We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to escape to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place to escape to”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Me and the good lady wife were able to escape to Hilton Avisford Park last weekend on a rare break from the 3 small kids!

We had booked this place on the back of hiltons 40% off deal for weekends and it seemed ok on the website and we like Arundel area.

Unfortunately our break coincided with some arctic weather and therefore we almost didn't make it (resorting to train & taxi rather than driving ourselves).

When we made it to the hotel the staff were very pleasant and welcoming and took the time to explain all that they offer on site and explained that the golf course and outdoor pool were not open due to the weather (tongue firmly in cheek!).

Given we were stranded here for 2 days we decided to chill out, use the nice indoor pool and fitness suite, walk to the local village and enjoy the restaurant etc.

Food was very good - especially the evening restaurant which was pretty decent value £35pp for 2 good courses with wine. Breakfast was good too - with room service helping to make it special.

I know this is mainly a conference hotel but its nice for couples too - and despite the room decor being a bit tired you can't complain if you pay £56per night and that includes free wifi and breakfast and a complementary drink (virtue of Hilton gold!)

Look for a deal and this is worth a visit - loads to do in Arundel too (when weather permits)

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade! Check the room first if you can....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAJPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in January 2013.

We were pleased to note that you and your wife spent an enjoyable two days with us during the recent wintry weather and took the time to utilise our facilities as well as visiting the local area.

We were also glad that the standard of meals, both in the evening and room service breakfast, met with your satisfaction and you found the break to be good value for money.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back during the warmer months to perhaps try the outdoor facilities!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    573
    496
    261
    139
See reviews for
400
859
41
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Exactly as you would expect from a Hilton Hotel. Comfortable, clean, quiet. The decor was a little outdated.

The bar and restaurant are overpriced - main courses were on average £20 which is expensive even by London standards. You can save money if you have a Taste card.

Breakfast in bed is a £5 surcharge but there is the option to request anything you like. The smoked salmon was really delicious and did not cost anything extra.

Staff were all very friendly and the Reserve Malbec red wine was delightful, even if it did cost £12 a glass.

Room Tip: Room 109 has a nice view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in January 2013.

We were pleased to note that you found the accommodation comfortable, clean and quiet and enjoyed the views of the golf course.

Your comments regarding the restaurant and bar prices have been noted. We do offer dinner vouchers to our guests and apologise if you were not advised of this option during your stay.

We were glad that you enjoyed the option of having breakfast in bed and found the range of items available, particularly the smoked salmon, to your satisfaction. We were also pleased that you found all our team members very friendly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my cousins wedding, and on our first night there was another wedding in the hotel. The staff, confusing us with this wedding party, put using the rooms directly behind their function room meaning we could not sleep until the music ended at about 12:00.

Not long after this, the fire alarm went off and the place deserted into complete chaos! Nobody knew where to go, or what to do, there were no stewards telling people what to do, and they turned off the alarm and told everyone to go back to bed without ensuring everyone had evacuated, we met a German family In the corridors who didn't have a clue what was happening!

Anyway, the hotel kindly refunded our first night, and the breakfasts were top notch, but the place is a bit run down, and as you might expect, we weren't exactly feeling refreshed the next day when we rose to eat ready for the wedding!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xryzflec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in January 2013 on the occasion of your cousin’s wedding.

It was disappointing to note that you experienced noise disturbance during your first night from a function and activation of the fire alarms. We note that as a gesture of goodwill you were refunded your first night’s stay with us.

We would like to assure you that all our team members are fully trained in fire evacuation procedures and all activations are treated seriously.

We were pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Staff wonderful. Areas of hotel were cold (not bedrooms). Breakfast great. Spa experience great too. I went with my partner and his mum for a 'pamper me' weekend which turned out to be excellent value for money. We arrived early and the rooms were ready. We could have stayed all day on day of departure as we were told by head of house keeping - this was appreciated.All in all a brilliant time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in January 2013.

We were delighted that you and your party had a brilliant stay with us for a pamper weekend. We were pleased that the level of service, quality of breakfast and spa experience all met with your satisfaction.

Your comment regarding the temperature in certain areas of the hotel has been noted, and measures have been put in place to endeavour that all areas are adequately heated.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

hotel: in desperate need of renovation. Tired decor. Felt sad being there...

room: large but also in need of improvements. Quite clean

bathroom: good, clean

room service: excellent

location: suits only those with a car. Taxi fare can get expensive

noise: very thin walls, you can hear peoples' conversations in the next room

breakfast: god awful fatty English breakfast and horrible watered down juice. good for some but not for a Canadian.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were pleased to note that the standard of cleanliness and service met with your satisfaction.

Our Hilton Breakfasts are very popular with the vast majority of our guests and we receive many favourable comments; it was, therefore, disappointing to note that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us.

Whilst we do have in place a continual programme of maintenance, and have most recently refurbished the health club changing rooms, your comments regarding decor have been noted.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had a family get together for Christmas at this hotel. It is in a pleasant countryside setting in a a building with a grand old exterior. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The lounger area was a very pleasant area for light refreshment. Our room (Houston Suite) had a good view to the front and was a good size two room suite. The rooms do lack the facility of a fridge (but we knew that) and are pretty much standard Hilton decor. Some of the rooms not in the main original building have quite narrow and winding access.

We had a very pleasant stay, good food and probably worth a visit in the summer to make use of the extensive grounds.

Room Tip: A good base for visits to Arundel and Chichester if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were delighted that you chose Hilton Avisford Park for your family get together at Christmas and enjoyed our location.

It was pleasing to note that you found our team members very friendly and helpful and the standard of accommodation to your satisfaction.

Our extensive grounds are certainly worth a summer visit and we do hope that you will return during 2013 to explore them.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

cannot fault this hotel,stayed here for 2 nights to see in the new year. it maybe a little dated but personally i think it adds to the charm of the hotel and building. christmas decorations were lovely and in keeping with the hotel colours. ALL staff were very friendly, there was an incident with another guest in the hotel and the staff couldnt have been more helpful, caring and proffesional. Breakfast was amazing. car parking was fantastic and right outside the hotel. grounds were well kept. no lift to the top floor but were offered help with our bags on arrival. we will definately stay here again. thank you

Room Tip: stayed on top floor in superior room. very spacious and views of golf course at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us over New Year. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased to note this was your experience.

The building certainly lends itself to being decorated for the festive season and our Housekeeping Department work hard to ensure the decorations and perfectly co-ordinated; we were pleased that you enjoyed them.

Our Hilton breakfasts definitely provide a wide range of items and we note you found them amazing!

We are fortunate to be located in extensive grounds with ample car parking adjacent to the hotel and were glad that you found this convenient.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again during 2013.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
895 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
969 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
530 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing