We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Cobham, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Pits”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here after an evening at the races at Goodwood. Having stayed at Hilton hotels all over the world I had got to trust a consistent standard throughout the group. I could not have been more wrong. This was the most awful, run down and grubby place you could imagine. Our room was pokey, just under the roof, and looked out onto the garbage area. The aircon from the kitchen ran all night and kept us awake as we had to leave the window open, there being no aircon in the room! It must have been approx. 35C all night in the room. My time is too precious to describe the other shortcomings of this place - I just wish to forget about it asap. The Hilton HQ should send someone there to inspect it. Their only conclusion can be to bulldoze the place!

Room Tip: Find a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobhamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in August 2013.

It was very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments have been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    596
    524
    278
    151
See reviews for
425
906
43
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is located in the countryside but not too far from the main road.

The rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds. We visited in the hot summer and the room had no air-con and was a too hot really, even with the window opened all the time.

The bathroom was a good size but the showerhead was broken, splashing the water around a bit.

Our rooms were in the garden wing which is a long, long walk from reception. If you are elderly or carrying heavy luggage you would be better driving round to the back door after checking-in rather than walking.

I didn't eat in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in August 2013.

We were pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and the accommodation of a good size with a comfortable bed.

We note that you had a problem with the shower head and apologise for any inconvenience this caused. We are not sure if this was mentioned during your stay, as our maintenance team would have been pleased to rectify this matter for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you will return for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A family hotel, very informal and child friendly. The staff were very helpful and friendly making for a relaxed atmosphere. The dining is excellent and the hotel is very clean and quiet. the location is great for the coast and Arundel is just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to send such a kind and positive review of the hotel and team , I have shared this today with them and we appreciate your feedback

Kind regards

Brendan Shannon
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a family party here and stayed overnight. Reception staff were very friendly, the rooms were excellent and sleep quality top class. The food was plentiful and of excellent quality: everyone enjoyed dinner, breakfast and lunch. We made full use of the croquet, tennis, squash,
and the swimming pools.
Two things we weren't happy with were the extremely slow service in both bar and restaurant. To wait twenty minutes or more for an order of tea/coffee or between courses was too much.
The floor in the women's changing room (indoor pool) was extremely slippery and very wet. The staff said they could not go in to mop it as only men were on duty. Also, apparently the provision of mats would be a health and safety issue....
Our family loved the stay and I'd thoroughly recommend the hotel for a slow, relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2ofizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in August 2013.

We were delighted that you chose Hilton Avisford Park as the venue for your family party and overnight stay and that the level of service from Reception, standard of accommodation and quality of food all met with your satisfaction.

We are very fortunate to have an extensive range of leisure facilities and note that you and your family made good use of many of them.

Your concerns regarding the level of service in the bar and restaurant and the condition of the floor in the ladies’ changing room have been noted and we thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope you will choose Hilton Avisford Park for another family gathering in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What a treat!! The staff were efficient, polite. friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was perfect for our needs.Our only disappointment was not being able to book spa treatments on arrival all the appointments had been filled. There was a great choice at breakfast and the dinners were good too. Will return .

Room Tip: Our room looked towards the front , was on the first floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in August 2013.

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team members efficient, polite, friendly and helpful and the standard of breakfast and dinner to your satisfaction.

Our beauty department is very popular and we note you were unable to book any treatments on this occasion. We do recommend that treatments are booked in advance of a visit and apologise if you were not informed of this prior to your arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Have just spent four nights and were well looked after by a friendly enthusiastic team. Breakfasts were excellent and although it is busy at peak times the staff always delivered everything we asked of them. The overall experience will benefit from doors that close without a resounding slam - Hilton ought to fix that as easy to do but real positive impact.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in August 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable four-night break and were looked after by our friendly and enthusiastic team.

Your comment regarding softer door closing mechanisms has been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

We hope you will return for another break before too long.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of a spa break deal and were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was! We stayed in a deluxe room which was a decent size with a nice view over looking the golf course. There was also wine, water and snacks on arrival! The spa facilities were great and the massage was lovely. We had a three course meal in the hotel restaurant which was amazing!!!! We couldn't fault the food in any way, the desert took a while to come but it was worth the wait! Breakfast was also very nice with a big selection of hot and cold food and fresh fruit and orange juice etc. Overall, the hotel was lovely and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in August 2013.

We were delighted that you and your boyfriend had a relaxing spa break with us and found the standard of accommodation, food, facilities and treatments all to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback and recommendation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,004 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
645 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,004 reviews
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing