We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hidden Gem”

The Coventry Music Museum
Ranked #2 of 73 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I had been meaning to visit for a while now but just could never find the time! Well we finally made it there today, and boy was it worth it! We had a drink and something to eat in the 2Tone Cafe then had a mooch round the few shops that are there and finally coming to the museum. £2 entry each is a bargain and although rather compact you can easily spend a couple of hours if you took the time to read everything! The volunteers there are very engaging and obviously passionate about what they do! We had a great time looking round and chatting to people and the 2Tone bedroom is terrific, my wife and I comparing what we had in our bedrooms when we were teenagers! It was like a trip down memory lane for me!
There is a strong community feel about the whole 2Tone Village experience, people are welcoming and friendly and they should be so proud of what they have achieved. This is something unique to Coventry, you simple MUST make the time to visit, you won't be disappointed. My wife and I will definitely be returning!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godiva12, Director Curator at The Coventry Music Museum, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks SO much for an amazing review. Its so well written, and the later paragraph, is just hat we are aiming at. Hope to see you again soon. Best Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    41
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, France
2 reviews
“Awesome !”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Coventry Music Museum is made with love, music and culture. We could spend hours looking at the wall, there's so much to look at ! You learn with delightment, if you are already in the musical field it's a pleasure and if you're not you will still spend a very nice moment that you'll never forget.
Thank you for your warm welcome !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cécile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godiva12, Director Curator at The Coventry Music Museum, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Wow love your great words, yes the museum is made with love, well spotted. See you again. pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Skank-Tastic”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We'd been to see Paul Weller in Cannock and planned a detour to the 2 Tone Village on the way home - we were not disappointed, breakfast in the Cafe, fantastic food and fantastic value. The shops were good, full of things we could buy! The museum itself was well worth the £2 entrance fee if only to see the bedroom exhibit, could have spent much more time here just picking out what we all had in our rooms back in the day. All the volunteers were helpful and friendly, we had a fantastic time reliving a grim time in English history.. if we lived closer we'd be there every weekend! A big thumbs up from three Rudies.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkylarkExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godiva12, Director Curator at The Coventry Music Museum, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed the museum, and especially our Rude Boys bedroom. Great to hear our Volunteers are doing a good job. Many Thanks...Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
“Dave Willetts”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My sister and I had never been to the museum before and came to hear Dave Willetts speak and play. We stayed to look around and were pleasantly surprised at how much there is to see. All very interesting. Afterwards we went for a snack in the cafe. Again, very nice with lovely staff. We will certainly return in the future.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DotTrailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godiva12, Director Curator at The Coventry Music Museum, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
.

So glad you enjoyed Dave Willetts ( good wasn't he).. And so pleased you stayed and looked at our museum. See you again.Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"The place to go in Coventry"”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a great time at the museum. Lots of 2-tone memorabillia The Specials,Selecter ,The Beat ,Madness . Knowledgable staff, Also lots of other exhibits from the Coventry music scene .
There is also a 2-tone shop with various items of clothing and shoes . There is an great memoribilia shop , which a few items were purchased !! The museum is a hidden jewel in Coventry and everybody should go and take a look if you are in the area !!!! Also recommend The 2-Tone cafe !!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godiva12, Director Curator at The Coventry Music Museum, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Really great to welcome you and thanks so much for your top review, glad you liked the shops & cafe we have at The Village too. See you again we hope Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coventry Music Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Coventry Music Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing