardrobe full of clothes. The room was also clean and tidy. What made this stay for us was the staff, they were friendly and accommodating. They let us keep our luggage in a spare room for us, as we wanted to go into coventry to explore and didn't want our valuables on show. They also helped out with printing an email confirmation for tickets for an event. Nothing was too much trouble. The full english breakfast was very good, and the hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,351 reviews
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £34 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing