We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent very welcoming - just a lovely place - we enjoyed our stay very much”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2011

A very lovely stay, we only had one night here, but all was well, beautifully clean, very comfortable, very welcoming, cosy, wonderful wood, modern in its approach, yet traditional in its service and care, nothing was too much trouble. Hopefully well stay again, it would be worth visiting again. We stayed in the slightly smaller of the 2 upstairs bedroom, the hosts are soon to open a goodsize downstairs suite, we had a look around and its great, a family type room. So enjoy. Oh nearly forgot who could the breakfast was great, wonderfully cooked and fresh, just delicious. Good off road parking

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyspikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were so impressed with Hanger Down House, it should be in the category of boutique bed & breakfast if it exists! The room was gorgeous, lovely wood floors and comfy bed and great ensuite. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidkr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed here as it had the two rooms, for us and the in-laws, and it really did serve the prupose very well.

Both rooms were perfect for our needs, dead comfie king size beds, lovely bathroom, tea and coffe, sofa, TV, and lovely decorated.

Allison the owner was just spot on, nothing was too much trouble, and was so very attentatitive, it was nice. Her breakfast also was perfect and so very tastey.

As we had both rooms, we felt like it was our private quarter of the house! With the pool table also, this was great fun.

Yes it is out of Arundel, but in the day we could walk it, with a beautiful walk in 15 minutes (with fab view of the castle), and the evening one of us drove or we could walk in and get a cab back. Arundel for a long weekend is lovely with shopping in the Antique shops, wondering around the castle grounds, looking at the cathedral, and sitting in the pubs! The property is in beautiful surroundings and you really do feel like you are away from it all!

A very successul trip and stay.......

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed at Hanger Down House in February for two nights and were very impressed from start to finish. We stayed in the Duke room which was very spacious, clean and well decorated. The breakfast was brilliant and there was plenty of everything. We appreciated the flexibility with timing of breakfast.

It is a bit out of town. You can walk in to Arundel in 20 mins or get a taxi there in 5 mins, however it worth it for the beautiful views around Hanger Down House.

Andy and Alison were fantastic hosts. They looked after us throughout our stay and suggested plenty of places for us to visit and places to eat etc.

We have already been recommending this guesthouse to our friends and we are definitely going to visit again in the summer.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Heatherflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

A lovely, spacious B&B in a charming part of West Sussex. We received a warm welcome and were treated with kindness throughout our stay. The room was bright, airy and clean and there were a number of thoughtful touches, such as fresh milk, tea and coffee and a small fridge with wine glasses provided. The central heating is excellent and we were very warm and cosy, but we found that the hot water seemed to run out quite quickly, especially when the other guests had showered before us. The location is very picturesque, but as we did not have a car we needed to take a taxi from the station, as the walk is a bit far and there is a stretch with no pavement between the B&B and Arundel town. However, there is a short cut through the woods, which would be nice to take on a day that is less muddy! The breakfast was superb, and available at a wide range of times. Overall, this B&B is excellent and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeregrinesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I thought i would get away with my wife for the weekend. We stayed in the duke room and it was spacious with a shower that wakes you up not just dribbles over your head.
Breakfast was lovely, but what i loved the most was the views from our bedroom window.We could see three sides of beautiful sussex from the lovely Town of Arundel to the open fields and the river Arun is was truly picturesque.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Towcesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Hanger Down House is such a wonderful place to stay at...It looks like heaven! The rooms are really nice and pleasant. Everything was perfect from the warm welcoming to the delicious full-English breakfast we had. The garden looked lovely and we definitely intend to go back during next summertime. I can highly recommend this B&B which is absolutely fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celine050384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
751 reviews
2.9 mi away
Woodacre B & B
Woodacre B & B
#3 of 17 in Arundel
92 reviews
1 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#1 of 17 in Arundel
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Priory Lane | Tortington, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Gold Star Bed & Breakfast. Our 'Duke,Duchess and Coach' rooms are £95pn and have their own private access and are stylishly furnished with King size beds, leather sofas, digital TVs & luxury en-suite power shower rooms. Set within an acre of mature garden, in a quiet picturesque location with stunning countryside views and under 1 mile from Arundel Town Centre. English cooked & Continental Breakfast.Private parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanger Down House Bed And Breakfast Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing