We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, nice, nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice, nice, nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have read some of the reviews and I think people forget that they get what they pay for. We are just back from a two night stay and I must say we enjoyed it very much. The hotel could not be more centrally placed. The staff are lovely, the room was fine, and the food was good. Comfy bed, toiletries supplied, quiet location and very hot water. How much more can you ask for for the price? Maggie Connor

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Maggie

Thank you for your review we are delighted to hear that you had a nice experience . It would be very to see you return to the Norfolk Arms hotel . The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    299
    165
    81
    55
See reviews for
105
573
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff at the hotel are lovely.
The double room was a little sparce with no information to be found about hotel facilities or the local area. On arrival it was assumed we would know where the room was and we had to ask directions.
The hotel in general has an old fashioned feel and is quirky. The breakfast is reasonable but every thing needs updating..
We probably would return to this hotel but would like to try an alternative in Arundel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Frances

Thank you for your review and constructive comments , We are in the process updating area's within hotel

Best Wishes

Grant Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location in the high street. We knew it would be a little dated but were surprised how bad it was. The best thing about it was that you could easily reach other cafes and restaurants.

Positives first:
- Location was handy for bars and restaurants.
- The hotel staff were all really friendly.
- There was always hot water for a shower even though the bathroom looked a bit dated and unpromising.

Negatives:
- We stayed in room 12 which was a feature double. The room was very large but the bed was hopelessly small - a standard double bed surrounded by acres of carpet and creaking floors. Why not put a decent sized bed in there? It was hot and cramped and difficult to get any sleep.
- The room was on a slant which was a bit weird, e.g. wardrobe doors swung open if you tried to use the mirror; it was uphill and downhill between the bed and the bathroom.
- The window frames were rotting and all really grotty. We didn't dare touch them once we got them open.
- Breakfast was appalling - absolutely awful. We took one tour around the room, looked at the food and went out again, i.e. even though we had paid for it we didn't eat it - no fresh fruit; anaemic cooked breakfast; prunes in a communal bowl; an instant drinks machine in the corner to make tea/coffee/hot chocolate. All appeared to have come from the 1970s. Luckily there was a cafe called Osteria across the road and we went there both days for breakfast.

Overall:
It was very poor value for money. We paid £114 per night for room and breakfast and I would challenge them to justify the price for the quality of room and food.

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms have the same sized beds regardless of the room size themselves. If you need an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topladytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your Feedback , I wish to inform you we have take on-board you comments and changed our breakfast standard , We are in the process of changing our coffee standard that is offered to all our guest , We have just entered into a refurbishment program within all area's of the hotel . Which is supported by our head office team .

Best Regards

Grant Roberts

General Mannager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The place is falling apart. Room was dark and grim.

Carpet had holes all over and tyre were lots of small insects in the room.

Complained and got moved and a £50 refund. Other room was much nicer.

The village it's in is very nice. Hotel needs a complete renovation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear AlexDragon,

Thank you for your review. I am the new General Manager of the Norfolk Arms and although the incident your are referring to is a historical matter, please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience that you have had during your stay.
Since you have stayed with us, we have recruited a new Housekeeping Manager. The room you have stayed in has been refurbished as part of our on-going refurbishment plan for rooms and public areas.

We hope that your experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind regards,

Grant Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Purchased a cream tea offer from Living Social. The hotel is situated in the heart of the town. Used the car park behind hotel. Our tea was in a room facing the road. Could see how beautiful this building could have once been. We saw one lady only, manning reception and serving the tea. Our offer consisted of sandwiches (cheese and tomato, ham, egg and lettuce, tuna and cucumber), scone, jam and cream, slice of sultana cake, and tea. I fear the sandwiches had been made up a while before. Not impressed with the doorstep size of cake (two smaller slices of different cakes would look more elegant and appetising). This place has great potential to be grand again. Would like to visit again after refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Di

Thank you for your comments we are in the process of changing our afternoon tea standards we now have taken corrective measures . We valued your comments

Best regards

Grant Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

First appearance wasn't great, couldn't get into the driveway so had to pay for parking elsewhere, went in and had to wait to check in, only one chap at reception and he was on the phone, another chap wandering around helping the moving truck blocking the driveway, told us there was parking out the back. Once we checked in, we were just told to go outside and our room was through there somewhere, there were no signs but we were able to find our room. Place needs an overhaul and a refurb. But everything worked fine and breakfast was good. The lovely chap who checked us in allowed us to remain parked in the car park while we went to Arundel castle, thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lopixiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear lopixiki

Thank you for your review .I am very disappointed to hear your first appearance wasn't good , I'm working close with my front of house team to ensure guest expectations are met .

Best regards

Grant Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just stayed at the Norfolk for two nights and agree with other reviews that it needs the promised refurb. It was however comfortable , clean and the best thing, very centrally located and with a fairly good sized car park. We did have a problem with a rogue TV which decided to turn itself on and off randomly - once at 01.30, Soon learned to turn it off at wall before retiring.
The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
We will stay here again when returning to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex were quiet. There is no lift .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R, General Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Debbie H

Thank you for your comments and feedback , We have just started our refurbishment program with our Town Bar Which is due to re-open this coming week We shall be ready to refurbish our bedrooms very soon

Best regards

Grant Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Arms Hotel

Property: Norfolk Arms Hotel
Address: 22 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Norfolk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Arms Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing