We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it could be................”
Review of Norfolk Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tired and in need of updating. No welcome in the Bar, had to wait for service too long. If the Bar was more welcoming and staffed , profit would be a lot higher. We gave up in the end and spent our money in the Red Lion over the road and were thanked for our custom.
No hot water in the morning of the second day, no mention of this until we inquired, no offer of compensation.
Food (breakfest) very good ! Breakfast staff spot on,polite and helpful.
Nasty smell in corridor to room 104 ! Room clean and tidy,bed comfortable, tea and coffee very nice.
Not even a thank you when we left. Reception staff and management need course in customer management !

Room Tip: Main building has the better rooms. Good car parking
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Ray Kay

Thank you for your feedback sorry to hear you had delays within our food & beverage department . We have now made corrective measures within our bars by the recruitment of more staff , re-trained of existing staff .

Also we have just refurbished our own Town Bar which is due to re-open on the 19th September to our guest and the public , We are due to enter a refurbishment program with in our Hotel .

Best Regards

Grant Roberts

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
There are newer reviews for Norfolk Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed overnight here on the way from Gatwick to Weymouth. Cozy hotel in Gregorian style. Recommended place for those who like older well-kept house with charm. Located at the very center of town. Very nice breakfast-room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review I am pleased to note you had a pleasant stay with us .

Best regards

Grant Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel has a great location on the High St, with it's own car park some of which is undercover.
Staff were plentiful & helpful. The room was a good size & comfortable. On the occasion of our stay the weather was hot, I asked if a fan was available I was inform that the ones that worked are out &
the other 50% were broken !
The breakfast was very good and cooked to order a nice change from buffet style. The only problem as I saw it was that the hotel need a big input of TCL, a lick of paint, fresh curtains - a general refurbishment. With this it would score better.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back, away from the High Street
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SwiftSenior982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Richard B

Thank you for your comments in regards to our staff , I wish to inform you we have just entered into a refurbishment program starting with our Bedrooms which is due to start within next two weeks .

Best Regards

Grant Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently attended a family wedding at this Hotel. The staff were welcoming until a problem arose and then they were extremely unhelpful. Two wedding guests arrived for dinner unexpectedly. Granted this was a mistake with the invitations, but the hotel refused point blank to fit them in, despite the fact there were plenty of empty spaces on tables and the family said they would pay whatever it required. Apparently they couldn't provide an extra two meals.....this is a hotel right? This was extremely embarrassing for all concerned and rather shocking considering how much hotels charge for weddings. In addition, the tiny hotel bar didn't serve draught beer/guiness and because of this and the fact that the prices were so exhorbitant most of the guests left the hotel and went to the pub across the road. I'm sure the pub is delighted to cater for the needs of people where the hotel can't or won't. On the plus side, the food was good, the location is great and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vernado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Vernado,
I am the new General Manager of Norfolk Arms Hotel. I am very disappointed to read about the unpleasant experience that you have witnessed during the wedding you have attended and thank you for taking the time to share it with us.
Although the events referred to are historical events, I feel that I have to extend my apologies to yourself and the family for the embarrassing situation that arose.
Since then, I can assure you that Norfolk Arms has invested in the refurbishment of the Town Bar that now serves a selection of draught beers.
Also, the hotel continues to cater for wedding parties and as you can see from the comments thereafter, our wedding guests are very happy with the service they receive.
If you wish to discuss the issues any further, please do not hesitate to contact me through the hotel.
Kind regards,
Grant Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is really relaxing and the staff can not do enough for you. It is in the heart of Arundel, it is very clean and rooms are very comfortable, it also has a large car park at the rear so no need to look for parking. Staff have a great knowledge of all attractions in the area and where to go for a great meal if you wish to go out for lunch or dinner. Breakfast was more than ample and well worth having. Will definitely will be booking again. Things to see in area is Arundel castle, wet lands and various others just ask the Staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear David J

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay and our staff had been supportive .

Best Regards

Grant Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A nice hotel in the heart of Arundel, staff helpfull I asked for a fan for our room 10min later it arrived. This is an old building built many years ago and also has a free large car park. A great location to visit the Castle

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Robbo25,

I hope you had a lovely birthday celebration, it was very good of your partner to make such a good choice as the Norfolk Arms Hotel. Perhaps we will see you again next year?

Kind regards
Elizabeth d'Apice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

stayed here for one night on our way to brighton by bike. staff couldnt of been more helpful and friendly, offered to lock our bikes up in the boiler room for safety overnight. room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice and freshly cooked, lovely town to walk around

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkArmsHotel, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear LizP,

Many thanks for staying with us and I am so pleased you had such a good break on your ride through to Brighton, we all thought you were very energetic! I hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Elizabeth d'Apice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
701 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,083 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Arms Hotel

Address: 22 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £76 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking is charge at £5.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norfolk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Arms Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing