We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We decided to have a family break at Christmas and have a relaxing holiday. We chose the Hilton Avisford Park because of the service experienced at our previous visits for charity events.

On arrival, the check-in process went very smoothly. Even though the reception staff were having to deal with many people arriving for the Christmas break, they still ramained calm and helpful. Our rooms were located on the second floor. As there are no lifts in the hotel our baggage was taken up by a porter, who was very helpful and attentive during our stay. The room was a large family room with a decent sized bathroom overlooking the golf course. Our daughters' room was a standard twin room of a reasonable size but unfortunately they had a problem with a noisy extractor fan. Once the housekeeping staff realised it was not easily fixed they were immediately given an alternative room without fuss.

I will summarise our experience as follows:

Hotel

Impressive and spacious period hotel set in lovely surroundings. Free Wi-fi in the lounge and bar area kept our children happy!!

Christmas Package

Overall, good value for money. The entertainment met most people's needs. The Boxing Day Gala Dinner was superb, with good food and entertainment to round off the stay.

Rooms

Reasonable size but in need of an uplift as they are looking a bit tired. Not enough power points in our room (220), but I think this is due to the age of the building and would require a big rewiring job.

Bar

Good service but disappointed with the policy of serving customers premium brand spirits by default. Can make a big difference to the bill if you are buying a round of drinks!! However, I was given a refund for the difference and then made sure I asked for the Gordons and Smirnoff Red.

Restaurant

Lovely dining room. The service was generally slow between courses but couldn't fault the staff for their demeanour. The food was presented well and we had good sized portions. The duck on Christmas Day was superb! Choices for breakfast were very good and the full English filled you up until dinner! However, we were disappointed with the Christmas Day evening buffet as there was not much available when we arrived.

Leisure facilities

No complaints about the gym and pool. The gym had usual equipment, 2 x tread mills, cycle, rower and 2 cross trainers and other equipment and weights. We made use of the pool, sauna and steam room. We'd bought our tennis gear with us and managed to get in a game, in between the rain!! Did not have time for a round of golf but next time maybe.

Staff

The staff were very helpful and friendly and managed to cope with those awkward moments!! Example, my father-in-law wanted to change the dessert for something else but was not happy with the alternative. The waiter smiled and said he would find something else and he was immediately back (like magic!) with a plate of fruit; one happy and impressed father-in-law!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are less noisy! If you are less able, then a room on the ground floor is bes...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012 for a family Christmas break.

We were pleased to note that your arrival experience and service were to your satisfaction and your accommodation well suited for your family.

Your comments regarding the quality of food provided on the Christmas Day evening buffet and the serving of certain spirits have been noted, and we will ensure further training is carried out so that similar occurrences do not arise in the future. We were pleased to note, however, that generally the food was well presented with good portion sizes and the duck in particular was excellent. Our Hilton breakfasts offer a wide variety of items and we were glad that you found them to be hearty and filling.

You were very lucky to have had some dry weather during your stay to play some tennis! We also note that you had time to use the indoor pool, sauna and steam room and enjoyed these facilities.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team, and we were very pleased that we were able to provide your Father-in-law with an acceptable alternative dessert to those on offer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Avisford Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Booked this hotel for one night to celebrate my anniversary with my partner. When we arrived and the hotel was lit up and looked brilliant. Check in was good and quick and the lobby area was clean and well lit. Upon entering our room right at the top of the hotel, we realised we had been given a free upgrade, wine, goodies and a card from the hotel wishing us all the best and with their best wishes. It's the little touches like this that can change a good stay into a brilliant stay.
Room was comfortable and well equipped and we had a fantastic view of the golf course.
We will be definitely going again adn would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2tharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012 to celebrate your anniversary.

We were delighted that you found the standard of accommodation, cleanliness and check-in experience to your satisfaction and you had a brilliant stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your positive feedback and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas so may not be representative of usual standard of service. Large family room, very spacious but in need of a refurb. Room and bathroom clean. Service in bar good. Service in restaurant poor. Ran out of desserts but didn't think to tell us even though we had ordered them at the start of the meal. Waited half an hour. Fair reduction made to the Bill however. Good buffet breakfast but very busy and understaffed. Overall I would look at other options before returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were pleased to note that the standard of accommodation, cleanliness and service in the bar met with your satisfaction.

It was disappointing, however, that the level of service in the restaurant fell short of our usual high standards although we note that an acceptable reduction was made to your bill as a gesture of apology. Your comments will be addressed with further training as appropriate in order to avoid similar occurrences in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed for two nights as a family of six, with ages ranging from 8 to 73. The hotel catered well for our varying needs with comfortable bedrooms, good food and a good range of facilities.

We had one issue with our bathroom, which was cold. The hot rail did not work, and despite three requests this was not repaired.

The decor on our rooms ( we had a suite) was a little dated, and the view was disappointing, almost non existent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear above the rooms used for discos.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelineLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012 with family.

We were pleased to note that you found the hotel catered well for the varying needs of your family providing comfortable rooms, good food and a good range of facilities.

It was disappointing, however, that despite three requests the fault with your bathroom towel rail was not rectified and we apologise for any inconvenience this caused. We will ensure that such requests are followed up in a more timely fashion in future and our guests kept informed of the progress.

Your comments regarding the view from your suite and the decor have been noted and we are sorry for any disappointment experienced.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that you and your family will decide to join us again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We attended this hotel for a family celebration meal. 26 of us in a private function room.

The hotel grounds, exterior and interior are stunning, very tasteful and elegant.

We met together in the very nice lounge area where our welcome drinks were served, to the wrong party!! On pointing this out the waitress was quite abrupt saying how was she meant to know they were not with us?! This was quickly rectified by the food & beverage assistant manager, lovely lady.

When we were shown into our function room, our seating plan had been ignored so we had to re-arrange where everyone was sitting so this messed up the 'servers' plan. They were reading off an A4 piece of paper, wandering around the room looking at name place cards on the table, when asked if they needed help we were quite rudely shot-down by one waitress (the same one that had messed up with the welcome drinks), and some starters were cold. Same with main meals. Vegetables were awful, al dente more like raw, hardly anyone ate them, however the meat and roast potatoes were fantastic. Unfortunately again the same very miserable waitress tainted the whole experience, if you don't like your job, especially in hospitality, DON'T DO IT!!

The children did enjoy a visit from a balloon man, and more importantly to our 4yr old, Father Christmas who gave them all a small gift.

Overall, a stunning setting, let down by service and food! If we were in this area again, and had the money we would possibly stay here for the whole experience of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank familyfadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012 for a celebratory family meal.

We were pleased that you found the exterior, interior and hotels grounds all to your liking.

We were also glad to note that an initial error with the service of your welcome drinks was quickly rectified by our Assistant F&B Manager.

It was disappointing, however, that the room had not been set up in accordance with your seating plan, which resulted in slower service of meals and caused them to be cold. We also note that the vegetables were not to your liking, being too al dente. Your comments have been passed to the relevant departmental managers and further training will be carried out to ensure a similar situation does not arise in the future and we apologise for any disappointment caused.

We were pleased that the children, in particular your four year old, enjoyed meeting Father Christmas and being entertained by the balloon man.

We do hope that you and your party will decide to join us again for another family get together and would be pleased to discuss your plans with you to ensure the occasion meets with your expectations.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

How reassuring to stay in an excellent hotel. The service was excellent,the food in the restaurant was first class and restored my faith in English hotels.

Would recommend to anyone. Great restaurant and very atmospheric bar. And lucky enough to be staying the same weekend as Fontwell Racing.

Staff were also very attentive and had obviously received excellent training. Shows how it can be done.

Room Tip: Eat at the hotel. Excellent quality and good surroundings.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in November 2012.

We were delighted to receive your very positive review; it is always a pleasure to receive such comments which will be shared with the whole team.

We were particularly pleased that the standard of service throughout your stay and food in the restaurant met with your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments and for your recommendation. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I booked the Hilton as a present for my husband. I asked for little touches to be put into the room which was carried out.

When we checked in we were advised that the swimming pool was out of order as it was under repair, as was the sauna. They did offfer us free passes to the pool in Felpham but that was too far to travel when all we wanted was a relaxing break.

At check in I was told that there was an upgrade available. However, there was a function near to the suite available, and we were asked if we wanted it as there may be some noise. I asked to see both rooms and the reception and staff were very friendly and obliging. We had a look at the suite which happened to be the honeymoon suite which was spot on, and I had a look at the deluxe room which after seeing the suite, I was rather disappointed with. Had the upgrade not been available on this occasion I probably would have been disappointed with my stay.

In the rooms were free water, 2 small bottles of wine and tea and coffee facilities. There was also robes and slippers for your use.

The honeymoon suite was big. A living room area with a couple of sofas, a dressing room with a safe, ironing board etc. The bedroom and the bathroom with his and hers sinks, a shower and a free standing bath. Complimentary toiletries too. The little touches were lovely. There was also 2 TV's, one in the bedroom, one in the lounge. However you can tell the bed is a honeymoon one as it sank a little in the middle!

For the price you pay for the room, it would have been nice to see the net curtain without a hole in it, and the floor towels that weren't frayed, and nice clean grouting in the bathroom.

The staff we felt were exemplary. They couldn't do enough for us.

My husband and I went to the gym which was fairly small to hire tennis rackets and a ball to have a quick game of tennis. The hire was £1 a racket and 50p a ball. They had 2 tennis courts. After we finished we had a go on the putting green and then had a game of garden chess. At this point it would have been nice to go for a swim but we were too relaxed to travel to it.

We booked a table in the restaurant which was somewhat busy. The food was ok. I was expecting a very high standard so was rather disappointed with the outcome. Presentation was good but the quality of the preparation of the food wasn't quite there. they're not a Michelin standard just yet. The drinks were expensive. I had a small glass of wine and it cost me £6.20! I dread to think what a large glass would have cost me. The atmosphere in the restaurant was rather pleasant though and the waiters/waitresses were ok. Breakfast in the morning was a buffet style with tea/coffee brought over to your table. I would have preferred an ordered breakfast for my hot food, with the cold food as buffet given the price I paid for the hotel.

We were offered a fast checkout which we didn't need to use and our experience with check out was spot on again. The receptionists couldn't have done enough for us for our stay and it would be worth going back just for that experience.

We did use the spa on the Sunday but there was only 1 therapist on so my husband and I couldn't have treatments at the same time. The therapist was very nice and pretty good at her job. A bit of cleaning could have been done on the doors there though.

There are some internal decoration areas needed such as the corridor leading to the suite we stayed in, and even the spa had a window frame needing repairing. The carpets looked like they needed an update too.

If the hotel was to redecorate and improve the dining experience this would be an amazing place to stay. And if you are into golf, you can play a few holes too.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is amazing. We could have stayed here for a few nights and felt like a home awa...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in November 2012.

It was unfortunate that we needed to carry out essential maintenance work on the indoor pool during your stay and we apologise for any inconvenience this caused. We are pleased to advise that this facility is now fully operational once more. We note, however, that you were able to make use of some of our other facilities and played tennis and outdoor chess and used the putting green.

We were pleased that the suite met with your satisfaction and you enjoyed the extra touches. However, your comments regarding the curtain, towels and grouting have been noted and passed to our Head Housekeeper for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

It was disappointing to note that the quality of dinner fell short of your expectations and your comment has been passed to our Head Chef. Certain items at breakfast are available to order; we apologise if you were not aware of this option.

The spa treatments do tend to get booked up quite quickly and we would recommend that if planning a future stay, any treatments required are booked in advance. We were pleased that you enjoyed your treatments, although you were unable to have them at the same time and trust this did not cause too much inconvenience.

We were glad that you found our reception team friendly and helpful and provided you with a professional check-in and check-out experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,081 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,030 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £69 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing