We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!!”
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Jacobean Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked in July as a stop over to Southampton. The staff were very friendly and the garden amazing!!! the room was a little tired but great for the price. I know some rooms have been refurbished but we were happy. we spent a long time in the garden which had recently been done up and superb. Our daughter loved running up and down and looking at the horses- a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank razzlecroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for The Jacobean Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel was good value at £50 bed and breakfast. The room was clean and although the decor was a little dated it was very comfortable. We ate in the dining room and the food was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if visiting this area

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyloolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked this on the day and we got a real good deal including the freshly cooked breakfast. we have noticed a lot of upgrades to the hotel as we walk passed with our dog . the new garden & patio are amazing & we will be back there to enjoy a bottle of wine overlooking the smal stream if thay keep up the good work this place will be the place to be seen in Coventry thanks for a nice stay mick b

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The staff at Brooklands Grange are absolutely lovely!! Very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast was good with a decent variety of breakfast items available, both cooked and cold. One of our party was coeliac and they even provided gluten free toast. The bar area is a little weary looking and I'm afraid that our rooms were downstairs, to the left of reception and haven't been part of the renovations that seem to have occurred in other parts of the hotel. Unfortunately, our rooms were very jaded and looked dated and scruffy. An attempt has been made to keep them clean but because of the age of the decor etc they appeared scruffy and unkempt. It's location, a short taxi ride to the city centre but on the main road in makes it a convenient and easy to find location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annloubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for one night, The room was more than comfortable and was great value,
Breakfast was also good and the staff made us very welcome.The location is around a 15 minute walk to the city. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in May, on business in Coventry. Good comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, good quality pub-style food and good cooked breakfast.
The decor is definitely looking dated and the shower required anyone over 5' 6" to stoop! Not what I would call a destination for a romantic evening and stay over until it gets a good makeover but for someone in my situation, very good value and I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Franchisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On arrival first impressions were good. Luke told us that we needed the master key for our room as the previous guest left with it!.
Our room was dated, windows and curtains needed desperate repair. Bathroom was clean but the shower does not stay on the hook when showering!
The bed was very uncomfortable as were the pillows.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and I have to say the food was excellent - Paula is so helpful - she made the experience even better. Nothing was too much trouble. Paula is an asset to the hotel.
The breakfast was awful, the waitress was flustered and seemed to be serving the whole room on her own. The cutlery and crockery was dirty and the cooked breakfast was over cooked, my husband had eggshell in his fried egg. I asked for scrambled but got fried egg, we asked for brown toast but was given white. The breakfast needs to be better planned and cooked fresh.
From the outside the place looks fantastic but overall we were dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the recently refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costacov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
511 reviews
6.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,971 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.0 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
2.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
#10 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £35 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jacobean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing