We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Dundee, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Good Service”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here on business last week. I have no complaints, the staff were friendly, the room large and comfortable. The breakfast was good with lots of choice exactly what you would expect from a Hilton. The location is a bit out of town so you need a car to reach Arundel, however the grounds are pretty and it's very peaceful at night. There was a bit of noise at night from other guest walking back to there rooms and chatting loudly but that cannot be helped. I had a really good nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieDundee_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently whilst on business and had a good night’s sleep.

It was also pleasing to note that you found our team members friendly and the standard of accommodation and breakfast to your satisfaction.

We are very fortunate to be located in 89 acres of beautiful grounds and golf course and were pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    613
    535
    286
    156
See reviews for
441
928
46
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

On arrival staff were quite unfriendly and we were told straight away that we would be unable to eat at the hotel that evening as the restaurant was fully booked. It would be helpful to know this in advance as the location is fairly rural.
The room & bathroom were small, but clean. For a 4-star hotel I would have expected a mini bar fridge, there is tea/coffee making facilities however. Room service very pricey & WIFI at £15 at day is extortionate.
We went out for the evening returning to the hotel at about 12.30 midnight. We wanted a nightcap and saw the barman serving other guests. When we asked for a drink he told us to see the receptionist ? This we did, and he told us to go back to the bar and see the barman. The barman then wouldn't speak or acknowledge us and when he had finished serving other drinks he just disappeared. Eventually we went back to the receptionist who came and got our drinks for us. It was very odd!
Just sat down to enjoy our nightcaps and the fire alarm went off. Initially we didn't move, and no member of staff said anything to us. After about 10 minutes people started evacuating the hotel in their pyjamas and dressing gowns. It was very chaotic and nobody was sure what was going on. Didn't see or hear any members of staff. I went to help other members of my family who were already in bed and get our dogs out of the room. Guests all assembled right outside the hotel entrance and when the fire brigade arrived they couldn't get through! It was only then a voice was heard over a loudspeaker telling us to go to the fountain area in the garden. It was freezing cold. Some of us were given foil blankets. We had to wait outside for about an hour and then we were allowed inside the lobby area for a further 30-40 minutes until the fire brigade gave the all clear. Bottles of water were handed out but a cup of tea would have been really appreciated at this point. We finally got to bed around 3am. Apparently there was no fire, someone had tampered with the sprinklers in their room, perhaps to smoke?
I know it's not the fault of the hotel if this happens but there was a lack of information/instruction from the staff to hotel guests. Nobody spoke to us or the group of people around us through all this. In the morning we had a letter of apology pushed under the door but as we all got pretty cold outside and only got a few hours sleep in the end, a discount or a voucher would have been a nice gesture.
I also noticed a sign that said as breakfast times get very busy they would like us to go down for our breakfast at 7.30! On a Sunday?
Having said all that the breakfast was great and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our party of 6 plus a wheelchair.
You are encouraged to Express check-out when you leave by putting your keys and final invoice in the box at reception, which I did, This however made the whole stay very impersonal. There is a nice looking golf course and the grounds are nicely kept but I found the hotel unfriendly and lacking in atmosphere and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Disabled room on the ground floor was large and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and it was very disappointing to note this was not your experience with certain departments. Your particular comments will be passed to our Front Office Manager and Restaurant Manager for investigation and further training as appropriate.

It was unfortunate that the fire alarm was activated during your stay and resulted in a full evacuation of the hotel. We certainly take all such activations very seriously and all our team members are fully trained in fire evacuation procedures. It was disappointing, therefore, that communication from our team members was not readily available. This will be addressed with further training as a priority and we apologise for the inconvenience and uncertainty experienced.

The express check-out facility is offered as an option for guests and is not meant as a replacement of a personal check-out experience. It is particularly useful for our business guests on a tight schedule.

We were pleased that you and your party enjoyed your breakfast with us and found our team members in the restaurant helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

The Hotel looked good from the outside and the reception staff were very friendly. The room a family room on the top floor was far too hot but the radiator was off so no way of controlling the heat apart from opening a window. The room was very dated in every way. The lounge area however was really cold. The staff were friendly although didn't know how to serve wine. We are all users of WIFI and to try and charge for it is a complete rip off we would think twice about booking here again because of that. The lighting in this room 225 is really poor especially when my wife wanted to do her make up. This place needs a complete revamp

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_L_Donno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were pleased to note that you found our team members friendly, particularly on Reception and in the Restaurant. Your comment, however, regarding the serving of wine has been noted and will be addressed with further training.

We have also noted that the temperature in your room and in the lounge area was not conducive to comfort and apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

Your comment regarding the lighting in your room has been passed to our Maintenance Department for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

Whilst a charge is made for internet usage in bedrooms, guests can enjoy free internet access in the public areas.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantome, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The room was a route march along a cold never ending walkway, The room was freezing on arrival and took ages to warm up after we had figured out how to get the radiators to work. The heating in the bathroom never did work. Minus 1 outside and the room wasn't much better.

Reception on arrival was unfriendly and unhelpful, other than that the staff were ok although the waiting staff in the restaurant could have done with some additional training. The restaurant was like sitting in a corridor with staff rushing backwards and forwards throughout the meal around the table. The wine was very expensive and badly served. Food ok looked better than it tasted.

Breakfast was excellent and we sat at a different table which was far more relaxed.

We wouldn't stay here again the thing that really put us off was the 14.99 for 24hrs WiFi outrageous.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 208Lagrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were disappointed to note that your check-in and dining experience fell short of our usual high standards. Your particular comments have been passed to the Front Office Manager and Restaurant Manager so that further training can be carried out to ensure the correct standards are being achieved. It was also disappointing that the food served did not meet with your expectations.

We were also sorry that your room was cold on arrival and took some time to heat up. It is not clear whether you reported the lack of heat in the bathroom; had we been made aware of the situation we would certainly have endeavoured to rectify the problem and apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

On a more positive note, we were glad that your breakfast experience was more positive and you were located in a more relaxing part of the restaurant.

Whilst a charge is made for internet use in bedrooms, guests are able to enjoy free internet access in the public areas.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

You will enjoy its beautiful surroundings, golf course, and extensive garden - ideal for strolls with the significant other half. The hotel itself has "a soul" - the lounge bar is great to unwind, there is a cosy fireplace in the lobby, rooms are standard Hilton rooms - you everything there what you could possibly expect from a hotel room. Location is it's best asset and fantastic gate to Arundel and Brighton escapes. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miami4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are certainly very fortunate to be situated in stunning grounds and yet in an ideal location for visiting local towns and places of interest.

We were pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and ambience within the public areas, particularly the lounge bar, and found the standard of accommodation to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Good impression gained upon my arrival at reception. Friendly and efficient staff who looked and sounded as if they were enjoying thier work. The walls of the corridor from reception to my ground floor room are in need of some redecoration to freshen them up. Once in my room however things looked better - lovely fresh bed linen, loads of fluffy pillows and a most comfortable bed. I was on a quiet side of the hotel so my sleep quality was excellent. Next morning I had an amazing choice of hot and cold food for my breakfast- a great end to my visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted that you had a positive impression of the hotel on arrival and that this continued when you entered your room. We were also pleased that your room was quiet which, coupled with the comfortable bed, fluffy pillows and fresh bed linen, was conducive to a good night’s sleep.

As part of our ongoing maintenance programme, our corridors are currently being painted which should address your concern regarding the decor of this area of the hotel.

We were glad to note that you enjoyed a substantial choice of items for breakfast which made a fitting end to your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I took my daughter to this hotel for a weekend treat. Beautiful listed building note there are no lifts. The lounge and restuarant are tastfully decorated. The staff were very pleasant. We had trouble with our room key and had to have them re-set twice. We stayed in a deluxe twin. Upon arrival the room's main light was not working and the room smelt a little stale, however the room was well decorated and the bathroom had a lovely deep bath, there was a good quality plug in hairdryer which was a nice surprise. There were mints on the pillows the first night but to my daughters disappointment none on the second night!

We ate in both the restaurant and the lounge, the food in both was of a very high standard, I especially enjoyed a chicken and bacon ceasar salad in the bar. We used the indoor pool although it was small in size it was lovely and warm. There is also a small but well equipped Gym and a steam and sauna.

Breakfast was included in the price, this was very good also and they were able to offer me gluten free bread which was a bonus.

The weather sadly was rather inclement but the grounds and golf course looked well worth a visit.

All in all I would say that we had a really good stay and I would definately return, we spent the morning visiting Arundel unfortunately the castle was not open, but we enjoyed looking in the many antique shops.
Look out for their special offers on room rates!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brockhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend break with your daughter. It was disappointing that you experienced problems with your room key and found the main room light not working and a stale odour to the room. These particular comments have been passed to my Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

We note that you enjoyed your meals both in the bar and restaurant and were pleased that we were able to cater for your specific dietary requirements.

We are very fortunate to have extensive leisure facilities and were glad that you had chance to use the indoor pool during your stay. Our grounds are certainly worth exploring and we do hope that you will return during more settled weather so that you can appreciate them more fully.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,033 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
217 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,020 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing