We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misled by Staff - No special wedding package on Saturdays - told to pay over a £1000 more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My family and I have visited this hotel over a number of occasions to book my daughter's wedding reception for May 2015. We discussed the Special Offer package of £2995 with them at length, making notes of what was included. I was very pleased with the deal as it came just inside our budget. We called the hotel to arrange a day to pay the deposit and found that the Events Manager was no longer there. To our horror we were told by her replacement that the offer is not valid for our booking as it is a saturday wedding and it was going to cost over a thousand pounds more. We assured the General Manager that we had visited the hotel on a number of occasions and had discussed the package with the former Events Manager in great depth and that an error had been made by their staff. Our budget did not extend to this amount and we would not have kept re-visiting the hotel if it was that expensive. The hotel will not honour the special offer price and, therefore, we have decided to go elsewhere. They have asked for written proof which we do not have. We are furious at the shambolic handling of the situation and have lost faith in their ability to manage our daughter's wedding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here 31st Jan and stayed in room 203 which has lovely views over the golf course, the room was clean spacious and well appointed with tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and the usual super comfy Best Western beds.

There is a nice swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa, we had a look but didn't use them.

We ate in the bar and my food was ok but the miss`s said her lamb burger was tasteless (and it was, I tried it). Breakfast was cook to order and was very nice, there was also a continental selection with cereals, fruit, toast pastries etc.

All in all it is a nice 4* star hotel and we would definitely stay here again, oh and the staff are very friendly and look after you.

Room Tip: Our room 203 was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

I would like to thank you for your review it is great to see you enjoyed your stay, your comments will be passed through to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here in January, the hotel is clean & tidy, spacious rooms warm and ours had a golf course view, swimming pool and sauna/steam room are fine.
The bar is not that cheap but when in a hotel you expect to pay more, the Australian couple who help run the bar are great crack, make you feel at home.
The breakfasts are spot on, if busy its self service but on quiet mornings its made to order, quickly too.
The Cellar bar food was average, blooming huge lump of pate and 3 slices of wafer thin cardboard to accompany it, first time I have ever had mash n salad! I swapped the chips for mash with my pie, they did this but still put salad on it too, clearly a alleged chef who aint got a clue, common sence says swap salad for pea's or offer some veg! no salad great stuff NOT
Only other down side was one of the receptionists, she was a bit offish with me when I raised an issue, but the other Girls were lovely.
Its a business mans stop over mainly

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weardalelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

I would like to thank you for your comments these will be passed through to the team it is great to see you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sunday lunch at The windmill Village isn't for the faint hearted! This is one popular place, absolutely packed with families making the most of the Carvery.

The restaurant is large, airy and with windows on two sides. On an unseasonably warm, sunny January afternoon the sun was clearly a problem for lots of diners, who sat with shaded eyes Nd bright red faces, some even having to move tables to escape the rays. There are no curtains or blinds, so if you hate the sun, take a hat and sunnies.

The place is saved from complete chaos by Rob Ellis, the restaurant manager. He was fighting a losing battle though, with just four staff to service more than 120 covers. He is a major asset; warm, attentive, hard working and with a keen sense of how service should be, but he just didn't have enough staff to help him deliver. The ones he had were great, he just needed twice as many.

The food is good quality; my pan fried salmon was hot, fresh and nicely judged, and the vegetables at the Carvery were surprisingly good quality. Normally these places serve limp, tepid, tasteless mush, but dishes such as cauliflower cheese and plain carrots were fresh, very hot and really good. We shared a lemon tart for dessert; good and tart, and although the pastry was a bit soggy it was very palatable.

The wine list is very acceptable, reasonably priced with a good choice of inexpensive to special. It's not a massive list, but there's something for everyone. There's also a good choice of beers.

The young staff are friendly and eager to please, there just aren't enough of them. Double your staff on a Sunday and the picture would be a whole lot different.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I would like to thank you for your comments concerning Sunday lunch I can assure you this will be passed through to Rob and his team, it is great to read you enjoyed your meal and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year during a business visit. Stayed for two nights and went to NEC Birmingham which is an easy drive from the hotel. To be fair, it's a clean and tidy hotel. But there is nothing more special other than the nice green area for golfers. Food and service is average as well.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the main building rather than the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank percan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I would like to thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay, your feedback is most welcome and will be used to ensure we take our Hotel forward in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank BigEM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,475 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
7.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,061 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#19 of 39 in Coventry
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#6 Family Hotel in Coventry
#11 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £40 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the most luxurious rooms available for weekend breaks and business stays in the Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC area. Unlike most luxury hotels we also boast golf courses, a health club and a leisure club. You will find that unlike most hotels you will have the opportunity to relax, play sport and dine in fine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel Golf And Leisure Club
Windmill Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing