We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly rural, yet close to everything”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After a little difficulty finding this charming property, we couldn't have been more pleased.
We had the spacious ground floor room which was light, quiet and spotless.
Alison was delightful and her recommendation for an evening meal was "spot on".
We very much enjoyed Arundel, and the location of Hanger Down. Breakfast was also plentiful and lovely.
Recommended

Room Tip: The downstairs Coach Room is spacious and light!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the excellently furnished and spacious ground floor Coach room as was the en suite. The welcome was warm and friendly, the information pack about the area was helpful and Alison was always ready to help in any way she could. We were very lucky with the weather and appreciated being able to sit out in the garden.
The breakfast menu provided a reasonable choice but this was not as extensive as we have enjoyed in other B and Bs with 4 stars. One surprise was the lack of toast or a choice of breads.
But we had absolutely no regrets about staying at Hanger Down House and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We highly recommend a stay at Hanger Down House B&B! We found it to be immaculate, very quiet, so comfortable, and lovely. Our room was really extraordinary! Alison is a friendly, delightful, warm, and welcoming host. She served an amazing and delicious breakfast. The location was perfect, in the countryside, yet very near the village. Hanger Down truly excels as a B&B. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Very nice bnb on the outskirts of Arundel. Very quiet location. Rooms done to a very high standard.
Alison and family very friendly.
Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaSh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take my mum to visit Arundel for a weekend and chose Hanger Down House as our accommodation for the 2 nights.

The B&B looks exactly like it does in the photos so we were not disappointed when we were shown to our rooms. We stayed in the Duke and Duchess rooms, both of which are on the first floor and found them both adequate to our needs. For breakfast, cereal, fruit and yoghurt was available and a full English breakfast and any variation of this classic breakfast was also provided. Information in the rooms about places of interest and recommended restaurants was good and helped us to make the most of our stay in Arundel and the nearby area.

Just 2 small points: the mattress in the Duchess Room has probably seen much better days; my husband tossed and turned all night in an attempt to get comfortable, which meant that neither of us got a good night's sleep - and the heavy quilt just made matters worse.

Apart from these two points, however, Hanger Down House offers a good level of accommodation and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Arundel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliemur37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Hanger Down House is in a very quiet country lane, just outside Arundel. We were made extremely welcome by Alison and her husband, who were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

My mother and I were in the delightful, light and very spacious Coach Room. I used the sofa bed which proved to be extremely comfy. The bathroom is large and pristine with a fantastic power shower that gets your day off to a good start.

A lot of thought has gone into the detail, with luxury duvet covers, gorgeous thick Fenn Wright Manson towels, milk for tea/coffee in your own fridge and fruit in the dining room for snacks.

The breakfast was delicious, with freshly warmed rolls, homemade marmalade and raspberry jam and a great full English.

The whole place is spotless, well-run and in a beautiful setting. We loved it here and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We loved our stay at the Hanger Down House B&B! The hosts are really friendly, helpful, accomodating and welcoming, sharing with us lots of useful tips and information about the local area. The B&B is very pretty, with amazing rooms (the website photos do not do the rooms justice!), spacious garden with table tennis and a comfortably furnished patio area, along with a cosy breakfast room, with pool table. The location of this B&B is perfect, as it is a pleasant ten minute walk to the town centre, with all of it's attractions - so no hunting around for parking or worrying about over doing the vino when visiting one of the many friendly pubs in town. Last but not least, the breakfast was second to none, truly delicious and plentiful! Can't wait for our next visit to Hanger Down House!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fab!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trolley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,087 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
1.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Priory Lane | Tortington, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Gold Star Bed & Breakfast. Our 'Duke,Duchess and Coach' rooms are £95pn and have their own private access and are stylishly furnished with King size beds, leather sofas, digital TVs & luxury en-suite power shower rooms. Set within an acre of mature garden, in a quiet picturesque location with stunning countryside views and under 1 mile from Arundel Town Centre. English cooked & Continental Breakfast.Private parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanger Down House Bed And Breakfast Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing