We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling customer service”
Review of BabyCakes Bistro - CLOSED

BabyCakes Bistro
Price range: US$6 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our menu is simple, and based on good old fashioned values. The coffee machine is a piece of history itself; up until we had it in our shop, it was in a coffee shop in Italy before being carefully driven over to the UK. The coffee that we serve is 75% Arabica bean, giving a strong intense hit but a smooth aftertaste.
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I really don't know what happened here. Our experience was shocking! The service was rude,curt and dismissive. I do wonder if, as per the other review rated 'poor' here, it was because we had a young child with us and these people simply do not like children. By the way, this was not an 'employee' but one of the men who run the establishment who made our party feel so unwelcome. It was clear that this was not merely the man's general disposition as he greeted all other customers in a warm and friendly manner. Such a shame as we had hoped to find the 'hidden gem' that others describe.The incongruous and characterless surroundings, we would gladly have overlooked. We did not even raise concern when a glance into the kitchen revealed a woman chopping prawns on a chopping board on the kitchen floor and picking up the bits that had fallen off the side and shoving them back onto the board!But this man's rude, surly demeanour was intolerable. THESE PEOPLE DO NOT DESERVE YOUR CUSTOM. AVOID AT ALL COSTS, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hopefulandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyCakesCoffee, Owner at BabyCakes Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. I am a bit concerned by some of the points in your review and will address them.

1)The service was rude,curt and dismissive. I do wonder if, as per the other review rated 'poor' here, it was because we had a young child with us and these people simply do not like children.
If remembered correctly you came for Thai night, our booking policy with all voucher deals is that you book 48 hours before intending to dine, via our website. You called up a few hours before and asked to have a table as early as possible. We did mention that it was Thai night. which starts at 5pm, and that we normally only accept bookings as per our booking policy. However as you were a first time diner and really seemed keen to try our food we accommodated your request and offered you a table.

When you arrived 3 of your party were late, you did not want anything to drink at all and said you would wait, when the rest of the table arrived they seemed a bit put off. We immediately went over and asked for drinks and tried to explain our menu and specials. We were then told that one of the party did not eat any "weird foreign food". Personally I find this statement offensive due to the fact that we have a Thai chef and staff of various nationalities working for us and we do not appreciate racism. He then insisted that we only prepare a BURGER with nothing on. I did state that our normal menu is not available as it is Thai night however would see if it was possible. We did accommodate you. The atmosphere at your table was quite tense and standoffish from your arrival, and due to the fact that you were not very chatty we respected your privacy and left you to dine. We did go over to your table at least 8 - 10 times during your meal to ask if you were enjoying your meal and if you required anything else. We were ignored on a few of those occasions so stated if you require anything to please call us over. We were not called over. I even tried to mention our rebook offer but was rebuffed due to no interest.

You seemed to enjoy your meal as plates were empty, our kitchen manager also went to your table to ask if you enjoyed your meal and was told that it was lovely. He did try to explain our 'monkey gland' sauce which is a spicy vegetarian steak sauce but you ignored him and googled it instead. He was also confused as you were a table of 5 but there only ever seemed to be 3 people as 2 of the party were walking outside the shop which seemed a bit strange. We also could not accommodate a pre-booked table due to the fact that your party had extended their chairs so far out that it was not possible to get around them. But we reseated the table even though they had booked that specific table.

We also went over to offer dessert and coffee but were told why would we spoil our evening with drinking coffee when there was beer to be drunk. And that you were off to a local pub, thats why you needed to eat so early.

2)We did not even raise concern when a glance into the kitchen revealed a woman chopping prawns on a chopping board on the kitchen floor and picking up the bits that had fallen off the side and shoving them back onto the board!

As we are a fish free restaurant this could not have been possible, so Im not quite sure what you could have seen from the front of the restaurant all the way back into the kitchen through our door curtain screen. However we have taken your feedback very seriously and have trained all staff members on healthy and safety procedures.


3)THESE PEOPLE DO NOT DESERVE YOUR CUSTOM. AVOID AT ALL COSTS, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN!

Im not quite sure what you mean about not being children friendly, since our last review we have removed all decorations that may have caused danger including our gift shop to accommodate diners with children. We always tried to bring childrens meals out first and in fact have a childrens menu. We have many customers who come and visit with children so Im not quite sure what you were expecting from a small restaurant; we do not have a play area as this is not possible with the size of our establishment.

On this occasion we have failed to meet your requirements. We do apologise, however due to a number of factors out of our control I do not feel that your review is both fair or honest. But I do take it very seriously and as mentioned have initiated training and told all staff to not accept any bookings that are outside of our booking policy for vouchers who have to book 48 hours before.

We welcome you to come back and maybe under different circumstances with experience the wonderful BabyCakes atmosphere and friendliness that we are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited this little coffee shop today, with my husband and daughter. What a hidden Gem! Lovely interior with a homely feel. The food is extremely well priced and nearly all home made i.e. home made 100% Beef Burger and fries for £3.95! The coffee is one of the nicest I've had and a fraction of the price of somewhere like starbucks. We ordered a home made pizza which was YUMMY - it had top quality ingredients including Feta Cheese and fresh home made spinach dressing. Our daughter had pink lemonade served alongside a scrumptious chocolate and raspberry tart. Everyone was very friendly and the service was prompt and polite. We especially enjoyed talking to the owners mother who was helping to serve - she was adorable and was extremely attentive to our needs, making sure that we were happy with our food etc. If you are driving through coventry or live locally it is definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyCakesCoffee, Manager at BabyCakes Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback. We always love hearing from our customers. We are so please that you love our 100% beef burgers. We take a lot of time perfecting our recipes and we are glad that we did a good job, especially when it comes to being compared to our competition. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We visited Babycakes for afternoon tea on a Groupon. After a little difficulty finding it (beware; there are multiple misleading Bennetts Road North signs) we were welcomed by Donovan and his team and given a comprehnsive introduction to what was on offer.
Lovely sandwiches, with delicious home-made bread and locally-sourced fillings followed, together with a a good selection of tea, with proper teapots. Then came the cakes and obligatory scones, followed by great puds (lemon meringue, etc etc).
The decor is appropraiaely 60s cafe, with check tablecloths and relaxing music, with nice things on sale like Fentemans drimks and Nakd bars.
A welcome adition to the Coventry scene, long may they prsper!
All in all, super quality and great service, and we met the delightful Dang, apparently a talented Thai chef who cooks there on Friday evenings. Guess where we'll be going on Friday?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyCakesCoffee, Manager at BabyCakes Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We always love feedback, as it helps us in better serving YOU our customer. Sadly the 60's decor is going but we are sure you will like the new Bistro style we are cultivating. So come and have a look. We are so glad that you like the Sicilian Lemon Meringue. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Went with a Groupon offer, took my mum and 2 sisters.
We loved the choice of drinks.
Friendly staff and service.
Me and mum don't like mustard but it wasn't a problem as our sandwiches were made to order.
The freshly baked on site bread, scones and cakes are to die for.
We will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sonianairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyCakesCoffee, Manager at BabyCakes Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thanks you for your review. We are so glad that we were able to accommodate your requirements.

We tend to make the sandwiches to order so we can offer some reasonable adaptations. But also so that our customers get that just made taste. Glad you enjoyed.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I visited BabyCakes this afternoon with mum - having book this offer through Amazon vouchers I didn't know what to expect.

Wow what a surprise we had, the food/drinks were wonderful and fresh and so plentiful we couldn't eat it all. The scones are very yum yum too!

The hospitality was brilliant and the owner is very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble to make our visit to BabyCakes a pleasant one. We shall defiantly be returning for more coffee and cakes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyCakesCoffee, Owner at BabyCakes Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are so happy to read that we ticked all the boxes and that we made you feel welcome. We really do like all our customers to feel welcome, we seem to have have achieved that, yay.

We try our utmost to ensure we provide the best quality offering for all our afternoon teas, we bakes almost all our pies tarts and bread onsite, so I am glad you enjoyed.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BabyCakes Bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing