We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Avisford Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,219)
Filter reviews
2,219 results
Traveller rating
512
649
574
308
176
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
649
574
308
176
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseoutdoor poolgarden lodgelovely groundsspa breaksauna and steam roomleisure facilitieslounge areaa bit tiredlovely hotellick of paintwedding receptionlots of choicebreakfast was excellentafternoon teashort breakarundel castle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,963 - 1,968 of 2,219 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

While the lounge and restaurant were recently refurbished and very comfortable, the bedrooms were bog standard which was disappointing especially since we had opted for a deluxe room. Spa area was poor - v small sauna and steam room. Plus points were a good, reasonably priced massage and tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2012.

We were pleased to note that you found our recently refurbished lounge and restaurant very comfortable. Your comments regarding the standard of bedroom accommodation have been noted and will be addressed when this part of the hotel is next due for refurbishment.

We were also pleased that you enjoyed your massage and tasty breakfast!

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have regularly stayed at this Hotel for work during the last 6-8 months and found it to be adequate (but not great).

- Decor/furniture in all of the rooms I have stayed in was distinctly average, in many badly overdue for renovation.
- Some rooms have extremely small bathrooms!
- Very noisy floorboards, can frequently hear people above moving about
- Restaurant food is very nice, but very pricey! I have had the best Steak I've ever tasted at this hotel.
- The Indoor Swimming Pool & changing area is small but sufficient.
- No free WiFi in the rooms
- Long walks to get to some of the rooms, and there is no lift!

On my most recent visit, I was surprised to see coaches depositing loads of foreign tourists outside. This was nice to see on the one hand, as a busy hotel is a prosperous hotel, but I was extremely annoyed to discover that as a result I could not use the restaurant proper, unless I cared to wait 2 hours to about 9.30. This was in spite of numerous tables being empty which were allegedly "reserved" for the coach parties. I wasn't even told at check in that a reservation would be a good idea!

I think the real reason here was that the restaurant & kitchen didn't have sufficient staff to turnaround the volume of people quickly enough.

I did complain loudly, and received a free drink at the time, and again as I checked out the next day I made sure the reception staff knew of my unhappiness.

I would agree with other reviewers comments that the staff are for the most part excellent. Very friendly and welcoming, and keen to help. The only weakness here would be in the evidently junior reception staff who seem flummoxed every time I check in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2012. We note that you have also been a frequent guest during the past 6-8 months.

Your comments regarding the decor have been noted and it was disappointing that you found the general standard only average. Your comments regarding the standard of bedroom accommodation have been noted and will be addressed when this part of the hotel is next due for refurbishment.

We were glad to note that you enjoyed the best steak you have ever had whilst staying with us and generally find the food to your satisfaction. It was, however, disappointing to note that you were not advised to book a table in the restaurant and this will be addressed with further training to ensure a similar situation does not arise in the future. We were pleased that you were given a complimentary drink as a gesture of apology.

Whilst we do not offer free wifi in bedrooms, this is available in the lounge, bar and restaurant.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were glad that this was your overall experience. Our Front Office Manager will investigate your comments regarding the reception team to ensure they are providing the requisite service levels.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Last time we stayed here the place was tired and unloved and the staff attitude reflected it. But NOW the transformation is superb. A refurb has made the place vibrant and alive again. The staff are all helpful and friendly and the food is fantastic. Dinner on the night we stayed in was excellent and very reasonably priced. Cannot fault the staff or the hotel. Have already booked again for October.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra and have a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2012.

We were delighted to note that our recent refurbishment works made a positive impact on your view of the hotel.

We were also pleased that you found all our staff friendly and helpful and the food fantastic; particularly dinner!

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in October.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Well what a weekend we had... Our Sat/Sun getaway was crazy here at this hotel. Only about 5 mins or so from Arundel and easy to find. Large car park that was full on our arrival. We were greeted well and professionally and indeed treated very well the whole time we stayed. We had booked the standard room (no photo of which exists on their web site) and promptly shown 3 choices. All well and good but, all the rooms were the same - run down and pokey! The beds were all small doubles. All the rooms were hot, no air con. However the bathroom was refurbed and fine. Okay, two nights what the hell.

Hell indeed. You could hear everything (I mean - everything) three rooms down and around. And the bedroom doors SLAM shut. Where we all know there are devices to slow and close heavy fire doors.

Morning came and we had both about 2-3 hours sleep each and were physically exhausted. We both agreed just to cut our losses and go home. Shame.

At the desk we went through the process of checking-out and the staff duly asked why? Was everything okay? No says I and walked away leaving the other half to do the real complaining. After a fashion she came to the car to say that the reception had suggested that we have breakfast and consider a free upgrade. We had decided to have breakfast at a Little Chef just up the road anyway. We discussed and duly went back and took them up on the offer.

We were offered a deluxe room (at least four time bigger that what we had before) what a world of difference - King Size bed, seating area, three windows, nice bathroom etc etc. (still no air con though) even two safes (why two?). We were also given two drinks vouchers.

We also used the Swimming Pool not big but very warm. . The pool attendant was very friendly, the gym had obviously had had a refurbed - very good! Nice Sauna (not huge) nice Steam Room. Also good locking room facility.

The dining room area was well appointed but we had our drinks on terrace - again well served. Nice lawns with a putting green. The outdoor pool (heated) was not up and running due to the water restrictions but were told it was being made ready from June. There is also an 18 Hole golf course. However, I am a Golfer. I did not play on this occasion but had a nose. Flattish course, nice and well presented greens and not to hazardous. Relatively easy-ish.

We did not eat at the hotel but the menu looked okay. Drinks were dear.

Again I repeat the staff made us feel good and helped with everything. But the hotel I would not stay at again. It's tired, old and worn out. If you do go, pay the extra and have the bigger room no matter what!

Room Tip: Insist on a King Size Bed (room). Or Twins if a couple.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2012.

The size and style of our bedrooms vary and it was disappointing to note that the standard of accommodation initially provided to you did not meet with your satisfaction. We were pleased to note however that we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade for your second night which met with your expectations. None of our bedrooms have air conditioning although we do provide fans to assist with temperature control.

Your comment regarding the noise from doors slamming shut has been noted and we are looking at ways of improving the closing mechanisms. Fire doors, of necessity, will close quickly and potentially loudly if the fire alarms are activated.

We have a continual maintenance programme in place and our current refurbishment works include the reception area, lounge, bar, restaurant and exterior of the building.

We were pleased to note that you enjoyed our leisure facilities and found the leisure assistant very friendly. The changing rooms in the health club have also recently been refurbished which has further enhanced this particular facility and, since your visit, our larger outdoor swimming pool has reopened for the summer season.

We were pleased to note that throughout your stay you found our team members helpful and made you feel good.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future so that you can try the golf course which may be a little more challenging than first appears!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel over the May bank holiday weekend and found it comfortable and welcoming. The room was clean and well presented ( with the usual hotel chain decor). The restaurant food was very nice both at breakfast and dinner, and the service was good. The hotel is near to historic Arundel and Chichester, both of which are lovely places to visit. The hotel is easy to find, but you do need a car due to the out of town, rural location.

Room Tip: We booked through the Hiltons own website and got a very good dinner, bed and breakfast rate.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in May 2012.

We were delighted to read that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming and the accommodation clean and well presented. We also note that you enjoyed the food at dinner and breakfast with good levels of service.

We are located in an ideal position for exploring the surrounding area, in particular Chichester and Arundel which we note you visited.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews