We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 589 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out. Please check our website for open times of the Cafe & Restaurant and for up to date menus and events.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely home cooked carrabean food.
Ange and alph make you feel really welcome.
My mum raved on the salt fish and akee in a Yorkshire pud, I had the sweet corn fritters which where really tasty.

All the mains were delicious and flavoursome without being too spicy for my dad.

Best bit was the home made cakes. Although there is no uniform slicing so don't expect to have identical sized pieces. My dad would say the best bit was the bill, very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank firefairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Apologies for the delay, but many thanks for taking time out to write a review for our restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that your Mum enjoyed the Ackee & Saltfish (which is not to everyone's taste).

We hope to see you again sometime.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

What a gem this place is, great food, great prices and a trip down memory lane to boot! If you're ever in Coventry it's well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are so glad that you think our food is "Ace" and glad you enjoyed your trip down memory lane.

We do hope we will see you again in the future.

Angela, Alph & 2 Tone Village team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went here on 29th March 2014 for a friends birthday meal (12 of us). When she told me where she had booked, I was VERY apprehensive as although I live locally, the location of the restaurant did not appeal! However, I have to say, I was proved very wrong. It's nestled down a small alley way and although the restaurant is basic in it's decor, the food was amazing. There was some confusion over our order and they had to take our orders again but the food came out quickly after that. There was a lovely atmosphere and the prices are great value for money. I would go back. If you're going as a large group, I would strongly suggest you book and pre-order your food as there were a couple of things on the menu that they didn't have. If you fancy trying something different then this is a great 'no frills' option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

I am sorry we have taken so long to respond to your review, we do appreciate you taking time out to do a review, reviews are so important to us as feedback and to potential customers who may also be feeling apprehensive about visiting us..

We are glad that we exceeded your expectations but apologies for the confusion with some of the orders.

Once again thank you for your response, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Angela, Alph & Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I visited Simmer Down one Friday evening very recently. Well WOW.....what a hidden gem!! A lovely small intimate restaurant. The staff were great and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
The food was proper home cooked Caribbean food....my mum would have loved it (and that's testament in itself....as she is very particular about how Caribbean food should be cooked!!).
We had two courses, both having the Jerk Chicken for main, which we thoroughly enjoyed....we will be definitely be returning for the Curried Mutton!!! It was also very lovely to see the chef come into the restaurant to have a chat and laugh with the guests....and to get some first hand feedback....sign of a good restaurant.
I have noticed a few comments on TA about Simmer Down being more like a cafe than a restaurant, well, maybe it is...but does it really matter!! It's a great place to be....to eat great food...I would definitely recommend Simmer Down to all.
And finally....the warm ginger cake was to die for....!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LvhKfr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Sorry it has taken so long to respond to your review, we do believe that if people take time to write reviews then it is important that we take the time to thank them for doing so even if belatedly.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Jerk Chicken meals and the ginger cake! Perhaps one day we will get the chance to test our food on your Mum as well :)

We do hope to see you soon

Angela, Alph & Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

"Heat needs turning up at Simmer Down!!!" Not in terms of the spiciness of the food but in terms of the quality of the overall execution & delivery of the dishes & the efficiency of service! Wonderfully friendly service though, which was great, but not so good when it seems that they think they can trade that for timely-efficiency! Waiting over fifteen minutes for our initial drinks order & over forty five minutes for our main courses is way too long & simply unacceptable & no amount of smiling & good will or can ever compensate for that. The food was good, not great, just good & nothing extra special than what you'd expect from a take away service! It's a small, very intimate environment; not in terms of romantic but in terms of an environment not so very private from other diners & it's not the most stylish environment either but it seemed impeccably clean. We won't be dashing back anytime soon unless we learned of improvements.

2  Thank AMJACINTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Sorry it has taken so long to respond to your review, we thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our restaurant and sorry that you were less than happy, we try our best to please all our customers but admit that sometimes we get it wrong, so we apologies for your excessive waiting time, I can assure you that we do not think that we can trade friendly service for " for timely-efficiency". We are constantly looking for ways to improve our efficiency but with a small team and limited space it is difficult.

We do hope that your will give us another try one day.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing