We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Standard - Nothing Special - Let Down by Standard of Bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Decent Standard - Nothing Special - Let Down by Standard of Bedrooms”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel is a mixed bag. The location is very convenient and the grounds and gardens are quite attractive. The entrance to the hotel is pretty much what you would expect and gives a reasonable impression. The reception rooms are very nice and the service at reception, in the bars and in the restaurant were generally very attentive. We had food in the bar and in the restaurant, both of which were pretty good. The Beer, however, was very poor - they have no idea how to keep draft. Breakfasts were, again, pretty much what one would expect - a very reasonable standard and service was again very good. The main weakness of the hotel is the bedrooms, which are on a par with a Travel Lodge - run down, cheaply furnished with poor quality fittings and really poor beds. We stayed in what they call 'De Luxe' rooms - if they have worse rooms I really wouldn't want to stay in one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be situated in beautiful grounds and yet in a convenient location for local towns and places of interest.

We were pleased to note that the standard of service experienced at reception, the bar and restaurant met with your satisfaction and you enjoyed your meals with us. Your comment regarding the quality of beer served has been passed to the relevant manager and we apologise for the disappointment caused.

It was also disappointing to note, that you found the beds of a poor standard as all our mattresses have recently been changed. Your comment regarding the standard of decor in the bedrooms has also been noted and we apologise that this did not meet with your expectations. We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment and maintenance at the hotel and have recently painted the corridors as part of this project.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    588
    508
    264
    141
See reviews for
409
880
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a special offer. We were greeted by two efficient but scary receptionists who didn't make eye contact or crack a smile once! (not so when we checked out with Zoe who was very friendly!) We were disappointed with the room that was similar to a budget hotel standard; the bed was large but very hard and the duvet was thin and flimsy. There was no fridge in the room and not even a bottle of water was available. The bathroom was basic but adequate, although there was plenty of hot water. There is a bar downstairs next to the restaurant where we had a drink before dinner but the atmosphere was spoiled by a flat screen tv blaring out 'Family Fortunes' and people sitting around in scruffy jeans and fleeces. People seemed to make more of an effort in the restaurant and, I must say, the food was very good, although completely overpriced, and the service was excellent. There was a good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast and the waiters/waitresses were very courteous and polite. Overall, I would say that The Avisford Park is very average in most respects (apart from the food!) which is a great shame as we would not rush to return. It is situated in a convenient place in which to explore Arundel and Chichester but unfortunately too many things let it down.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimblesEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were disappointed to note this was not your experience on check-in. We note, however, your check-out experience when served by Zoe was to our usual high standards.

The beds in our rooms have recently been changed and we were sorry that you found it hard and the quality of the bedding not to your liking.

We were pleased that you found the standard of food and service in the restaurant, during dinner and breakfast, to your satisfaction and have noted your comment regarding the ambience of the bar.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

When booking make sure you know where they are going to put you, as there is the main building (as per all the photo's) and then there is the lodge - which is at least 200 yards away in a completley different building. Both are connected by way of the longest fridge / corridor you will ever find - why no heating, it was freezing !! Anyway the lodge is like another hotel, 70/80's build and the concept is good, as it's main purpose is for business or social functions, so as there are many bedrooms in this building to compliment wedding etc ..Our room was ok / usual Hilton fare, but the bathroom was out dated and in need of repair in various places - also the smell when we walked in was not good. You could hear people coughing and other such noises in the rooms next door !!
Staff at the hotel were all very polite, friendly, helpful and young - however, you kind of felt that there should be an older person somewhere, doing the rounds and talking to customers. The restaurant was ok - the upper section really needs a lick of light paint - deep purple !! Ordered the Leek and Potato soup (£6.00) .. tepid water with diced boiled potatoes and some green - absolutely disgusting. The bar area was a dreadful, only a couple of seats and absolutely no atmosphere, thus two Sky TV's ! As for the Health Club - you had to keep swimming or you would freeze. We tried to get in sauna, but there is only room for a couple of people at a time - Steam Room ... sorry, lack of Steam - Room more like !! As for the grounds, walls and pathway's looked worn and in need of repair - good groundsperson required to overhaul the place. All in all we were pretty disppointed with this hotel, having travelled down from London and having stayed in numerous Hilton hotels over the years (Dublin, last Sunday), I can only hope that Hilton have this location next on their modernisation list ? Since leaving the next morning, I can not recall either of us ever mentioning where we went for our couples night away !

Room Tip: Ensure you are booking the main building. Hilton take Taste Card - but not on a Friday or Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We note that the standard of accommodation in our Garden Lodge generally met with your satisfaction and your particular comments regarding the quality of the bathroom and heating in the link-way corridor will be investigated.

It was disappointing to note that the quality of the soup did not reflect our usual high standards and your comments have been passed to our Head Chef so that he can review this particular dish.

We are also sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our health club. Our Health Club Manager will investigate your concerns over the pool temperature and lack of steam in the steam room and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We receive many comments regarding our stunning grounds and were disappointed that you found them in need of attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Could be a good hotel - but it needs some attention and the bar service needs some real ale either on draft or bottles - not everyone likes larger or stout.
Great car park and good location for Arundel.
Prices in the bar are a little steep - more London than south coast!
Good breakfast
Rooms ok but again tired

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be located in a good position for visiting local towns and places of interest, with lots of car parking space, and were pleased you found this convenient. We were also pleased that the standard of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

Your comment regarding the provision of real ale at the bar has been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

We have an ongoing programme of maintenance and refurbishment and some of our bedrooms have been refurbished. Our current project involves the corridors.

We do hope you will return in the future and thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel looks grand, and has a golf course and beautiful grounds. It is set well away from the road and should therefore be a restful break. The reception area, bar and restaurant are in the usual corporate style, pleasant and comfortable. The corridors serving the bedrooms, are dated, and in places they suffer poor repair. The very long featureless corridors, lack wall lights, art work or other decoration except in a small area near the main stair well. We were on the 2nd floor. where the external corridors, and the bedrooms, had the worst and noisiest floorboards we have ever heard. They are carpeted, but there is no relief from the noise. We have stayed previously in medieval hotels and not suffered the disturbed nights that we did at this hotel. It was not possible to use the facilities during the night without disturbing the other occupants. You were also disturbed by those in the neighbouring rooms, or anyone moving along the corridor. The heavy curtains kept out the light at night, but any benefit was negated by the ceiling light box, which filled the room with daylight from dawn. Most hotels with this facility have a blind to draw across it.

The room was very large and the twin beds were excellent. The frig had been removed, so anyone storing medication etc, had a long walk to the kitchens, with several flights of stairs, as there is no lift. We found the TV would not work on Channels 3 & 4, and whilst we did not pursue this until we left, it was only then did we discover that the fault was known (not just our room), and a remedy was achievable - pity we were not told on arrival.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, up to Hilton standards, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. After three nights of cat napping, I regret we will not return for fear of getting similar disturbed nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor with those noisy floorboards. We are not sure if the other two floors are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milford_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to noise disturbance from the floorboards and light in your room at night. Your particular comments have been passed to our maintenance team for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

As part of our ongoing programme of maintenance, we are currently redecorating the corridors which should address your concerns regarding this particular area of the hotel.

We apologise that you experienced difficulty with certain television channels and will ensure guests are fully informed of operating instructions on arrival in future.

We were pleased that the standard of accommodation and quality of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

We do hope that you will decide to return in the future. When you have a date in mind, please contact us and we will endeavour to allocate accommodation in a different part of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here on business last week. I have no complaints, the staff were friendly, the room large and comfortable. The breakfast was good with lots of choice exactly what you would expect from a Hilton. The location is a bit out of town so you need a car to reach Arundel, however the grounds are pretty and it's very peaceful at night. There was a bit of noise at night from other guest walking back to there rooms and chatting loudly but that cannot be helped. I had a really good nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieDundee_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently whilst on business and had a good night’s sleep.

It was also pleasing to note that you found our team members friendly and the standard of accommodation and breakfast to your satisfaction.

We are very fortunate to be located in 89 acres of beautiful grounds and golf course and were pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

On arrival staff were quite unfriendly and we were told straight away that we would be unable to eat at the hotel that evening as the restaurant was fully booked. It would be helpful to know this in advance as the location is fairly rural.
The room & bathroom were small, but clean. For a 4-star hotel I would have expected a mini bar fridge, there is tea/coffee making facilities however. Room service very pricey & WIFI at £15 at day is extortionate.
We went out for the evening returning to the hotel at about 12.30 midnight. We wanted a nightcap and saw the barman serving other guests. When we asked for a drink he told us to see the receptionist ? This we did, and he told us to go back to the bar and see the barman. The barman then wouldn't speak or acknowledge us and when he had finished serving other drinks he just disappeared. Eventually we went back to the receptionist who came and got our drinks for us. It was very odd!
Just sat down to enjoy our nightcaps and the fire alarm went off. Initially we didn't move, and no member of staff said anything to us. After about 10 minutes people started evacuating the hotel in their pyjamas and dressing gowns. It was very chaotic and nobody was sure what was going on. Didn't see or hear any members of staff. I went to help other members of my family who were already in bed and get our dogs out of the room. Guests all assembled right outside the hotel entrance and when the fire brigade arrived they couldn't get through! It was only then a voice was heard over a loudspeaker telling us to go to the fountain area in the garden. It was freezing cold. Some of us were given foil blankets. We had to wait outside for about an hour and then we were allowed inside the lobby area for a further 30-40 minutes until the fire brigade gave the all clear. Bottles of water were handed out but a cup of tea would have been really appreciated at this point. We finally got to bed around 3am. Apparently there was no fire, someone had tampered with the sprinklers in their room, perhaps to smoke?
I know it's not the fault of the hotel if this happens but there was a lack of information/instruction from the staff to hotel guests. Nobody spoke to us or the group of people around us through all this. In the morning we had a letter of apology pushed under the door but as we all got pretty cold outside and only got a few hours sleep in the end, a discount or a voucher would have been a nice gesture.
I also noticed a sign that said as breakfast times get very busy they would like us to go down for our breakfast at 7.30! On a Sunday?
Having said all that the breakfast was great and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our party of 6 plus a wheelchair.
You are encouraged to Express check-out when you leave by putting your keys and final invoice in the box at reception, which I did, This however made the whole stay very impersonal. There is a nice looking golf course and the grounds are nicely kept but I found the hotel unfriendly and lacking in atmosphere and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Disabled room on the ground floor was large and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and it was very disappointing to note this was not your experience with certain departments. Your particular comments will be passed to our Front Office Manager and Restaurant Manager for investigation and further training as appropriate.

It was unfortunate that the fire alarm was activated during your stay and resulted in a full evacuation of the hotel. We certainly take all such activations very seriously and all our team members are fully trained in fire evacuation procedures. It was disappointing, therefore, that communication from our team members was not readily available. This will be addressed with further training as a priority and we apologise for the inconvenience and uncertainty experienced.

The express check-out facility is offered as an option for guests and is not meant as a replacement of a personal check-out experience. It is particularly useful for our business guests on a tight schedule.

We were pleased that you and your party enjoyed your breakfast with us and found our team members in the restaurant helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing