We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food but service could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent food but service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The food at India Gate has never disappointed but I have to say on some visits recently the standard of service has slipped slightly even on quieter evenings during the week.I always avoid Saturday nights as due to it's popularity it gets extremely busy and you feel as though you're being rushed through your meal. Much more relaxing during week nights.On the whole a good experience and although the service could be better the lovely cuisine is worth the compromise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    78
    31
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finesse flops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have dined at India Gate many, many times since it opened and enjoyed the ambience each time.
Four of us went on Thursday and the moment we walked through the door, there was something missing. The finesse from the waiters had flown. There was not the usual friendly, professional manner (apart from the most senior waiter who has always been there, he's super) Our waiter served the food so roughly we felt as if we were in a motorway service station. He sloshed the wine into the glasses so badly that when he tried to top up the glasses, we said we would do it ourselves. He went on to set the table next to ours after the previous diners had left. We watched him throw the cloth on then, from a distance, 'wack' all the serviettes down and walk away. No pride in working there whatsoever. Oh dear, not a good sign!
Although the food was to the usual high standard, we all felt that our India gate experience was not what it used to be.
Come on India Gate, don't allow your standards to fall, train the staff as this used to be one of my favourite places to eat. I will hesitate before I return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamayanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food is getting better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have used India Gate for a number of years, it's always been good, Saturday nights can mean a bit of a delay in service due to the popularity,

But with the recent refurbishment and the new menu It's getting better and better,

Friendly service and good value for money

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pauldendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Would like to have tried it!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Don't normally put a bad review on line but I wanted to express my disappointment at the service received when we tried to eat at 11 o'clock - when the door says open to 11.30pm. We asked if we could eat and were told not really as we close at 11.30pm. I don't understand why they put 11.30 on the door if they won't serve after 11? Was the attitude that really bugged me so won't be trying there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank countrysideaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stopped here when at the Arundel Cricket Festival.

Impressive decor, good food and thoughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul19602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing