We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My local cinema”
Review of Showcase cinema

Showcase cinema
Ranked #7 of 18 Fun & Games in Coventry
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My local cinema”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I live very local to this cinema so don't tend to go anywhere else and I am a member of the showcase insiders which gives a discount on admission on certain days and also discount on the comedy nights that they hold there and which I have never been too. The food and beverages like all cinemas are ridiculously expensive as are the admission to the films, especially 3D. However the cinema is clean and tidy and the staff helpfull

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jobo0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    26
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic cinema experience”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I've been coming here for 20 years with family, friends and my girlfriend and it is my favourite cinema within the Warwickshire/West Midlands area.

The screens are large and wide, the seats comfy and spacious, completing the cinema experience! Cheapest time to go is at the weekend for the first showing of the day. My only gripe is that the catering service can be slow at times but perfectly polite nonetheless - which won't affect people who stock up on sweets, snacks and drinks before hand! Including myself!

All in all, always a good cinema experience for me and I recommend this cinema to anyone!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vangotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Showcase cinema but with Stand Up Comedy on a Sat! :-)”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Showcase cinemas are pretty much the same everywhere. This one, very friendly and welcoming staff and clean. Usual overpriced popcorn etc (but not too far from Tesco to get own supplies)
Difference worth mentioning here is one of the rooms hasStand Up Comedy on a Saturday night which is very good value! Been twice. Great fun both nights. Enjoyment is down to the acts which will vary and personal taste but we had a fab time both occassions, laughed loads n definitely go again. Food available. Also, bar inside the room too.

(Only slight thing to mention..a friend said she'd been there to watch a movie and it was in that same screening room and it was still set out for the comedy with long tables making viewing movie difficult. Not sure if this is usual or not but if going to watch a movie just be worth asking if it's in the same room that's used for comedy and probably seeing another movie if seats and tables not changed...oh unless you can get sets at the platform at rear of room as they are facing screen). My points are based on my own experience of the comedy and films on other visits.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dancerkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Location and Helpful and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Started to visit the Showcase recently and must say really enjoyed the visit great location with a mass car park. Staff are friendly and Polite and Management very helpful. Very busy will be visiting again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichieC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I liked”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very well organized and comfortable sitting for a happy viewing. I saw White house Down here. The mistake though was that i saw it on my very first night. It was so good and raised the bar, the other movies I saw in subsequent nights could not measure up

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank edekicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Showcase cinema also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Showcase cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing