We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Horrors!!”
Review of Bubbenhall House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bubbenhall House
Ranked #12 of 25 Coventry B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“House of Horrors!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

On the plus side, very impressed with the location, driveway and building all of which are imposing and beautiful. Wendy gave us a very warm welcome (roaring fire in the hall) and was very hospitable and helpful, recommending places to eat etc. My room was very spacious and well equipped, the bed was very comfy, and the sheets were clean and crisp, pillows comfy etc - slept well.
On the down side the smell of animals, and stale cigaretes was very strong. (cat and dogs clearly allowed to roam everywhere). Grubby throughout is a polite term I would use. Pet hair everywhere, you are walking it into your bathroom from the carpets which were dirty. Aside from a sink full of pet hair, a dirty toilet and pet hair stuck to the smelly flannels and towels (always take your own)! My en-suite was quite clean! In my room there was a thick black line of dirt on the picture rails and the beautiful views were obscured by the very filthy windows - such a shame.
The real horror was the dining room!!! Had a quick look in the dining room mid evening just to check out where it was for the morning, popped the light on walked in and both myself and my colleague walked in some dog feaces..ugh! Having sorted out that scenario had a look at the dining tables, still in a state of shock we turned to find the tables had been set for breakfast. The table cloths presented numerous stains and crumbs, the crockery and cutlery were also dirty, even the folded napkins were stained. The salt and pepper pots were covered in long established dirt (just as I always imagine a truckers cafe to be?..sorry truckers Cafe!!). The thought of eating in there turned my stomach, and goodness knows what state the kitchen must be in, I didnt dare look although the gimpse I got from walking past the window on my way to the front door earlier gave me a pretty good indication. Upon departure we expalined to Wendy why we were unable to stay for breakfast and she was appologetic, and offered us some fruit which was kind. But really Wendy, you need to raise your game, new crockery and tablewear, restrict your pets from public areas (plus the kitchen!) and employ a team of cleaners to come in and help you deep clean your beautiful home!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveJohnsonMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubbenhallHouse, Owner at Bubbenhall House, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
I would point out that at the end of October we had a full environmental health inspection and received 5 stars, they actually were in the kitchen, the fridge, the cookers etc not making a strange assumption from the driveway. Regarding smoking, it was one of your party that was smoking in our porch we have not had a smoking guest since 27 Oct who stays with us a few times a year and always smokes outside. We had someone comment on dog smell and started using plug ins which we had changed the day before to a special xmas smell and had received comments on how xmasy it smelt with the log fire. I apologised for the fact that my sons puppy and been in the dinning room, accidents do happen. I certainly am not happy that people felt that they could go into rooms that were closed, IT IS MY FAMILY HOME. The dining room would be available for breakfast at the time requested, when it would have been turned around from family use. Your loss we have won awards for our breakfasts. We have had lots of rain since our windows were done outside, inside they were all spotless as we recently bought a hand steam cleaner and had been cleaning the windows and bathrooms with it. I could go on but this really annoys me. Was it the discount you wanted!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Recent one night stay. Positives - wonderful location amidst stunning scenery. Amazing house set in own grounds, real peace and quiet. Friendly owner and it was nice to meet both resident dogs being an animal person myself. Nothing was too much trouble. Negatives - first impression as you enter hallway is smell of animals which can put one off, a little grubby too. Bedrooms clean but again breakfast room clearly had'nt been vacuumed in a while. Make sure you check about the breakfast as we ended up with 'a fry up', not being used to fryed food it was a bit of a shock as most places seem to grill food these days. Hence, we left most of the breakfast, no orange juice offered. For the money £65 for the night we felt a bit miffed especially with standard of breakfast! For the star rating we expected a higher standard.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeezie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubbenhallHouse, Owner at Bubbenhall House, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Orange juice is on the menu it has to be asked for!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I were visiting the Stoneleigh Kit Car Show with our own kit car. Wendy made us very welcome. Her home is beautiful and our room was very spacious with wonderful views of the garden. Our car was safe in her large parking area outside the house and she even said we could move it so that it was visable from our window. (We didn't though). Breakfast was generous, very tasty and Wendy couldn't do enough to make our weekend as comfortable as possible. Our only complaint is that when our friends came to join us on the second night of our stay that they got the four poster bed!
One word of caution though is mind the sleeping policemen on the approach road in Pagets Lane - vicious if you don't try to avoid them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePatNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubbenhallHouse, Owner at Bubbenhall House, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
They got the four poster because I didn't have 5ft blankets and you had requested blankets, sorry. It was a pleasure to have you as guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I stayed here recently while I was working in Coventry. Really enjoyed my stay here. Rooms were nice and clean bed was very comfortable couldn't fault it. Even the price was very reasonable for what you got.

I would defiantly recommend Bubbenhall house if you were looking to stay in the area

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_popham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Bubbenhall is a quiet out of the way B&B with an abundantly friendly atmosphere Wendy (owner) will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and happy, you have only to ask. the grounds are quiet at night ( location means no traffic or any other noise) so there is no reasons why you would have a bad nights sleep. Food is excellent, freshly bought and prepared. grounds are large and beautiful. This is perfect for a get away to relax or great to stop over for business.

I have been here many times and been happy and content every time couldn't think of staying anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJTT228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Bubenhall House offered us a very big welcome! The house itself was lovley. We stayed in a large family room which was very comfortable indeed. High quality duvets and bedroom furnishings. The cosy fire in the house made our evening a delight! Our overnight stay was followed by a great hearty breakfast in the morning. We would definatley come back here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford,Uk
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had a lovely 2 nights here whilst attending a wedding nearby. Wendy made us very welcome and we had a beautiful 4-poster bedroom in lovely peaceful surroundings. Breakfast was delicious both days and individual requests were dealt with easily. Nothing was too much trouble even down to tea and biscuits when we returned to pick up some belongings. An excellent spot to visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyTelfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
1.9 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
4.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
4.1 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,921 reviews
3.7 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oak
The Oak
#2 of 3 in Baginton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubbenhall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubbenhall House

Property: Bubbenhall House
Address: Bubbenhall House Pagets Lane | Bubbenhall, Coventry CV8 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bubbenhall House is a charming country house offering superior bed and breakfast accommodation. The house is located in the heart of Warwickshire, between Royal Leamington Spa and Coventry, ideal for Warwick, Kenilworth, the NEC, Stoneleigh Park and NPIA (Police Training). As well as offering fantastic food, comfort and rural English countryside, the house is a much loved home for Wendy and her family and offers the high standards of an AA 4 star accredited Bed and Breakfast. Quality comes as standard at Bubbenhall House as we strive for the best bed and breakfast service we can offer.AA 4 stars “Wendy Harrison is congratulated for her continuing investment programme, which has seen many changes since last visit. Bedrooms provide a balance between practicality and homeliness with a wealth of thoughtful extras to enhance guest comfort. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with the choice of lounges being a real additional benefit. Bubbenhall continues to offer quality standards commensurate with the best of Four Star guest accommodation.” ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing