We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it very much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Liked it very much!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Took advantage of the excellent rates in the Hilton Winter Sale and booked a one-night stay. As the rates were so good, I booked a suite and I am pleased with all aspects of the stay. The hotel is well situated in extensive grounds.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive; the bar was a decent enough place for a drink or two and unusually for any hotel bar, was reasonably priced!

I was pleased with the suite...very large bed-room, living room and the bathroom fine.

All in all a decent night and at pleasant hotel and well situated to have a wander around Arundel and Chichester both of which are worth an afternoon of your life!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be situated in beautiful grounds as well as being in close proximity to Arundel and Chichester and we were pleased to note you found this convenient.

We were glad that you took advantage of booking one of our suites and enjoyed the additional space, separate bedroom and living area.

It was also pleasing to note that you found our team members welcoming, friendly and attentive and the ambience in our bar was conducive to enjoying a drink.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    596
    524
    278
    151
See reviews for
425
906
43
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 746 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

At our stay we had a great stay here thanks to the consistently excellent staff service - especially from Emily in the restaurant. Rooms are a bit tired but the public areas are nice since the refurb.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were pleased to note that you had a great stay with us and found the level of service consistently excellent. Thank you for your particular mention of Emily in the restaurant; your kind comments will be shared with her.

Our programme of maintenance and refurbishment is ongoing and following on from our public areas we have just completed painting the corridors.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Avisford Park is an absolute pleasure to stay in.........Rooms are great and very clean we always stay in one of the suites fab if you have children or want more room highly recommended......food excellent both breakfast and dinner great friendly and helpful staff.

Reception staff especially Natalie wonderful, helpful and friendly.

Great for families have and still recommending it to friends and family back in April can't wait!
When I read other comments have to disagree with some of them..............some rooms probably need redecorating but that is always Work in Progress.........As for waiting for food yes sometimes you do wait but hey it is not a fast food chain........... it is great to be able to relax and enjoy. A lot of people order room service so the staff are always running around nothing is too much for them........
In a great area of the country with loads to do.

Room Tip: Suites are ideal for families or if you want that extra room...........they will always provide extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted to read that we are your favourite hotel! We are glad that you find our suites perfect for accommodating your family, having extra valuable space, as well as being very clean.

We were also pleased to note that you found the level of service and standard of food at breakfast and dinner to your satisfaction. Thank you for your particular mention of Natalie on reception; we will share your kind comments with her.

We hope that you have another great stay with us in April!

Thank you once again for your very positive feedback.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My room was outdated and had a musty smell. although the outside and also restuarant decor is lovely the service I received by staff on the second evening was poor. I left before desert as was left waiting over 30mins and no staff were available (note that the meal otherwise was very good quality).
Prices are particularly steep given it is outside of london.
Although I left restaurant without signing anything nothing was mentioned as I checked out and I raised this with staff.
Gym is also particularly small and is not sufficient for a hotel of its size given my room was bigger than the fitness suite!
Paper did not arrive second morning.
I generally stay at a Hilton as you expect for the brand for it to be of high quality and good service but unfortunately on this stay I was let down.
Breakfast and fitness suite opening times are later than what I would expect (in comparison with other hilton hotels)
Breakfast started at 7.00am one morning but buffet did not have its full compliment and I found I had to ask when items were arriving.
I will however being staying again next week and if I experience the same I will move to a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

It was disappointing to note that you experienced some concerns during your stay with us; in particular service in the restaurant and an unpleasant odour in your room. Your comments have been passed to the relevant departmental managers for remedial action as appropriate, including the lack of follow up on check out. We were, however, pleased to note that your meal in the restaurant, despite the lack of dessert, was of good quality.

We note that some of the breakfast items were not present when you arrived for breakfast, and that your newspaper did not arrive on the second morning, and apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment caused. For your information we have just started an express breakfast buffet for those guests wishing to have a quick early breakfast before leaving for the day. This service is available from 6.30 am until 8.15 am.

We are also planning to have our gym facility open 24 hours in the near future so that guests can use the gym at a time to suit their requirements. The 24-hour policy will only be applicable to the gym; access to the remainder of the facilities will be in accordance with current club opening times.

We hope that your subsequent stay with us proved to be a better experience for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel is a mixed bag. The location is very convenient and the grounds and gardens are quite attractive. The entrance to the hotel is pretty much what you would expect and gives a reasonable impression. The reception rooms are very nice and the service at reception, in the bars and in the restaurant were generally very attentive. We had food in the bar and in the restaurant, both of which were pretty good. The Beer, however, was very poor - they have no idea how to keep draft. Breakfasts were, again, pretty much what one would expect - a very reasonable standard and service was again very good. The main weakness of the hotel is the bedrooms, which are on a par with a Travel Lodge - run down, cheaply furnished with poor quality fittings and really poor beds. We stayed in what they call 'De Luxe' rooms - if they have worse rooms I really wouldn't want to stay in one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be situated in beautiful grounds and yet in a convenient location for local towns and places of interest.

We were pleased to note that the standard of service experienced at reception, the bar and restaurant met with your satisfaction and you enjoyed your meals with us. Your comment regarding the quality of beer served has been passed to the relevant manager and we apologise for the disappointment caused.

It was also disappointing to note, that you found the beds of a poor standard as all our mattresses have recently been changed. Your comment regarding the standard of decor in the bedrooms has also been noted and we apologise that this did not meet with your expectations. We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment and maintenance at the hotel and have recently painted the corridors as part of this project.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a special offer. We were greeted by two efficient but scary receptionists who didn't make eye contact or crack a smile once! (not so when we checked out with Zoe who was very friendly!) We were disappointed with the room that was similar to a budget hotel standard; the bed was large but very hard and the duvet was thin and flimsy. There was no fridge in the room and not even a bottle of water was available. The bathroom was basic but adequate, although there was plenty of hot water. There is a bar downstairs next to the restaurant where we had a drink before dinner but the atmosphere was spoiled by a flat screen tv blaring out 'Family Fortunes' and people sitting around in scruffy jeans and fleeces. People seemed to make more of an effort in the restaurant and, I must say, the food was very good, although completely overpriced, and the service was excellent. There was a good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast and the waiters/waitresses were very courteous and polite. Overall, I would say that The Avisford Park is very average in most respects (apart from the food!) which is a great shame as we would not rush to return. It is situated in a convenient place in which to explore Arundel and Chichester but unfortunately too many things let it down.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimblesEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were disappointed to note this was not your experience on check-in. We note, however, your check-out experience when served by Zoe was to our usual high standards.

The beds in our rooms have recently been changed and we were sorry that you found it hard and the quality of the bedding not to your liking.

We were pleased that you found the standard of food and service in the restaurant, during dinner and breakfast, to your satisfaction and have noted your comment regarding the ambience of the bar.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

When booking make sure you know where they are going to put you, as there is the main building (as per all the photo's) and then there is the lodge - which is at least 200 yards away in a completley different building. Both are connected by way of the longest fridge / corridor you will ever find - why no heating, it was freezing !! Anyway the lodge is like another hotel, 70/80's build and the concept is good, as it's main purpose is for business or social functions, so as there are many bedrooms in this building to compliment wedding etc ..Our room was ok / usual Hilton fare, but the bathroom was out dated and in need of repair in various places - also the smell when we walked in was not good. You could hear people coughing and other such noises in the rooms next door !!
Staff at the hotel were all very polite, friendly, helpful and young - however, you kind of felt that there should be an older person somewhere, doing the rounds and talking to customers. The restaurant was ok - the upper section really needs a lick of light paint - deep purple !! Ordered the Leek and Potato soup (£6.00) .. tepid water with diced boiled potatoes and some green - absolutely disgusting. The bar area was a dreadful, only a couple of seats and absolutely no atmosphere, thus two Sky TV's ! As for the Health Club - you had to keep swimming or you would freeze. We tried to get in sauna, but there is only room for a couple of people at a time - Steam Room ... sorry, lack of Steam - Room more like !! As for the grounds, walls and pathway's looked worn and in need of repair - good groundsperson required to overhaul the place. All in all we were pretty disppointed with this hotel, having travelled down from London and having stayed in numerous Hilton hotels over the years (Dublin, last Sunday), I can only hope that Hilton have this location next on their modernisation list ? Since leaving the next morning, I can not recall either of us ever mentioning where we went for our couples night away !

Room Tip: Ensure you are booking the main building. Hilton take Taste Card - but not on a Friday or Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We note that the standard of accommodation in our Garden Lodge generally met with your satisfaction and your particular comments regarding the quality of the bathroom and heating in the link-way corridor will be investigated.

It was disappointing to note that the quality of the soup did not reflect our usual high standards and your comments have been passed to our Head Chef so that he can review this particular dish.

We are also sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our health club. Our Health Club Manager will investigate your concerns over the pool temperature and lack of steam in the steam room and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We receive many comments regarding our stunning grounds and were disappointed that you found them in need of attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,004 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
645 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,004 reviews
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing