We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Tudor Rose - CLOSED

Tudor Rose
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Worthing
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for a brunch with my wife. We could see it was expensive by the menu on the window but we thought, Arundel at that price must be good quality. We were wrong, budget baked beans and £3.25 for a bowl of frozen chips!
Nice place and the young staff were doing their best though.

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    25
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A nice cup of coffee, if rather overpriced at £1.95 for a small cup. However, I was charged an extra 25p for milk! The menu was impressively large for a small place that is basically a cafe and other customers' food smelled nice, so I would probably give them the benefit of the doubt on a future visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johntimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take the thorn with the rose”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Let me say first, that my review is not based on the food as I didn't get a chance to try it. My wife and I visited Tudor Rose with our 2 1/2 year old. Upon entering the cafe, the waitress informed us that they didn't have room for a push chair. My son was out of his push chair at this point and was perfectly behaved. When we told her that we could fold the push chair up she said she would go and ask. After speaking to someone (I presume the manager) she came back and said sorry they didn't have any room. We pointed to a free table which could have easily accomodated us and our folded up push chair and said "what about that table" to which the waitress replied "sorry, I did ask". I couldn't be bothered arguing with her because at this point I was very angry and really didn't want to stay a minute longer. I don't blame the waitress as I think she was probably scared of the incredibly rude manager. Perhaps they should invest in a "No children" sign to go on the door.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OhhAhh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Picked this cafe over lots of nice looking places in Arundel. Food was very average, manager was rude, generally not good value for money. The waitress was lovely but that's the only good thing I have to say about it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBennetts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much better places in Arundel”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited today and found the atmosphere tense. We pointed to a table that we wanted to sit at and the lady behind the counter who we assume to be the owner/lady in charge bellowed across the restaurant 'no,not there that is reserved!' A reserved sign was then placed by a waitress who appeared embarrassed and uncomfortable by the situation! The service was painfully slow particularly in light of the fact that we had only ordered a piece of cake and a toasted sandwich! There are so many lovely places in Arundel if it wasn't for the fact this is on the high street it would have closed long ago! We won't be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tudor Rose also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing