We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch visit”

Le Gusta Oven and Bar
Ranked #187 of 584 Restaurants in Coventry
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch visit”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Visited Le Gusta at Sunday lunchtime. Very quiet and décor a bit understated - probably looks better in the evening and/or when busy. Pleasant staff. Starters and main courses were all good, but desserts a bit disappointing. Nothing bad to say, but wouldn't rush back either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    26
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just about average all over”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Three of us ate here before seeing a performance in the Arts Centre. A lasagne (good sized portion, reasonable flavour) a burger (red raw inside but that's not going to kill you - but we certainly didn't ask for it to be that rare), and a half of chicken (dull "hot and fiery" sauce - not much kick). Service was good. Price was a little over-price for the quality of the food. Would not rush back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Promising start - but poor customer service let it down!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Ate here on Saturday evening after watching a brass band competition in Butterworth Hall. Booked a table for 8pm, on arrival it was fairly busy but by no means full. Our drinks and starters arrived quite promptly, but our main course eventually arrived at about 9.15!! By then getting pretty hungry, one of the waitresses came over and apologised for the delay as they had a large party in who had all pre-booked pizzas and it was taking some time to cook them all! If she had told us this earlier on we would have been prepared for a longish wait, instead we just waited! We also noticed that there were no staff moving around the tables clearing plates, checking on customers etc.

When our meals arrived they were fine - and because we mentioned how long we had waited we had another round of drinks on the house and also were not charged for our starters, which did slightly makeup for the delay.

The restaurant itself is quirky and modern, a nice menu but the customer service let it down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsAquababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A visit to see a play at the University prompted us to try Le Gusta once again (as noted by a previous reviewer the other options on the University of Warwick campus are limited). The attraction of a new menu lured us in.

Whilst not busy for a Friday night the restaurant did have a bit of a buzz and there were a wide cross-section of people using the restaurant. if you like your restaurants stark and modern in feel then this is the place for you.

Previous concerns about service were quickly dispelled by our friendly and efficient waitress. Our orders were taken quickly and delivered promptly. As a result we had enough time to enjoy our meal and arrive in good time for the play. I'm hoping our previous experience was a one off.

The menu has something for everyone (the three of us last night are challenging in what we will and can eat!) and I have to say that we all enjoyed our mains - burger, aubergine parmagiano (hope that's correct) and steak and rioja casserole. This is not food that is going to win awards but the over-riding sense, based on what we ate last night, was that the food is wholesome and tasty and reasonable value for money.

So well done Le Gusta. You are back on the list of places we'll consider eating when next on campus.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Average food, poor service”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I work on campus at Warwick and although Le Gusta is probably the nicest place to eat, that doesn't really say much as the rest of the choices are generally poor.
The food is average for the price, although the chef managed to burn our garlic doughballs twice on one occassion, leaving us without food for 40 minutes, which made us worryingly late for the cinema (they were taken off the bill in the end though). In that case the staff were apologetic, but in most cases they are inattentive and sometimes just rude. I also get the impression they don't particularly want student diners and would prefer the theatre crowd, which isn't a good attitude to take when you are on a University campus!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gusta Oven and Bar also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Le Gusta Oven and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing