We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A horrific experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A horrific experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Unhelp staff, disgusting rooms. If you book a double room you will not get one! AVOID at all costs if you are looking for a clean room, with a window and a decent nights sleep (not too much to ask from a hotel surely?!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Natasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    297
    153
    51
    49
See reviews for
180
212
21
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My stay was very good and made all the better by being allocated a suite on arrival (nice surprise). The gymnasium is very well equipped and swimming facilities are excellent. Food in the bar was good but service could have been better when as the barman was slightly stressed, and it was evident. Breakfast was standard but plentiful if required. Not my first stay but on each occasion it has been equally as good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having had a wonderful stay with my sister and friends in June, I decided to treat my daughter & daughter in law for a Spa weekend. The Spa treatment from Rachel was wonderful, my daughter in law said it was the best back massage she has had and my facial was wonderful. The restaurant staff were brilliant, so friendly. A special thank you to Robert Ellis who went out of his way at dinner and breakfast to make sure we had a lovely meal. All the courses we chose were fantastic and tasty and well presented. We had a comfortable night and despite being in the outer buildings near the A45 we slept soundly ( which is unusual for my daughter and I) we shall definitely be returning and cannot wait. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building as it was a stormy night we got a bit cold going from our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had stayed at this Hotel on many occasions for the past 2 to 3 years. All staff are extremely professional and the hotel has many redeeming features. The accommodation is comfortable, well furnished and very clean.

The facilities offered are very good although I have not been able to partake of them all.

The sports and leisure facilities offer a varied range of pursuits which appear to be well subscribed to by other guests.

As a regular visitor to this hotel I would like to see the menu changed on a more regular basis. When staying for two to three weeks consecutively the choice of options available on the menu is limited.

Check in and check out procedures are always handled smoothly and any discrepancies dealt with immediately and without any fuss.

The delegates who attend the electrical engineering training courses I am responsible for conducting also frequently stay at this hotel and comment sheets completed by them always provide positive reviews related to this hotels accommodation and food.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms close to the restaurant and those out of the main hotel complex. There are a numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFB293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

5 of us stayed here for the weekend in the Carnoustie lodges, we could not really find fault with anything. We had two meals and two breakfasts, the food was delicious, the staff especially Rob (who was new to the hotel), Alex and Kelly were very hard working and attentive. We had two SPA treatments which were also superb from Rachel and Lauren. Only suggestion could be to have a walking route along the edge of the golf course for non golfers to enjoy the scenery.

Room Tip: It is close to a busy road, upgrade to executive for only a few pounds, booking through golf and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A large party of us went for 4 days to mark a friends landmark birthday. Although initially a little disorganised with a lack of communication from the front desk to the bar and restaurant (a pre-order dinner menu wasn't provided for our first night and considering we were a very large party this caused huge difficulty for the restaurant staff and kept us waiting for food for some considerable time) they coped brilliantly and were professional, warm and friendly throughout. A real baptism of fire for the wonderful restaurant manager who it turns out had only been in the job a week! The food was wonderful, the atmosphere friendly and generally a good time was had by all. I would love to return here soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for a conference, booked two rooms only to be asked to share as one was 'soiled'.Needless to say we refused as booking was made five months in advance so should have been prepared. Bar food and staff where lovely however the restaurant was awful, meal was booked for 7.30pm at 22.30pm we were still waiting for dessert! Housekeeping left my room door wide open all day for all and sundry to enter(rooms where allocated outside the main hotel), shower was freezing and plumber claimed tank was empty!

Tea making facilities inadequate,kettle was faulty, stopped using it for fear of electrocution.

Would not stay here again and extremely disappointed especially as other Best Western Hotels have always been superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments and I do apologise for your dissapointment concrning your stay, I can assure you we are taking your comments on board and and I will ensure these are looked at and acted upon to ensure improvements are made.

Here at our Hotel we are always striving to ensure we always deliver our best service so again I am sorry we have let you down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
7.3 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#8 Family Hotel in Coventry
#11 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the most luxurious rooms available for weekend breaks and business stays in the Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC area. Unlike most luxury hotels we also boast golf courses, a health club and a leisure club. You will find that unlike most hotels you will have the opportunity to relax, play sport and dine in fine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel Golf And Leisure Club
Windmill Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing