We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top value for money”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“top value for money”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

stayed for one night cheap enough for 40 pound and breakfast for two off us on arrival realised i booked a twin room so asked for a double and they swapped straight away no fuss. very helpfull lady on reception . room was nice evrything worked . piping hot water etc . would stay again had to leave early so didnt get chance to sample breakfast which i wanted to do . oh well maybe next time

Room Tip: get a room at the rear much better views ov the stream running by which is lit up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    123
    57
    34
    26
See reviews for
102
120
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

both enjoyed afternoon tea at the Brooklands Grange. We had a choice of freshly made sandwiches, home made scones with jam and clotted cream, and an array of cakes, a plentiful supply of tea, the waitress was absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble for her. We have had afternoon tea in various venues, but this one comes top for me, by far!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 9Elaine1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cov
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Not bad value as a 2 course Groupon deal, to include glass of wine. Starter (pate) fine, nice serving of lamb for main course. Would have welcomed more roast potatoes & mash. Generous serving of veg - carrots, beans, broccoli & was served piping hot. £4.95 for desert - pleasant but a bit overpriced. Service very good. Décor a little tired. Would have given a higher rating if there had been some atmosphere. Place attracts an older clientele.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just enjoyed afternoon tea at Brooklands Grange. We had freshly made sandwiches, home made scones with jam and clotted cream, and a lovely selection of cakes. We ate in the conservatory which has a lovely view onto a garden which is just being done up and will look even more attractive when the summer sunshine returns.

The staff at the hotel get an A+ for their attentiveness and friendliness. They were clearly enjoying meeting everyone that had come into the hotel for afternooon tea and their service was prompt and efficient. We were also impressed that staff in other parts of the hotel took time to acknowledge us in a friendly manner as we arrived at the hotel and when we left after our tea.. great customer service.

This hotel is building up its reputation following new ownership and we would recommend that people support the hotel to ensure that it remains a thriving restaurant and hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilyM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we bought a voucher off groupon for afternoon tea,lovely old nice looking hotel on main rd to Coventry,( Allesley)
We had tea in the conservatory overlooking a fountain and fields,the waitress was lovely very helpful,nothing to much trouble
Afternoon tea arrived on 3 tier stand,everything was very freshly made,the scones just out of oven smelt lovely and were,with clotted cream strawberry jam in a cute little pot not the small screw jars in chain hotels ,good choice of sandwiches and again freshly made variety of cakes the choc roll was wonderful
and china plates, teapot and cups etc ( slight niggle,dont like paper serviettes )
we have never been here before but intend to go back for evening meal and will pop in again when we go to Coventry has again its not wonderful for food in the town
toilets were very clean with proper blocks of soap plus paper towels
WELL DONE to all at Brooklands

Room Tip: only went for afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. We chose this hotel for its convenient location as we were at the NEC for an exhibition.
It is about 20 min drive away from NEC. Also there is a bus stop outside, which meant we could leave the car and take the bus into Coventry ( 15 mins) and also to Birmingham (55mins).

The hotel was very cheap (via Booking.com) and I feel that was probably because they have recently taken on the hotel and it is being renovated. The latter in no way affected our stay. They are obviously happy to have rooms occupied at this time.

The rooms were large and had plenty of storage - drawers and wardobe - trouser press-flat screen TV -comfortable bed. The ensuite was functional but certainly in need of modernisation.
We asked to change our room to one with a rear garden view and it was done with no problem.

We ate a bar meal one evening and as it was so quiet they layed it up in the dining room for us. The food was excellent and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view. Some rooms at the side overlook old stables and waste from refurbishement. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afartribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of 5th October for two nights. Had a single room which was clean and comfortable with good sized bathroom. Tea making facilities were a bonus and were replenished both days, as were clean towels and toiletries. Staff incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Excellent breakfast was included in the price too!. Added bonus is a good sized car park. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1960s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
506 reviews
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
557 reviews
5.0 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Property: The Jacobean Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing