We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Very enjoyable with nice heated outdoor pool and indoor pool. Good value when taking the BB and dinner deal

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2011.

It was pleasing to note you enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor swimming pools and found the dinner, bed and breakfast package good value.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    600
    527
    278
    152
See reviews for
428
912
43
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhoose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Previously stayed here 2 years ago as a mystery hotel through the Hilton web site but this time it was a surprise for my partner's birthday.
Staff were very friendly & helpful and even sang Happy Birthday to my partner when they brought our desert at dinner. Speaking of dinner, the lamb is the chef's signature dish and after sampling it, we could fully understand why. The dining room is oak panelled and added to the ambience of the evening. Although we only stayed at the hotel 2 nights we dined in the restaurant both evenings and although we felt the wine was a little pricey the food was excellent .
We had a ground floor room at the front of the hotel, which was spacious & very clean. The gardens were in full bloom and very pretty.
Looking forward to staying here again

Room Tip: use your car & explore the local area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldvalleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2011.

We were delighted you chose Avisford Park as the surprise destination for your partner’s birthday and that this special occasion was acknowledged by the team when serving your dessert.

Our menu has recently been changed to include a range of signature dishes by our Head Chef, and it was pleasing to receive such positive feedback following your dining experience.

We were also glad that the standard of accommodation and cleanliness met with your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your positive comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Avisford Park for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Despite recent reviews visited here for two nights on recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed. Service excellent, friendl and attentive. Food very good quality. We got free upgrade to deluxe room which was spacious. Had a round of golf on adjacent course which was good value and a pleasant walk! Pool small but adequate. Visit to Arundel is a must, plenty to do. We enjoyed Wetland trust. Only slight criticism is the decor showing signs of wear and tear.

Room Tip: Lastminute mystery hotel, free breakfast + upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in April 2011.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your two-night stay with us and found the standard of service excellent and food quality very good. It was also pleasing that we were able to provide you with upgraded accommodation.

We were glad that you were able to fit in a round of golf as well as a swim in our pool.

The hotel is due to be refurbished in the public areas during 2011 which will address your concerns about the standard of décor.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our suite was no 505. Lovely rooms but sofa bed had a side broken. Very clean through-out stay, staff a credit to the hotel. Problems with kitchen not understanding exactly what food we had ordered, very helpful catering supervisor & deputy manager sorted out problems to our satisfaction. Hotel is family friendly and therefore unsuitable for an intimate dining experience. Don't understand why children are permitted to run around a dining room at late hours, would be better if from 8pm it was adults only.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivien12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2011.

It was pleasing to read that the standard of accommodation, cleanliness and level of service were to your satisfaction. Your comment regarding the condition of the sofa bed has been noted and will be investigated and remedial action taken as necessary.

We were disappointed to note that you experienced problems with the food ordered in our restaurant but glad that our restaurant team were able to sort out the problems to your satisfaction.

Your comment regarding the behaviour of our younger guests has been noted; we do rely upon parents and guardians of children to ensure their behaviour is acceptable however this is something we will monitor more closely in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I went to the spa in October 2009,

warm friendly people on reception desk, directed to our room stiraight away, We found this a little confusing as there are many corridors

we stayed in twin rooms, other then the rooms seeming a little dated and the bed sheets not seeming 100% clean, the room was otherwise quiet, warm, clean and comfortable, tv and radio provided.

we booked a spa package, great back massage, however myself and 3 other friends also opted for the manicure, the young girl was very friendly . however we were not happy with the finish as the girl seemed to put on too many layers on which of course equals not drying, smudging and mess!

the gym seemed a little dated, the indoor heating system had broken so the indoor pool was freezing, we went down to the outdoor pool, which was less then luke warm, dirty changing area, needs a definite refurbishment!

food
the restaurant is lovely, breakfast buffet (creamy eggs, and butter, fresh bread) and evening dinner is wonderful. you can taste that that they are using quality products in their kitchen.

overall a nice experience, I only spent two nights there and I left feeling very relaxed, which is a feeling you do not always get when you travel abroad..

I would recommended, however only if they under take a general refurb,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliaa_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in November 2010.

It was pleasing to note that you found our reception team friendly and the standard of accommodation generally to your satisfaction. Your comment regarding the sheets will be reviewed by our Head Housekeeper to ensure the correct standards are being achieved.

We were glad that you and your friends enjoyed your back massages; your feedback concerning the manicure has been passed to our Beauty Supervisor for reference.

Since your visit the gym has been refurbished. It was disappointing to note that we experienced a problem with the heating of the indoor pool during your visit.

We were also pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences for both breakfast and dinner and left the hotel feeling relaxed.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that you will make a return visit in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived at approximately 1:30 pm. The attitude of the two females behind the counter was unfriendly and brusque. They said we could not get our room until 3. They did not actually check - "computer says no" attitude. We asked whether we could upgrade our room as advertised as a possibility on the website and as we are a loyalty card holder. One of them said "no one gets an upgrade this weekend." That was the only comment. Unbelievable attitude.

We then said we would sit by the pool outside and wait for our room. They said the outdoor pool is closed. This was very disappointing as it was one of the key reasons we picked the hotel - as the weather was going to be lovely that weekend. It was advertised as being open over the Easter Weekend on the hotel website (I have a screen-print of the website saying specifically that the pool would be open over the Easter weekend). They said there was no water in it and at no stage apologised for anything, leaving us with the distinct impression they thought we were lying or making it up. Zero feeling of customer being right - attitude was extremely poor.

We went to sit in the bar. We could not believe the condition of the bar. It was very, very shabby. I have some photos of some of the chairs which were badly frayed and dirty. The table top where we sat was filthy as was the floor around it.

Given the foregoing, we decided not to stay at the hotel as we started to image what the room would be like and based on the service we experienced at check in. In some ways we could have lived reluctantly without the swimming pool but the attitude of the staff put us off.

Both of us through work travel a lot and stay at many hotels including Hiltons and this was very disappointing and ruined our weekend which we had been looking forward to. Many of the Hiltons we use are very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLUEMEANIE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit to the hotel in April 2011.

It was extremely disappointing to read that following your initial experience when trying to check in and subsequent visit to the bar you decided not to stay with us. We would like to reassure you that your treatment was not a true reflection of our usual high standards and level of service.

Regarding the non-availability of the outdoor pool; this was scheduled to open for the summer season on Friday 29 April and indeed did open on this date.

Notwithstanding your experience we do hope that you will decide to return to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in room 515 (The Sorrento Suite) within the Garden Lodge wing. The Garden Lodge wing seems to have been recently renovated, whilst the main building is in need of some TLC to bring it up to the normal standard of the Hilton Chain I would expect - but please bear in mind that this used to be an old boarding school so the infrastructure is inherited in the main wing.

The King suite we stayed in was massive - a lounge area, leading to a dressing area, then into the bedroom and onto the large bathroom with nice partial views to the golf course. 2 mini bottles of wine and 2 chocolate bars left each day with compliments.

The 4 (minor) criticisms I would have of the room are 1) No in-room safe, 2) No aircon, 3) No minibar/fridge, 4) no towel rings next to the twin sinks (but this is being very picky as you only had to walk 2yds to the towel rail.

Breakfast was the standard fare you would expect of a Hilton with plenty of hot & cold dish choice, meals in the bar/restraunt were just as adequate with a nice touch of some locally sourced produce on the menu.

Gardens next to the bar were pleasant with a Large Chess Board, Croquet set, Putting Green and Large Connect 4 board to entertain. The Gym was a bit small, the indoor pool was nice and warm (and a nice touch of no Children allowed after 7pm each evening). Steam room and Sauna were good as well.

We did report a problem with a dripping towel rail in the room on the Tues morning as it was leaving rust stains on the new floor tiles, however by the time we left on Thursday it still had not been fixed. Though to be fair I did check with the reception and maintainance had visited on Tuesday when reported - it just may have been a bigger job requiring the room to be vacant and a new radiator sourced - so I cannot say that this is a failure of the maintainence staff. It just seems a shame that a newly refurbed room is being damaged.

All in all - I would say we were more than happy with our room (bar the mini-criticisms) and the price we paid (as we got a great deal for a suite in the Jan Sale).

Room Tip: Car needed to visit wider area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 01Gazza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in April 2011.

We were pleased to note that overall the standard of accommodation met with your satisfaction. Your comment regarding the dripping towel rail has been followed up and a new radiator installed to eliminate the problem of dripping rust onto the floor tiles.

We were also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and meals in the restaurant and bar and found there was plenty of choice.

We are very fortunate in having spacious grounds for our extensive leisure facilities as well as our LivingWell Health Club and were pleased that you were able to enjoy them during your visit.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that you will visit Avisford Park again soon.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,008 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,007 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing