We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No tea and Cake.”
Review of Norfolk Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Called Saturday afternoon 5th April. Sign outside says Tea and slice of cake £2.50. No staff in attendance but eventually found a man who was talking on the phone and enquired where to go within the hotel to be told
sorry we have a wedding on and have run out of cake./!!! Unbelievable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Robert B


I am not sure if you actually stayed with us or were just visiting Arundel, however I can fully appreciate your disappointment regarding the tea and cake which is incredible value, even at the £2.65 which we advertise outside. I expect the probable reason you were initially unable to find a team member to assist you was due to the fact that we were all dedicated to serving our wedding guests. I am sorry you were told we had run out of cake as this is a very rare occurrence, I suspect, we were just unable to accommodate you at that particular time and we should of course have made that clear. Happily Arundel has dozens of tea shops, so I know that although you were unable to enjoy our tea, you will not have gone hungry. We do take reservations for traditional afternoon teas so please do call us to ensure our availability.
Regards
Elizabeth d’Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
There are newer reviews for Norfolk Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our room wasn't in the hotel we had room no 105 and it was a very nice room very good value .it was kept very clean hot water all the time,we were very comfortable. Breakfast was ok it came with our deal I don't think I would have paid the price they were asking.Dinner was a bit of a let down ordered steak then told they had run out there were only 2 other people eating but I must admit what we had was ok..The staff were absoloutly brilliant everyone of them they could not do enough for you.We will stay there again if we can.we thought the hotel it's self was nice the breakfast room was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val19430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Val19430

Thank you for staying with us – it is good to read that you had such a comfortable stay and especially the comments with regard to the team – I am very lucky. As a point of interest, the breakfast room was originally built as a billiards room – a far cry from the modern dark and dingy snooker clubs! I hope we will see you again,.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d’Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is very well placed being convenient for all Arundels amenities, the hotel was built in the late seventeen hundreds and at a cost of over seven thousand pounds and retains many of the original features if a little tarnished now.
Our room was in a building in the courtyard at the back of the hotel which looks like it was converted from some other use, the room was clean, roomy and adequately furnished, we had no issues with the room albeit the bed was extremely soft which may well suit some people.
We had breakfast included in our room price and if we had one issue it would be about the breakfast experience the hotel charges £13.95 each and to be quite honest if we had paid this separately we would have felt ripped off as the quality and options are fairly limited, we never ate in the hotel restaurant as there were many options outside the hotel.
There is good parking at the back of the hotel, there is no charge made for this they just take your registration so you do not get clamped, the entrance to the car park is via the mews entrance at the front of the hotel.
Would we go back if returning to Arundel probably yes, on the whole pretty good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kensington76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Scotcherwatts,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review – it is amazing what you could build for £7K! The hotel with free wifi and parking is extremely good value, and I hope that we will see you again before too long.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d’Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A historic coaching inn in the middle of a beautiful little town; the decor and fabric of the building could easily put guests off. The whole place is in need of some TLC; the public areas are better than the rooms, (based on our experience); our room was really in need of attention - wall-paper was pealing, paintwork battered, the bathroom needed a complete make-over - just what colour was the suite? The bed was hard and the pillows were, well, poor. Our room was on the second floor, accessed by a spiral staircase, (no lift), so access could be an issue. Views were limited, but in part, that is unavoidable given the geography of Arundel ... and yet, and yet. The staff were really friendly and welcoming; our room was warm and quiet. The food on both nights was really good, choice was limited, but the quality of the food made up for most of our initial misgivings. Breakfast was a little limited, but the quality was fine. Location could't be faulted. Right in the centre of Arundel, with castle and Cathedral both in walking distance, as were various eateries and bars etc. Free parking, some under-cover too! For a short break, the hotel was fine - and with a little effort, could really be a winner

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue, ask about which room you are in before-hand - rooms at the rear are quiete...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincolntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Lincolntripper,

Thank you for staying with us recently, it is good to read that the Norfolk Arms Hotel was able to offer comfort, location and especially – a happy team! Although the hotel is somewhat tired, the positive is that we are a completely unspoilt traditional coaching inn – so many lose their identity as the years roll on.

I do hope we will see you again in the non too distant future.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d’Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed on night in a single bedroom. One of the pillow case was not clean and with hair on it. The bed was terrible: I ended up pulling the mattress on the floor to be able to fall asleep. Stains of humidity on the ceiling. You sleep basically in the High street as there is no doubly glazing. So I would say that £50 is expensive to sleep in the floor even if it was my company paying for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepless_in_Arundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry you were not comfortable during your stay with us, beds are very subjective to the individual, and as you will have seen from the previous review to yours, those guests found theirs comfortable. As we are a Georgian Coaching Inn regulations prevent us from having double glazing - and your room has the lovely old mullioned windows which would not be enhanced by secondary glazing. The upside of an old hotel is that in 200 years time we will still be here, whereas a modern hotel with state of art double glazing today will be non existent in 200 years time and probably not even a distant memory.

Hotels do like our guests to be comfortable - whilst it would have been late at the point you went to bed, I am sure, that had we had availability and known of your discomfort we would have endeavoured to find you an alternative room.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d'Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good hotel ,good wifi ,good rooms ,price is ok around many places to eat ,great parking
Breakfast ok . No noise ,sleep ok ,beds good.stay again next time when we around
The interior in antique furniture and objects ,walking distance near castle and other places to visit

Room Tip: Dont know back rooms are ok
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Petrus Z,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you were so comfortable and we hope that we will see you again before too long.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d'Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We got this hotel on a package deal and having read the mixed reviews on this hotel, I was expecting a really dated and unclean room, however was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, and the bed in particular was VERY comfy and large. The bathroom was dated, but everything was in working order and clean.
The reception rooms were slightly dated, but they try their best to keep it acceptable and clean. The service was incredible, all the staff were helpful and professional. The breakfast was really nice as well - a cooked breakfast was specifically made for you, rather than left in a buffet getting old.
The location is FANTASTIC, couldn't ask for anything better - and you get free parking. You also get free wi-fi.
Was VERY good value for money, and would recommend if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimjtwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Kimjtwee,

Thank you for staying with us, I am so pleased that your stay was such a success - it just goes to show, you should never believe everything you read! We are really lucky with the hotel, although we are somewhat behind the times, the Hotel has loads of character, and I have a super team who are well deserved of your praise!

I hope we will see you again.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d’Apice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
3.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Arms Hotel

Address: 22 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £76 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking is charge at £5.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Norfolk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Arms Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing