We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good rooms and tasty breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good rooms and tasty breakfast”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel Is in a fair location- opposite some handy shops so makes late arrival ok for getting take away food after the restaurant service stops in hotel. I came by train so it was a quick taxi to the hotel.
I had a great corner room - very luxurious and quiet. The bathroom was big and clean and the bed was comfortable.
The restuarant area for breakfast was spacious and afforded peace and privacy.
Food was tasty - although sausages not great quality and not all bread choices were plentiful when I popped down for breakfast at 9.00.
Overall an efficient, clean and good quality hotel. No steps to tackle at entrance.
A surprising experience - I expected a lesser quality room.

Room Tip: See if a orner room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    450
    247
    79
    28
See reviews for
84
245
73
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Well, Coventry is an odd place. Seems very quiet these days - where are the people? We were there by necessity for a Coldplay concert. The lady who greeted us was so very friendly - Michelle. So chatty and so helpful - five stars to her for starters. Ramada Managers - give her a bonus!!!! She even checked us in early which is great and so helpful and was genuinely concerned to help us get a taxi to our concert venue. We stayed in room 1208 which was a studio. Reckon it had been smoked in some time ago and made into non smoking room. That being said, we had great views and it was quiet apart from a little road noise.

Double shower was great and we slept really well. Parking was in an adjacent parking garage for the hotel. Looked very grim but my lovely Audi survived the night and basically, it was secure and you didn't feel like there was any trouble in Coventry.

Minor moan - no safe in room but safety deposit boxes in reception.

Breakfast looked a bit overcooked but I know that keeping cooked breakfast going on a hotplate is difficult. We opted for cereal anyway since we are watching our waistlines.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again and the price was bang on at £115 inc breakfast.

Room Tip: As high as you can!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

First room slightly smokey and the TV picture was shocking - second room had no working TV and clear lift noise, third room had the crap picture and lift noise - gave up and stayed with it. The dinner in the hotel was booked by my MD - I never eat in my hotel - I have to say the food was excellent - Italian menu but great portion and ingredients- slow drinks service though - we even went back the second night. Plenty of cheaper places within 100 yards (yeh really) Parking is in the 50's russian built car park beside the hotel or on street - 2 hour max after 8am on single yellows.

Room was clean and comfortable - bathroom seemed to pick up smoke from the smoking rooms or floor - slight but there - air con but no opening windows.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slipstream222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlemere
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My company takes around 40 rooms for a week a year here and we stayed recently during an international event. Each year there have been good points and bad points and this year was no different despite raising the same concerns each year. Fortunately the service from a small number of long-term staff makes it a reasonable stay.

Firstly the bad points-why leave a new barman alone on duty who cannot manage to charge drinks and food to rooms, accusing the visitors of not having registered their credit cards at reception? Also, waiting 5+ minutes to be served and then having mistakes on the bills isn't professional-arguing with guests isn't either.

The rooms-after having complained that the LAN in-room wasn't even connected last year we were told there was now a free wireless service which worked would work fine. There was, but it constantly maxxed out with 'too many subscribers' and we often couldn't connect or there was no bandwidth available. Reception said it was unusual to have so many people using the Internet-hardly a good excuse. We were also told that the rooms had recently been refurbished. They had, but there were problems with the showers and basin taps-on the 3rd and 4th floors the noise of the water pressure in the showers not working properly woke us way too early-the answer was 'we know, there's a problem and we're looking into it.'. We then had a number of problems with aircon not working, again answered in reception with a 'we know, but there is a heater in the room if you're cold.'. There were no fans when it was too warm.

The lifts-try to stay on a lower floor as the lifts can take up to 10 minutes to get picked up from a higher floor and they are often full. Walk down the stairs if possible.

The good points-the head barman and Patricia on reception were great as usual and our evening event late in the week was really well accommodated. That, along with good prices for the food, drink and rooms makes it a location we keep coming back to. It's just frustrating that they can't get the small details right.

Room Tip: Go for a low floor at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relax_calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a gem in an oasis so don't be put off by the surrounding area or not to clean carpark (£4.50 per night) the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was a good size and clean and on our arrival we were upgraded to a suite because they had one free, the restaurant food was tasty and not stupidly priced although it was mainly Italian food. Breakfast was excellent with real coffee and either a fry up or an excellent cold buffet. I would certainly go back there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is near a main road and has twelve floors so ask for one near the top if you need it to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 736W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Shaw_Ram, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your nice review, we were very pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay, and indeed we too think the suites and quality of food we provide are second to none in coventry.

Drop us a line when your next coming to stay and we will do our best to offer you one of our upgrade rooms.

Additionally when you visit us next we very much hope to have launched our new restaurant and breakfast menus, take advantage of our loyalty programme and you can get discounts and upgrades as part of the programmne.

We looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards
Mike Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Business trip for me........ so few good hotels, this is a gem though. Easy to find and park - staff that are so friendly and helpful. I had a suite that was bigger than many 1 bedroom flats - I can relax here - the views from the higher floors are really nice too - can see loads. Highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite and enjoy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huxley43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Shaw_Ram, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hi Huxley 43,

We are sorry very happy that you have chosen our hotel for your recent business trip to coventry, and that we were able to offer you one of our unrivalled suites.

Im sure as a regular guest if you keep my reception team informed of your stays - subject to availability we could offer you upgraded accomodation when you next come to coventry.

We very much look forwarded to seeing you again.

Best regards
Mike Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Is a chain which is well run with good friendly staff. Reasonably efficient and atmosphere is good. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serviceisessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Shaw_Ram, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hi,
Thankyou for your review Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we are proud of the service we provide to all our guests, a clean, efficiently run hotel with a home from home atmosphere is all that any GM could want from there hotel and team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Mike Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,238 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
478 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,921 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry

Property: Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Address: Butts | Earlson, Coventry CV1 3GG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#12 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our award winning* Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry.Choose the contemporary four star Ramada Hotel & Suites for home from home luxury in the centre of historic Coventry and Warwickshire. The Hotel is situated just a short 10-minute walk from Coventry rail station, and with flights landing just 11 miles away at Birmingham Airport, you are just a short journey away to perfect relaxation. We're a perfect location to host meetings and events, centrally located with excellent motorway links and 1 hour from London by train. We can cater for up to 100 people in our 4 bright and modern meeting rooms, all fully air conditioned with complimentary wireless internet access. With 166 bedrooms, 44 executive apartment suites & a secure four storey car park available, complimented by our award winning* onsite sustainable Restaurant - 'Stresa', we are the hotel of choice for both business & leisure guests alike. Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry, is located closer to Birmingham's NEC & LG arena than Birmingham City & within a 40 minute drive radius away from the historic towns of Birmingham, Tamworth, Kenilworth, Leamington-Spa, Warwick, Stratford-Upon-Avon and Oxford.* Awards: 2008 Godiva Award Best Hotel, 2011 & 2012 Customer loyalty Award (Wyndham Hotel Group), 2012 Quality breakfast award (Visit Britain), 2016 Gold 2 star champion sustainability award (Sustainable Restaurant Association). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Suites Coventry
Ramada Coventry
Coventry Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing