We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty towers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Avisford Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my cousins wedding, and on our first night there was another wedding in the hotel. The staff, confusing us with this wedding party, put using the rooms directly behind their function room meaning we could not sleep until the music ended at about 12:00.

Not long after this, the fire alarm went off and the place deserted into complete chaos! Nobody knew where to go, or what to do, there were no stewards telling people what to do, and they turned off the alarm and told everyone to go back to bed without ensuring everyone had evacuated, we met a German family In the corridors who didn't have a clue what was happening!

Anyway, the hotel kindly refunded our first night, and the breakfasts were top notch, but the place is a bit run down, and as you might expect, we weren't exactly feeling refreshed the next day when we rose to eat ready for the wedding!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xryzflec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in January 2013 on the occasion of your cousin’s wedding.

It was disappointing to note that you experienced noise disturbance during your first night from a function and activation of the fire alarms. We note that as a gesture of goodwill you were refunded your first night’s stay with us.

We would like to assure you that all our team members are fully trained in fire evacuation procedures and all activations are treated seriously.

We were pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    563
    485
    252
    136
See reviews for
389
841
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Staff wonderful. Areas of hotel were cold (not bedrooms). Breakfast great. Spa experience great too. I went with my partner and his mum for a 'pamper me' weekend which turned out to be excellent value for money. We arrived early and the rooms were ready. We could have stayed all day on day of departure as we were told by head of house keeping - this was appreciated.All in all a brilliant time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in January 2013.

We were delighted that you and your party had a brilliant stay with us for a pamper weekend. We were pleased that the level of service, quality of breakfast and spa experience all met with your satisfaction.

Your comment regarding the temperature in certain areas of the hotel has been noted, and measures have been put in place to endeavour that all areas are adequately heated.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

hotel: in desperate need of renovation. Tired decor. Felt sad being there...

room: large but also in need of improvements. Quite clean

bathroom: good, clean

room service: excellent

location: suits only those with a car. Taxi fare can get expensive

noise: very thin walls, you can hear peoples' conversations in the next room

breakfast: god awful fatty English breakfast and horrible watered down juice. good for some but not for a Canadian.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were pleased to note that the standard of cleanliness and service met with your satisfaction.

Our Hilton Breakfasts are very popular with the vast majority of our guests and we receive many favourable comments; it was, therefore, disappointing to note that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us.

Whilst we do have in place a continual programme of maintenance, and have most recently refurbished the health club changing rooms, your comments regarding decor have been noted.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had a family get together for Christmas at this hotel. It is in a pleasant countryside setting in a a building with a grand old exterior. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The lounger area was a very pleasant area for light refreshment. Our room (Houston Suite) had a good view to the front and was a good size two room suite. The rooms do lack the facility of a fridge (but we knew that) and are pretty much standard Hilton decor. Some of the rooms not in the main original building have quite narrow and winding access.

We had a very pleasant stay, good food and probably worth a visit in the summer to make use of the extensive grounds.

Room Tip: A good base for visits to Arundel and Chichester if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were delighted that you chose Hilton Avisford Park for your family get together at Christmas and enjoyed our location.

It was pleasing to note that you found our team members very friendly and helpful and the standard of accommodation to your satisfaction.

Our extensive grounds are certainly worth a summer visit and we do hope that you will return during 2013 to explore them.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

cannot fault this hotel,stayed here for 2 nights to see in the new year. it maybe a little dated but personally i think it adds to the charm of the hotel and building. christmas decorations were lovely and in keeping with the hotel colours. ALL staff were very friendly, there was an incident with another guest in the hotel and the staff couldnt have been more helpful, caring and proffesional. Breakfast was amazing. car parking was fantastic and right outside the hotel. grounds were well kept. no lift to the top floor but were offered help with our bags on arrival. we will definately stay here again. thank you

Room Tip: stayed on top floor in superior room. very spacious and views of golf course at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us over New Year. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased to note this was your experience.

The building certainly lends itself to being decorated for the festive season and our Housekeeping Department work hard to ensure the decorations and perfectly co-ordinated; we were pleased that you enjoyed them.

Our Hilton breakfasts definitely provide a wide range of items and we note you found them amazing!

We are fortunate to be located in extensive grounds with ample car parking adjacent to the hotel and were glad that you found this convenient.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again during 2013.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it suited our needs as we have 4 kids and we were able to have interconnecting rooms. The rooms are pretty dated and the shower was rubbish. The window frame in the bathroom had no paint left on it etc. The breakfast was good: great choice and the kids bar menu is excellent value and quality. Basically if you need a stopover and need space it is fine, the rooms are a good size and the staff are excellent albeit under the impression that they are working for a top class hotel rather than a past it's best middle ranking chain.
But, if you are hoping for a great quality hotel for a romantic break etc you would be better off going for something in Arundel itself, like the Swan Pub which has rooms and is really beautifully done. I just found it really strange that the staff are so formal and precise but don't have the initiative to turn the heating up in the bar and we are all sitting there with our coats on! I suggest the management spend less time training on the formalities and more looking round and keeping things shipshape, like hiding extension leads lying about/cleaning away visible old marks on doors etc. Having said all that! If you arrive late ish with hungry tired kids you can get yourself a reasonable glass of wine and a good bar snack and all have a bed, not have to leapfrog over loads of rolled out ones in a tiny room to get to get to your own bed! Oh and check your bill! I was nearly massively over charged!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were pleased to note that the accommodation allocated to you suited your family’s needs and the standard of food, in particular breakfast and children’s options, were to your satisfaction.

Your comments regarding the shower, window frame, heating, general cleanliness and tidiness have all been noted and passed to the relevant departmental managers for remedial action and further training as appropriate and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We also note there was a problem with your bill for which we apologise.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel has great facilities and we really enjoyed our stay. A beautiful building with plenty of car parking. Our room was on the small side and didn't have an especially inspiring view but was perfectly comfortable; the hotel bar and dining area was very classy. As with all Hiltons we have stayed at in the UK, the bar had a nice range of drinks (I love being able to get a glass of nice bubbly!). The food was very expensive though - we would have considered eating in for dinner (given that the hotel is out of Arundel) but the offerings just didn't seem to match the price. The hotel has an excellent folder with lots of local menus though so it's easy to find an alternative - we just drove back into Arundel and found a pub ourselves (the Red Lion - great food, ok wine).

The breakfast buffet was excellent, again as we have found with Hiltons in the UK.

A slightly random bonus - There was beautiful artwork for sale on the walls of the hotel corridors! A gorgeous touch. Check lift access to the rooms if stairs are a problem for you as there are a few.

A really pleasant stay, if being out of town isn't a problem for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in September 2012.

We were delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Due to the age and nature of the building the size and style of our bedrooms vary, and we apologise that on this occasion you found the room a little small but perfectly comfortable.

We were pleased that you liked the decor and ambience of the bar and restaurant and enjoyed a drink from our extensive range. It was disappointing, however, that you did not dine in the restaurant on this occasion although you found our Hilton breakfast excellent.

The artwork on display in the corridors is provided by a local gallery offering a range of styles; we appreciate your positive feedback regarding this display.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing