We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoiled by Italy”
Review of La Campania

La Campania
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Spoiled by Italy”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having visited some great restaurants over in Italy earlier this year perhaps we have been spoiled but after an ominous cheerless welcome we were enjoying the sardines and the mussels. It's a Busy, rather cosy restaurant and a great view of the rather rowdy kitchen. Well placed on a corner on the atmospheric Arundel High Street.

Unfortunately the Pollo Salvatore turned out to be lukewarm in the middle and was sent back. It returned piping hot with the previously fresh rocket looking rather limp. Obviously the plate had just been warmed up. My wife ploughed on regardless but the chunk of Dauphinois potatoes was hard and she gave up. I was quite pleased because I wasn't enjoying the pizza pescatora very much as it was more cheese than seafood so we asked for the bill. They did offer to cook my wife something alse and asked if I wanted to take my pizza home. They also had to explain the bill which had someone else's drinks taken off. Not a great experience.

Hopefully a one off but will be wary going back.

PS. The J2O is not actually J2O but tastes the same!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    145
    45
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but service can be slow”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have visited this restaurant twice this week and enjoyed two very different experiences. Although the food was excellent on both occasions, the service differed massively. On Tuesday evening we waited almost an hour between courses. There were staff in the building, but they appeared to spend an inordinate amount of time wandering aimlessly. On Thursday evening there were fewer staff, but the service was excellent. One young waitress served us all evening even though she was busy with other patrons. She was friendly and pleasant and made us feel extremely welcome. We will definitely dine here the next time we visit Arundel.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs a maitre d'!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked for a Sunday evening, which was rather fortunate as the restaurant was full and passers by were being turned away. There was a vibrant atmosphere and overall the experience was a pleasant one.
The food was delicious and well-priced. The specials were a little more expensive, but were very well-prepared and the ingredients tasted fresh and seasonal. I would highly recommend the seafood dishes. The product is, in my opinion, somewhat better than in most Italian restaurants, which can often be volumous but somewhat bland.
That said, the meal was let down by the short-staffing and lack of service. The chefs were consummate, but the front of house did not match this. Our drinks order, for example, was not taken until we got up to ask the waiter (well after ordering food), and after our main meal we were left unattended for about 30 minutes, by which point we had given up on pudding and had to get up and find the waiter to pay. It was probably a case of too few staff, but it did undermine what would otherwise have been an excellent product.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatzDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Found this place while walking through Arundel and decided to visit here with my parents. Absolute treat. The young lads serving couldn't have done better. The food was perfect in quality and quantity and I would recommend it to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Edwina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely atmosphere, and the food was fantastic. The best pizzas we have had in quite a while. The banoffee pie and panettone pudding were divine and well worth the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Campania also viewed

 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to La Campania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing