We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come into my parlour said the spider to the fly...”
Review of Belinda's Tearooms

Belinda's Tearooms
Ranked #4 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Arundel
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come into my parlour said the spider to the fly...”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

With its prime location and promise of genuine 16th century charm Belinda’s Tearooms of Arundel looked set to offer welcome relief from a very wet and dreary Sunday afternoon. But as I suspect many a fellow traveller has also fallen foul of this particular honey trap I’ll get straight to the point; it’s a rip off. From the moment you enter and are assaulted by the naff, faux olde worlde interior one’s expectations may start to plummet.

I ordered a measly plate of assorted, overcooked, flavourless mushes (also known as a roast in other establishments) which was served with all the finesse and quality of a school dinner along with a half pint of bitter (straight out of a can) which cost the price of a full pint.

The service was lousy but hey if your staff are all young and inexperienced that’s what you’re going to get, as I’m sure the proprietors are aware young people are a lot cheaper to employ.

So having paid exorbitant prices for substandard fayre one can really say that Belinda’s care about their customers... by relieving them of the heavy burden of the contents of their wallets.

Trust me they blatantly know they’re on to a good thing, located where they are they assume they can get away with serving up cheap and nasty rubbish at obscenely expensive prices. This is not so much a business as a racket. Atrocious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    97
    34
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Traditional Cream Tea”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We popped into Belinda's for a traditional afternoon cream tea (complete with scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam). The service was very good and the tea was just what we needed to fortify us for some further exploration of the delightful town of Arundel

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HibiscusCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A definite recommend ”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Beautifully quaint tearoom, tend to forget that places like this still exist (well particularly someone my age). Staff were friendly and attentive and the service provided was excellent, only had a sandwich and a coke but was pleased with the quality of the food. Lovely atmosphere and decor.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanielL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Place to have a cream tea”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spotted this place as we were walking around Arundel when we were in need of refreshment.
They do a really nice afternoon tea for two for £14. We had a choice of sandwich and cake and was served and presented really well.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the tearoom itself full of character and charm, which meant it got cramped when it got busy.

Would recommend this as a pleasant place to rest your aching feet!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet Memories”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I attended college in Arundel in 79/80. Walking into town and having tea and scones at Belinda's was a real treat. It's one of those places that you always remember. 35 years later I can still remember those special visits with friends. It's where I learned to drink a "proper" cup of tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belinda's Tearooms also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Belinda's Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing