We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have been many times to this hotel, this time it was very good,very pleasant welcoming staff. Good choice for week-end break. Few economies here and there, very expensive internet charges. Overall very good though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley4452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2012.

We note that you are frequent visitors to Avisford Park, and were pleased that your experience this time was very good and you found our team very pleasant and welcoming.

We do offer free wifi in our bar and lounge to residents although charges are made for internet use in bedrooms. Non-residents can also enjoy free wifi in the lounge and bar when they purchase a coffee from the bar.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park for a further visit in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,920 - 1,926 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

The staff are really the best plus point for this Hotel. Friendly, genuinely helpful and obliging. Great Location. Lovely grounds. Good sized family friendly pool. Restaurant food and service excellent. With the package deal very good value. Breakfast likewise - excellent choice. The bar area and dining has been updated since the old website pictures and is a much needed improvement. Some of the other areas maybe need updating. The Deluxe suite was ok but not amazing. No fridge was a bit of a problem especially with young kids needing milk etc. Wifi/internet was an additional charge which nowadays feels like a standard hotel rip off. We were pleasantly surprised to get as the suite two interconnecting rooms both en suite which wasn't clear from the reservation as we thought we had a sort of knock-through. The only down side was it was in the main building right at the top of the principal stairs so there was a lot of footfall along the corridor at all hours, made worse by extremely creaky floorboards that go right into the room. Luckily the way the kids room was configured meant no one walked by theirs. Other Tripadvisors have suggested getting the Garden Room Suites but be aware they are a long way from the Main Hotel connected by a winding cold corridor to the modern addition where the main function suites are. Our second night an unfortunate incident occurred with a faulty fire alarm caused by an electric fault. This can happen anywhere but the massive double fire doors outside our room slammed shut at 1am making us all jump right out of our skins. Needless to say there was no fire. Reception said it had happened before quite recently and they couldn't locate the fault. In any event, my polite enquiry/complaint was treated very well and we received a substantial discount and sincere apology which was much appreciated.
The externally managed babysitting service let us down at the last minute on one of the 2 nights we booked, but the night we had a babysitter we were very pleased with the service - although £16 an hour felt quite steep.
I think our experience reflects quite a few of the others that this place has its quirks it's an old former Private School with some characterful charm - but if you are looking for American style Hotel experience you won't get it. Nonetheless the staff made the utmost effort to make this stay very agreeable and dealt promptly with any niggling issues which arose during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milotwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in February 2012.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with your family and found our team members friendly, helpful and obliging. We were also pleased that you found the standard of food and service to your satisfaction and had time to use some of our extensive leisure facilities.

It was unfortunate that you experienced disturbance during the night due to the activation of the fire alarm. We take all such incidents very seriously and undertake thorough investigations to ascertain the cause of any fire alarm activation. It was pleasing to note that our team members responded to your concerns in an appropriate manner.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Friendly staff and good service. Bar drinks not expensive; bar food was good. No lifts but ground floor rooms are available. The outdoor pool had not opened for the season so cannot comment. We stayed because we want to visit Arundel which is 6 miles away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2012.

We were delighted that you found our team members friendly, the service good and bar food and drink to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park again on a future visit to Arundel.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is situated in a lovely part of West Sussex with heaps of country walks nearby as well as the lovely towns of Chichester and Arundel.

Staff very well trained and friendly. Had an executive 'deluxe' room which was large and comfortable and had two easy chairs, modern TV and a good bathroom. Wouldn't describe it as luxurious though.

Breakfast was good - plenty of choice and well cooked buffet items.

Room service a bit more pricey than some other similar hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the front or back rather than the carpark at the side - for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2012.

We are very fortunate to be situated in extensive grounds of our own as well as being in close proximity to the local countryside and nearby towns.

We were pleased to note that the level of service and standard of accommodation met with your satisfaction and you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet. Your comment about room service charges has been noted.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from the Hilton Arundle and whilst our weekend was ok I wouldn't rush back to this Hilton. I agree with other reviews the place is in need of a revamp. We were upgraded to a delux room and although it was extremely clean it was very tired looking, bed wasn't that comfortable either. The one thing I was impressed with was the staff they were all friendly and very welcoming. Breakfast this morning was plentiful. My advice if you can get a good rate then it is ok for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackoNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2012.

We were delighted to note that you found our team members friendly and very welcoming. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and it was pleasing to read this was your experience.

We were also pleased that the standard of cleanliness of your room was extremely good and have noted your comments regarding the general decor of the room and the comfort of the beds.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we arrived ,the receptionist was warm and friendly.I asked if there were any upgrades available as I only booked a superior room,I was given the keys to one of their suite to view.
We went and looked and said Yes please.Don't be afraid to ask the staff,they are more than helpful.It was a lovely hotel,no too large so it seemed warm and friendly.
The golf course was a big plus for my husband.
It's not too far away from Brighton,we simply used Brighton's park and ride .
Arundel is a pretty place to visit.
Breakfast was lovely,and Dinner was very good.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're not too happy ,just ask a member of staff.They are more than happy to re-accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in July 2011.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our team members warm and friendly. We were pleased that we were able comply with your request for an upgraded room and that you found the suite offered to your satisfaction.

It was also pleasing to note that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast. We are very fortunate to have a good selection of leisure facilities and we note that the golf course was a big plus for your husband!

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The outside of this hotel looks great. Nice big car park, golf course. But the inside is so dated and unloved.
The room we were allocated stunk of cigarette smoke (we had asked for a non smoking room). The reception told us we were mistaken it was a non smoking room (What was the ashtray for then?). Despite it being the middle of winter the room was like a furnace it was really uncomfortable (I am from the caribbean). The next morning the chambermaid told me customers regularly complained about the heat in the rooms in that part of the hotel and she of course confirmed that it was a smoking room.
We were moved to a non smoking ground floor room, with a view of the kitchen back door and its endless traffic and smokers on breaks!
The gym was so tiny and the staff spent all the time i was in the gym staring at me, the only customer, I left when I heard them make a personal remark about me!
The hotel agreed to reduce our overall bill at the end of the weekend and agreed they would not charge me for the room service I did not have!
We would not go back again

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms above the ground floor and ask if it backs onto kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumsaysemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2011.

It was disappointing to note that the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction. We were also sorry that you found the room temperature uncomfortable; we do provide fans to assist with temperature control.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and your comments relating to the health club team are extremely unusual, and we were disappointed to note you did not enjoy your time in the gym.

We also note that there was an error on your bill and you were subsequently given a reduction in your overall bill.

We are pleased to advise that since your visit our public areas, restaurant, bar and some of our bedrooms have been refurbished enhancing the comfort and ambience for our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,208 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
3 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £85 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing