We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Absolutely stunning property, great facilities and welcoming host. Alison cooks a great breakfast and is very helpful. The location is only a short walk from the restaurants and entertainment in Arundel and yet is also in a quiet rural location. My wife and I could not of hoped for more for our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We needed a very short break and this was perfect for us. The house and grounds are lovely and the room beautiful and spotless with lovely views. However, what made the trip for us was Alison - a truly wonderful hostess. We had a breakfast to beat all breakfasts and, despite having house and family to run, she found time to chat with us, offer us cold drinks when we were in the garden and water my plants that I had bought on the way there. Can't wait to go again

Room Tip: Coach room better for people who have difficulty with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Beautiful, huge and spotless triple aspect room with far reaching views. Warm welcome and fab breakfast. Excellent value when compared to local 'faceless' hotels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

As regular travellers we did some extensive research prior to our journey from yorkshire to arundel. The choice we made exceeded our expectations by a long way. From the setting in the lovely sussex countryside to the hospitality shown by andy and alison, this was 5 star all the way. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast kept us going all day, and the room was comfortable, spacious, and had great views of arundel which is only a quick walk from the guesthouse. Thank you andy and ali we will return. martin & family yorkshire

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After a little difficulty finding this charming property, we couldn't have been more pleased.
We had the spacious ground floor room which was light, quiet and spotless.
Alison was delightful and her recommendation for an evening meal was "spot on".
We very much enjoyed Arundel, and the location of Hanger Down. Breakfast was also plentiful and lovely.
Recommended

Room Tip: The downstairs Coach Room is spacious and light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the excellently furnished and spacious ground floor Coach room as was the en suite. The welcome was warm and friendly, the information pack about the area was helpful and Alison was always ready to help in any way she could. We were very lucky with the weather and appreciated being able to sit out in the garden.
The breakfast menu provided a reasonable choice but this was not as extensive as we have enjoyed in other B and Bs with 4 stars. One surprise was the lack of toast or a choice of breads.
But we had absolutely no regrets about staying at Hanger Down House and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We highly recommend a stay at Hanger Down House B&B! We found it to be immaculate, very quiet, so comfortable, and lovely. Our room was really extraordinary! Alison is a friendly, delightful, warm, and welcoming host. She served an amazing and delicious breakfast. The location was perfect, in the countryside, yet very near the village. Hanger Down truly excels as a B&B. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
750 reviews
2.9 mi away
Woodacre B & B
Woodacre B & B
#3 of 17 in Arundel
92 reviews
1 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#1 of 17 in Arundel
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Priory Lane | Tortington, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanger Down House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Gold Star Bed & Breakfast. Our 'Duke,Duchess and Coach' rooms are £95pn and have their own private access and are stylishly furnished with King size beds, leather sofas, digital TVs & luxury en-suite power shower rooms. Set within an acre of mature garden, in a quiet picturesque location with stunning countryside views and under 1 mile from Arundel Town Centre. English cooked & Continental Breakfast.Private parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanger Down House Bed And Breakfast Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing