We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great getaway”
Review of Billycan Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billycan Camping
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a weekend at Billycan and it was truly lovely.

It's a small site as campsites go and the long grass and positioning of the tents ensures an element of privacy. Each pretty tent has it's own picnic table and fire/BBQ pit, as well as access to the communal space and campfire.The toilets and showers are nice and clean and a pretty short walk... even in the rain in the middle of the night!

It's not the cheapest of camping weekends but all the hassle is fully taken away, we just jumped on a train at Clapham Junction, packing quite lightly, and a short taxi ride at the other end meant we were relaxing by early evening. The camp stew provided on a Friday night was delicious and the breakfast hamper (sausages, bacon, bread, eggs, milk, beans) delivered in a cute basket lasted us both mornings.

It's about a 20 minute walk into the cute town of Arundel. We had a great meal out at the Bay Tree which I would fully recommend.

All in all, a great place to chill out. Would imagine it works great for groups of friends getting together or even hen parties.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carly57_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Billycan Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We've just returned from staying at the eclectic, charming and fun Billycan Camping experience - and what a treat it was! Arriving on a perfect, warm summer's eve to a prepared meal that was tasty and smoke gently billowing from the camp fire, all put together by our hosts, Alex and Sue. We had such lovely, warm greeting that we immediately felt at home - and it remained as good for the rest of our stay. I had over compensated bringing far more than I needed as this camping experience pretty much catered for everything - and lovely, clean warm showers to boot! Our breakfast hamper, included within the price, was delicious and we enjoyed lighting the pit at our tent to cook the delicious food. Also, Billycan has a new outdoor pizza oven! Certainly worth a try if you're a budding chef but for those that have not tried one out before, get it warmed up for quite a while (at least a couple of hours) before attempting to cook your pizzas - it's worth it but patience is required (but we had plenty of it after enjoying a cold refreshment or two whilst we waited!). Really, this is a treat for anyone that wants to escape the modern life for a little, kick back and enjoy the simple, charming experience that Billycan has to offer. We're already looking at booking up again....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treacle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just come back from a weekend at Billy can camping and can honestly say we had a lovely time. We usually take our own tent and equipment but as we were going with family and friends with children we thought it would be easier to go somewhere the tents and equipment were provided. We were right, it was great to arrive at the camp site and to be able to relax immediately, knowing the tent was up and our dinner was being cooked for us! It is a lovely touch that a breakfast hamper is also provided, this makes it easy to pack up and go straight off on a Friday night, without having to stop for shopping. All the food provided was delicious! The kids had a fantastic time running around all weekend, they didn't stop! We loved walking around Arundel, feeding the ducks and finishing off at one of the local pubs. As we said earlier, a lovely weekend! Thank you Billy can.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rockwoodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Billycan Camping is absolutely charming but it is no way a glamping experience. The owners/staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming but it's the price really has to be questioned, as for £120+ per night, we were expecting a much more comfortable and less strenuous break. Do take your own outside chairs as what is provided (an A frame picnic table and a folding dining chair) is insufficient for relaxing outside. You also can't park beside the tents, so everything has to be taken from the car in a waggon (provided) on arrival - and the process in reverse when you leave!
The position is perfect as it's only a 25 minute walk along the river into Arundel and the view of the town from the site is stunning, in particular at night when the cathedral is illuminated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHILIP E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welovecampingsussex, Manager at Billycan Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you Philip for your feed back we really do appreciate it.
We have alway tried to shake the name Glaming as we feel that we that one persons luxury is another persons norm.
We are a campsite that is a little different and take the stress out of packing a car full of camping equipment for a quick weekend away in a beautiful location.
Included in the price of your stay was the friday night dinner that you had declined but we are glad that you thought that the views where stunning and that its convenient to walk into our beautiful town.
Happy Camping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I found this camp site on the internet whilst searching for a long weekend away with the family. We have young children and so did not want to travel too far. We live Kent/Surrey boarder, knowing Arundel and having stayed there before in a hotel i thought this would be a great location, we dont own a tent big enough for the family and as such and as an introduction to the kids 2&3 years old we would pay for this premium rate campsite.

Having looked at the other "glamping" sites, i would not call Billycan "glamping" rather than a hybrid of camping and "glamping". You get the bell tent, yurt or tipee, air beds in the bell tents or proper beds in the yurts, they provide you with a stew on friday night eve and breakfast products for saturday morning breakfast. There is a stunning community barn where mains power provides a fridge and gas to cook on a stove if your are not up for the camp fire cooking. There is a toilet block and three showers. Very powerful and always hot.

The tents are well spaced apart which gives the adults privacy, however the kids just mingle and you loose them for the entire stay. Perfect! A very safe environment. Most of the neigbouring campers apeared to have traveled down from London, as this is a convenient location for mums to arrive at lunch time and dads to commute down after close of buisness.

The Witterings are nearby and on the one hot and sunny day we had, an enjoyable day was spent on a beautiful beach and even swam in the sea! The Lido was just as much fun the following day.

Would i recommend it yes, however, not a cheap weekend. Is it worth it....yes for limited numbers, privacy, able to have campfires which most camp sites dont allow. Any negative points....whilst the bathrooms were maintained each day, the tea towels used to dry up were not over the 4 day period and they got a bit manky, whilst i only signed up for logs, my friends signed up for logs and charcoal, no charcoal was forthcomming, even after asking the owner (or rather none apeared at the location he was told to get it).

Would i go back, yes definitely, however i like to explore and would want to try another similar setup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julesdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We honestly can't think of anything bad to say about this campsite. This was our third stay here and once again it was a brilliant holiday. The owners are friendly and welcoming and on hand if you need them. All the equipment you need is provided including gas stoves if you don't want to light a fire to cook on. We stayed in a Yurt this time which are so comfortable(more like staying in a hotel room in field!) The location is perfect. Arundel itself is very pretty with plenty to keep you amused. Lovely beaches a drive away.
Kids adore the place as they can run wild whilst adults can relax around the fire and enjoy a relaxing holiday. Love the place!! We will definitely be back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife told me we were going away for the weekend,
This usually involves at least a 3 /4 hour drive from town to at least Dorset way,
After a long hot week at work, and only two and a bit hours from west London,
I was so chuffed to arrive on site and had a good few hours of sunset left...!
Even better to discover someone else was cooking for us and I could settle into a deck chair and see the kids running off into the long grass,
I was initially a bit miffed not to be in a hotel so I could go to the bar, but discovered much to my delight that my good lady had ordered a case of Arundel ale from the owners and they were duly opened!
This place is such a find......I relaxed more than if we were in a hotel as the kids made new friends and were happy amusing themselves...
Camping days seems longer in a great way,
I started this weeks work reminiscing about it, and find myself sitting at home this weekend wishing we were all back there,
The kids have been to Disneyland Paris, and centre parks but today asked when we were going back to the field....?!?!
Love it...

Room Tip: We had an emporer tent...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,088 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
10.5 mi away
Plush Tents Glamping
Plush Tents Glamping
#1 of 1 in East Ashling
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billycan Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billycan Camping

Address: Manor Farm, Tortington, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Arundel
Also Known As:
Billycan Camping Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing