We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, rooms let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 3 December 2013

First experience of this hotel was via a GroupON voucher for sunday lunch.. and the sunday lunch was incredible, so much food.. really fantastic value, with or without voucher to be honest.

After this, i decided its location and setting was worth of a weekend stay to relax, enjoy a large breakfast and again a sunday lunch.

Location.. well, what a great setting, wonderful space, nice old building, staff VERY friendly and helpful.

Was upgraded to a suite, there was parties going on, and was advised to close the doors to hide the noise, which we did.

The room was a great size.. the furniture a little (lot) dated, sofas not very comfortable, but thats not the end of the world. The rooms are not air conditioned and seem to be on central heating over which you have no control, and the radiators made an awful noise all night.

Unfortunately, I do need to report that the bed, fairly small for a suite, was the a very noisy bed, and.. here it comes, the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in for a Hilton.. hardly slept at all, and woke up with a really bad back... the fittings here seem to be very dated, either they are trying to keep up to some theme of old fashioned..example, the side lamp was connected to the overhead bedstead spots, so it was them on or the whole lot off.. mad!

Breakfast was plentiful and gorgeous, and the sunday lunch had changed to a christmas theme which was a set menu.. not so good as the normal one to be honest, BUT the staff excelled themselves and being perfect hosts.

Overall, its a great setting, great good, great service, but staying over.. i would have to question the quality of the beds and fittings, really not good, and this lets it down badly for Hilton.

But, I need to stress, (as it isnt their fault) the staff here are fantastic..

Overall, great food, great location, dated rooms, bad beds.

One final thing, the pricing here is very good, so I think when you take everything into account, you need to accept there may be some areas that need work, its very cheap, and for that I forgive everything.

GREAT TEAM OF STAFF

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muckypaws666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in December 2013.

We were delighted that following an enjoyable Sunday lunch with us you decided to book for a weekend break and were upgraded to one of our suites.

Whilst we note that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the location, food and standard of service all to your satisfaction we apologise that you found the bed uncomfortable and experienced some noise disturbance from the radiator; we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and for choosing Hilton Avisford Park; we hope you will return for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,544 - 1,550 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked the Hilton after staying at their hotel in chester. We booked a standard double as it was just a one night break while visiting the area. The receptionist explained they were busy with a large christmas party and the upgrade we wanted (not free we were happy to pay) was not available. That was fine but what we were not expecting was a smaller room than any single we had stayed in when working ! The room was on the top floor. It had a small double bed (expected) but the room was so small there wasn't even any bedside tables or cabinets because there wasn't any room. One side of the bed was about 9" away from a single wardrobe and the other side had the side of a desk which was level with the bed. There were no pictures and the paint was flaking over the window. The desk had one office chair - so no where to sit other than on the bed.

The common/lounge areas were very nice and all the staff were helpful and professional. In the restaurant, both our main courses were lovely but my dessert was a big disappointment. Breakfast was very good. If the room had been good I would have been leaving a 4 or 5 star review.

On check out it was explained that there were larger standard double rooms but as there was a christmas party they would have been very noise, hence being put upstairs. We did get a reduction and the receptionist was very nice. We had the impression that a % of complaints re the alternative rooms (because of the party) were inevitable and they already had it worked out how they would handle it. We would rather have been given the option to cancel as full price in a good room is much better than an awful room with a discount !

Room Tip: Don't let the hotel put you on the 2nd floor in a standard double unless you view it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlot2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in December 2013.

Due to the age and former uses of the hotel the size and style of our bedrooms vary and we were disappointed to note that the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction on this occasion.

We were pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast although we note that the dessert was disappointing. We are not sure if you mentioned this at the time as we would gladly have replaced it for you.

We do hope you will return for a further stay, when we would be pleased to provide you with accommodation in a different part of the hotel, subject to availability. If you would like to contact the hotel before you make a booking we will also be able to advise whether the hotel is likely to be busy during your chosen dates.

Thank you once again for your review.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Once again we had a wonderful time supporting the annual Snowdrop Trust charity dinner and dance. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the service first class.
I know this is not an event that most people would go to, but I am just handing out praise where praise is due for the team at the hotel.
Well done and see you next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in November 2013.

We were delighted that you enjoyed the Annual Charity Ball for the Snowdrop Trust and Hilton in the Community Foundation; it is certainly becoming a firm fixture in many supporters’ diaries! As you know, it was a very busy evening and we were pleased you found our team friendly and helpful and the service first class throughout the event.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again for this year’s Ball in November.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Unwelcoming bedrooms with almost bare walls (only one picture, above the bed) and dirty, stained carpeting. Excellent breakfasts but a slightly too ambitious dinner chef. Expensive menu, for what it is!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Your particular comments have been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This Hotel is conveniently situated close to Chichester and Arundel. It is set in fantastic grounds with excellent facilities. We were celebrating a Wedding Anniversary and one of our friends a Birthday on the same day. The room was well appointed, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, clean and nice bathroom amenities. Also the room was extremely warm as it was a frosty few days. From the moment we entered Reception until we left the staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated the wine and chocolates in the bedroom and on our anniversary evening the decoration on the dessert plates at dinner. We spent a very pleasant 3 nights at this Hotel and would return if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and because the Hotel is in its own grounds there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in November 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable three-night break with us on the occasion of your wedding anniversary and your friend’s birthday. We were also pleased that the standard of accommodation, cleanliness, food and level of service all met with your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for choosing Hilton Avisford Park and we hope to welcome you back again when next in the area.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Fantastic stay, with fantastic staff and amenities. Well worth the visit just to be in a great hotel. Set in a quiet area with lovely grounds to relax in and only a short distance from some wonderful countryside and historic sites. The staff were always willing to assist with anything they were presented with.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Della B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay.

We were delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and had opportunity to enjoy our grounds and facilities as well as the local area. We were also pleased that the level of service from our team members was to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your positive review and for choosing Hilton Avisford Park. We hope you will return for a further stay.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We got married here and celebrated our anniversary here. The layout and facilities are very good and would definitely come back. Lovely town close by and interesting shops and Castle. The location is quite easy from the motorway and is not too far from Chichester and Brighton. The hotel has a golf course and an inside and outside pool. Gardens are kept very well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank dizzy_lizzy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in November 2013 to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

We are fortunate to be in a convenient location for visiting local towns and places of interest and were pleased you had time to explore the area during your stay. Our extensive leisure facilities are a particular feature of the hotel as well as our beautiful gardens which we note you appreciate.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Avisford Park for your special celebration and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
351 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £67 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing