We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Interesting to read LMP2014's comments, as we were a party of six who, I think, were the golfers who asked her husband to join us on the golf course. Our wives enjoyed their respective treatments and we enjoyed the golf. Our package was inclusive of food, accommodation, spa treatments and the two rounds of golf. To that end we thought it good value; however I must agree wholeheartedly with LMP2014 with regard to the flux of having two weddings at the same time and the almost chaotic scenes in the Cellar Bar. There was clearly a lack of management control and, what appeared to be, an acute lack of staff to cater for the guests. Whilst the accommodation was comfortable and clean, the food was grossly overpriced and certainly not good enough to warrant those sort of prices. The staff were not particularly welcoming and obviously feeling the strain of having to cater for two wedding parties plus hotel guests. Would I return? Probably not.

Room Tip: Hard to say. If there are functions ongoing you'd be better off in one of the chalet rooms away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickyl351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for two nights on business. Nice big room (4-poster no less), facing onto main road but wasn't too noisy. Had to do a bit of searching to find where to plug in the full-sized kettle. Would be great to have more sockets for charging phones etc right next to bed. Nice towels.
Breakfast was a standard buffet - unimaginative but very nicely cooked.
Best feature was the large indoor pool. Evening meal well cooked but standard. Lots of places to sit for informal meetings, with character. Lots of parking. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank BridgetB473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I booked a one-night stay which included two rounds of golf for him, 3-course dinner and breakfast. The facilities overall were of a good standard; rooms clean and tidy if not a little dated, well equipped gym, good breakfast selection, golf course well maintained and all the golfers very friendly - my husband was invited to join members opposed to going round on his own.

The negatives: there were 2 weddings taking place in the function rooms, not an issue until it came to the couple of hours between the wedding breakfast finishing and the evening reception starting. The wedding guests have no where to go apart from the Cellar bar, which is the only bar in the hotel; the function rooms have their own bar. You do not expect to have to wait 40 mins to get served a drink whilst the bar staff (of which there were only 2) are pouring trays of shots at 7pm!! Why any Bride would wish to share part of her evening in a bar that is more like a Sports bar with golfers sat watching football I really don't know. We eventually went for dinner in the Fairways restaurant. Most of the staff were very friendly until it came to the serving of our meals - the young lad that served our table appeared to have received no training in the art of waitering on. The starters were very nice but the mains were very disappointing. My husband ordered sirloin steak (you have to pay an additional £5.00 for the steak) the main meal is then close to £30. You therefore do not expect to be given poor quality meat or for it to be over cooked! Medium rare it was not and was as tough as old boots, served with tomatoes on the vine and 3 thick rectangular chips. As the waitering staff did not come and ask if our meal was ok, we had to go and find them. Eventually another steak was delivered, it was certainly a better cut of meat but it was still not cooked to the request of medium rare. We asked to see the restaurant manager but were told that he was on holiday, so we asked to see the duty manager but were told that they had gone home!!! There were 2 weddings going on and plenty of other guests staying in the hotel yet there was no manager around!! Desserts were pretty poor: cheese and biscuits were served with stringy celery, cheese that had started to turn and looked as though it had all been just thrown on the plate, chocolate torte tasted as though it had been made a few days ago.

The cellar bar has a bar menu but the prices are ridiculous. We spoke to golfers who are members who said that they play golf and then go to a pub just down the road. There is a seating area outside but the floor is full of cigarette ends but seeing as there is no where for the ends to be put, the floor is the only option.

This is not a hotel that we shall be returning to or recommending.

Room Tip: Request to be away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The superior room we stayed in was lovely and the views were gorgeous, even if it was part of the golf course. The food was very nice and fancy, it was like Hannibal had cooked my main due to the presentation and my face must have been a picture as the waitress was very worried that something was wrong with it. There were 2 large parties in the restaurant with us but this did not slow the service or quality down, we were charged for some drinks we never had but it was rectified without question. Spa area was gr8, no water machine though. The only other disappointment was the reception staff not being very welcoming or informative.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seirian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

stayed here in June for one night with the other half very good first impressions plenty of spaces to park car. Receptionist friendly no problem checking in, room pleasant clean well maintained bathroom, traditional style room (which I was expecting) beautiful views of golf course (if you are staying here you must may a little bit extra to see these views otherwise you get a view of car park) sun came out just as we arrived. Decided to have a drink overlooking our stunning view. found the tea tray under the tv hidden away (bit odd) and only one pack of biscuits between us both and a dirty glass so a quick call to reception and within two mins a fresh glass and two more packs arrived (no problem at all). Flatscreen TV, plenty of space for clothes and bed was huge. Only downside to the room was a black mark on bedside lamp and radiator had marks all over which I am sure can be easily rectified. Pool, Steam room and sauna all pleasant but found the jacuzzi too cold. Plus be aware no showers in ladies changing rooms just have to use one by poolside. We stayed for the curry and comedy in pickford suite which was very nice at £15 pp would recommend..although I would suggest the hotel invests in a card machine for payment of drinks it is 2014 !. Breakfast was super plenty of choice and pleasant staff all round. Check out east and efficient. Only downside was that we were above a loud party of ladies still partying at 2am but that's one thing you cant predict by choosing a venue or room. Will be returning soon enjoyed it overall.
Price of double superior room with breakfast £90 laterooms..

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a room with the golf course room and the rooms on ground floor had outside ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayheyhey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked this package as part of Goflbreaks.com, there was 6 of us in total going. We wanted a holiday entirely to play golf and get drunk. The total price of the holiday was about £1200 (not worth it to be honest). As part of the package, we got 3 rounds of golf, 2 nights in the hotel, breakfast and a 3 course dinner. (Remember the 3 course bit, it's important later).

We arrived at the hotel, and it looked nice. The parking was excellent, and it looked quite nice. We weren't able to check in as it was before 2pm, so we played a round of golf and left our gear in the car.

During the first round of golf, a member of staff approached us on the 13th hole, saying that they'd had complaints of us driving our buggies on the tees, even though on hole 10, this was the only way to go! We apologies and finished the game of golf.

After the golf we went in the pool, which was nice, quiet and well maintained. Then it was time for dinner. This was the worst bit of the trip. All of the menu was too posh, and none of us liked the sound of anything. As nobody had a starter or dessert, even though it was included (that bit is important), we decided to order 2 bowls of chips (£2.50 sides) to accompany our appalling mains. When we had finished our main, we got up to leave and go to the bar. (The England game was just about to kick off, and they took a long time with our meal, we were frightened of missing it). At which point, the waitress handed us a bill for £5 for the chips, even tough none of us had a starter or dessert, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS INCLUDED! Bare in mind that the starters were priced at about £15 each, so the cheek for them to charge us £5 for some chips (which weren't even nice)!.

The following day we played our round of golf, and got yet another complaint! This time for slow play, even though we were right behind the people behind us, and managed 10 holes in 2 hours (that's quick)! So we decided to take even longer and not let anyone pass, just because we paid £1200 for the holiday and wanted to enjoy it!!

Later that evening we found out we could have a meal from the bar menu, which was also included. This was much much better than the meal the previous evening. We just wish we had been told about this the night before!

The rooms were very outdated, no fridge and very, very thin walls. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, so much in fact, 2 of us could not play the 3rd round of golf, due to injuries caused by the beds!

Overall, it was not an enjoyable stay, except for the breakfast, course and the pool. The complaints, dinner and beds let the stay down, which is why we will not be returning next year.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have not the best record when booking a hotel for a quick getaway however on this occasion
I scored big time.
Late rooms offered a wide range of hotels in the Birmingham area but as we were goint to be late arrivals we opted for for Widmill as it was listed as easy to find and indeed that was the case.
The Hotel has an atractive exterior and a pleasant interior.
The Greeting was warm and friendly and the room was modern, lovely and spacious, clean and very comfortable with all the facilities you should expect from a 4*AA listing.
The room looked out over the Golf course which in itself looked challenging and very well kept so next time I will bring the clubs)
We were welcomed to the downstairs informal Bar Resteraunt and had an excellent supper of home made Burger and Grilled fish with a very decent house wine,Footbal was on in every corner but one where you could hide from it if you wanted to.
A great nights sleep infact we overslept due to the balckout curtains being so effective.
Dash up to the Resteraunt to breakfast but we neednt have worried as the welcome was as the reception.The Breakfast room was bright and airy with great views over the Golf Course,
the young lady took our cooked breakfast order then we helped ourseves to the cereals and made toast .Our eggs and bacon came after a while and to our delight all the items were the best of quality, fresh cooked and beautifully presented. The coffee was great.
We will return to the Widmill and enjoy more of the facilities next time.
It only took about 15 minutes to get to the NEC where we had a great day at Gardeners World Live & the Food Show ,so all in all a very pleasurable experience thanks to theWindmill village Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Golf Course as they are quieter and also sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,475 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
7.4 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,061 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#19 of 39 in Coventry
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#6 Family Hotel in Coventry
#11 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £40 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the most luxurious rooms available for weekend breaks and business stays in the Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC area. Unlike most luxury hotels we also boast golf courses, a health club and a leisure club. You will find that unlike most hotels you will have the opportunity to relax, play sport and dine in fine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel Golf And Leisure Club
Windmill Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing